Paycom

  www.paycom.com
  www.paycom.com

Paycom Reviews

Updated 29 October 2014
Updated 29 October 2014
157 Reviews
4.4
157 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
138 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • If you put in the hard work they will definitely reward you back (in 13 reviews)

  • 1 health insurance, company luncheons, catered lunches, and many different company functions (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Work life balance at the beginning is definitely difficult (in 7 reviews)

  • I guess if you don't like hard work it could be considered a con (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

14 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 4 people found this helpful  

    Terrible Environment...Untrue Reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Training and Salary:

    Training is quite extensive, yet in regard to applicable substance (applying the sales methodology in the field) its doesn't translate well to real life situations. Yet, when as a sales representative, you fall into the situations when the deal is easy to close (very rare), the amount of commission you can make is competitive to other payroll companies. However, the base salary is still 5 figures below what your going to get at the bigger competitors.

    Cons

    Culture, Management, Job Security:

    Overall, this is a company that is lacking in each of these to the increasing detriment of all sales representatives.
    It's confusing because since the company has gone public, and is increasingly flush with cash, there still is a supreme lack attention paid to issues.

    It might start with management since the majority of senior positions are filled with young 20 somethings that only have a year or 2 years of sales experience! This created several situations where sales representatives in my region either blatantly disregarded instructions from management due to their lack of knowledge and sales skills or management adopted draconian measures to keep track of sales representatives effectively destroying any sense of freedom to run, close, and process sales.

    When it comes to culture, its a boiler room and don't let the interviewer tell you other wise. You have to perform or you will be sliced extremely quickly. Again, commissions are great when you do but this is a doubled-edged sword as even if you are at or exceeding your quota, you are forever asked "what you got next?"

    - Weekly Quotas/Sell or get fired.

    At the end of the day your quota does not matter, presidents club or otherwise. This
    has only gotten worse as the quarterly earnings reports that the company has to file are opportunities for C-Level staff to cut office spending on team contests and drive sales teams to work 13hr days to squeeze out more revenue to impress the stock holders. Again, you will be cut indiscriminately if you are seen as not abiding by this team mentality.

    Also, there are christian attitudes impressed significantly upon the entire company. Often time the national sales call which are weekly, will intertwine sales success with prayers from senior management. Its extremely uncomfortable and I believe illegal.

    Job Security, because of the above reasons, is always a guessing game. Not only can you be terminated for lack of continual performance, but you can be terminated for a "bad attitude". I've see reps dismissed instantly for "bumming the office out". Tough days in the job are in abundance, but you are not allowed to share those struggles.

    Between the months long payroll setups - customers terminating their payment before commission is paid - Paycom charging your commission back because a customers termed before the 6 month mark - working on during black out holiday months (November / December)..etc. there will be many tough days.

     This also goes the same for office politics. You have to be liked, in a personal sense (non-professional) by your direct supervisor or you will be first on the block. Again, I've seen representatives in my region perform well through out the year, and the in first down month they have had, their supervisor PIPs them and terminates them the proceeding month. And this was in the case of a representative exceeding quota up until that time.

    Advice to Potential New Hires:

    Apply to either Workday, ADP, ZenPayroll, Paylocity....etc.

    Any of these will have Better Pay, Better Work Life Balance, and slightly better management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop having team members write your own glassdoor reviews.
    This is suppose to be a neutral forum for potential new hires to assess if the company can be a fit for them.
    Learn that the annual surveys you run are not a reflection of the actual dissatisfaction stewing inside the organization. Staff and employees are afraid of voicing their real opinions in fear of instant termination.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  2. 6 people found this helpful  

    Poor leadership and write their own company reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. If you have the perfect storm, you will be well compensated in commission.

    Cons

    The company has no listed values or moral conduct. They promote based on achievement which is great, until you get the job and realize that your achievement is based on your territory. They do not review the territories and just assign them, therefore you can get into a tricky situation if you get a rough territory and a manager who is unwilling to listen to your concerns. They have no way of standardizing metrics, so you will be selling a territory of 5 zip codes against someone who has a whole state and you will be held to the same standards. They are very old school in their management tactics and use verbal threats and write ups as motivation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in your leadership. Do a Six Sigma training so that leaders understand realistic metrics and set good expectations. Set a moral code for your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 10, 2014Representative

    Thank you for pointing out the positives in the pay and benefits. We are sorry to hear you feel the way you do, but we want you and others to know that we do review territories. We divide ... More

  3. 11 people found this helpful  

    Whoever says Paycom does not require ENDLESS work hours... they're lying

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Hands down, this is a company in which you can make GREAT money, especially as a recent college grad (as they tend to hire).

    Unheard of starting base, with no experience (50k) and you make 10% of every sale you make. Also, additional bonuses for starting on time (2%).

    They also give you car allowance (that is supposed to cover wear and tear, insurance, and gas) which I believe is $500/month.

    Cell phone allowance= $25/month... really low, but they pay you so high elsewhere that this can be overseen.

    $1 health insurance (with no dependents)

    Again, the pros of working for this company is all monetary.

    They're sales training is amazing! My core foundation of understanding sales and the sales process has been thanks to Paycom. This, is something that no one can take away from them.

    When you first begin the position you have 2 weeks of non-stop training in the office (with your national training class via conference and WebEx meetings) They will focus more on product in those 2 weeks and some people have even gotten fired during this phase if they are not picking up the system quickly enough. They then they fly you out to corporate headquarters for another week of sales training. (to say we started out as about 16 people in my training class in 2012 and now there are only 2 who are still currently working there still... turn over is that bad. If you make it past your first year, you tend to be labeled as one of the rookies in your office).

    Cons

    Where to begin!!!!!

    First of all, they hire recent college graduates because, frankly, they don't know any better. They sell you on all the money that you will be making, but rest assure there is NO work/life balance with this position.

    I was not a rep who did not do well... on the contrary, I was the top rep in my office the entire time I was there. I clearly had the work ethic and drive, but there comes a point where you realize money is not everything. I was miserable and that misery affected my personal relationships with my friends, significant other, and family. To me, there is no career that is worth sacrificing all of those things.

    As a sales rep, you are not only expected to sell, but also IMPLEMENT (meaning endless amounts of tax packets that you have deadlines in which you need to send to the Setup Team) but you are also expected to TRAIN and be on-hand to run their first payroll. Selling, is the easiest part, the most difficult and time-consuming aspect of your position will be doing this. I can safely say that I have stayed in the office till 10pm or with my clients, training and setting up, until that time. You are also expected to be in the office at 7:30am!

    You can also sell a new business, but if you do not stick around to start it (run their first payroll with them), then you do not get your commission. The person who ultimately gets the commission is the one who is there to hit 'submit' for the first time. And if your client leaves within 6 months, they can take that commission away from you.

    Also, while you are implementing and training, you are expected to still sell and set 7 NEW APPOINTMENTS every week out of a list of approximately 100-120 businesses they give you. You must call on these businesses TWICE a week... same people, same companies,same lines you try to give them all the time. So you can imagine, with time, appointments lessen.

    The reason they are able to pay those 50k base is because you essentially are doing about 3 peoples jobs.

    Their Time off policies are also terrible:
    5 vacation
    5 sick

    They also have blackout months, which you cannot request any time off whatsoever. And even though they only give you a measly 5 vacation days, it is still frowned upon to take all of your time off. You would think with how much they overworked you, they would give you more time to destress.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Sep 16, 2014Representative

    While we appreciate your review it is disheartening to hear you feel so negatively in regards to career that you pointed out has many amazing perks including pay and training. We strive for a ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good company to start with, not a company to grow with

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Tax Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK (US)
    Former Employee - Tax Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK (US)

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people
    Entertaining corporate culture
    Growing company
    Pretty cool year end party

    Cons

    - Horrible pay unless you are in sales
    - Politics not what you know but who you know
    - Raises every year were very low unless you are in sales
    - Not a company to have a future with, go work there for 2 maybe 3 years and start looking for something else. I switched to the oil field and I am really happy now.
    - Company doesn't care about their the best employees unless you are in sales.
    - you can't say anything bad about the company they like to hire employees who will blindly follow management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    - Take care of your the best employees and pay themy based on their knowledge not "national average."

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Sep 8, 2014Representative

    We value your feedback just as much as we value our current employees and believe that no matter what department you are in the impact you have on Paycom’s success is significant. Paycom’s management ... More

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Unhappy Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Competitive Base Salary
    Good baseline sales experience

    Cons

    Turnover is unbelievably bad - They lose reps left and right and don't seem to care. No job security at all.
    The PTO policy is horrible - No Work Life balance at all.
    Managers and upper management micro manage everyone

    "The Boiler Room" on steroids

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Unhappy clients due to lack of knowledge from the sales rep. Create a better defined infrastructure in setting deals up.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    May 15, 2014Representative

    I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience while serving as a sales rep. We pride ourselves on our advanced training curriculum that each rep goes through. Training opportunities are ... More

  7. 8 people found this helpful  

    Good and bad all rolled up into one tortilla

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Catered lunches= $4.
    Constant Paycom cheer leading & freebies (ie: shirts, pens, etc).
    On-site gym
    Medical care= $1 (not including vision & dental).
    Company wide participation events (ie: contests, trivia, fundraising).
    Employee recognition.
    Parties.
    Company is growing and there is good job security.
    Benefits are decent & there is a 401k plan with match.
    For many departments, generally consistent hours.

    Cons

    Lots of office politics.
    Cliques are not discouraged.
    The quality of your experience working for Paycom will depend on your department/team
    In my own team, employees with bad work ethics have been rewarded, good behaviors are overlooked.
    On the same note, rewards are often left to chance instead of merit.
    Don't expect to get most holidays off-- do expect to come in during inclement weather... or else.
    Not a lot of vacation or sick time.
    Internal growth is minimal outside of your own department, Paycom has few internal positions posted, most are for external applicants only .
    Lower level management has "training" on leadership by people inexperienced in leadership. Managers/leads don't understand what it means to be a leader as opposed to a "boss."
    The company calls itself a training company, but when 20 somethings are training on topics they have no experience with... lessons can't be taken seriously.
    Lacks diverse work force. Lots of fresh out of college, women, in their early 20s. This can make for a very "high school" atmosphere.
    No part-time positions.
    The interview process .... is just terrible on every level from tests to the interviewers being prepared.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be consistent within the company on expectations. Don't let some departments have rampant poor work ethics while others have high standards. Set company standards for what is expected and enforce them... for example, some departments have very high punctuality standards, others allow tardiness to run rampant.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Dec 10, 2013Representative

    We are committed to continuously evaluating our policies and procedures within our organization and embrace the opinions of each of our employees. As such, we survey our workforce each year and found ... More

  8. 6 people found this helpful  

    Great pay, but high turnover and bad management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Executive Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Executive Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Pay, Young Employees, Fun, Lots of growth and opportunities for management

    Cons

    Cold calling, management is very pressured for sales and reflects their anger on employees, exec level management is not transparent in what they are doing. They were supposed to go public 3 years ago and were preparing us for that, but it never happened.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest with your employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  9. 8 people found this helpful  

    unrealistic expectations, stressful environment, immature management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Pay can be very rewarding
    You aren't stuck in the office all day
    If you get a good manager you will continue to be motivated if you get a bad manager you will hate monday mornings

    Cons

    Lack of support - as a sales person you have to set the appointment, close the deal, implement the technology, transition the client, train the client - you basically wear 12 hats
    12 hour workdays in sales most of the time
    They expect you to be a robot
    They treat you like a child unless you are way above quota

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't promote people to management solely based on the fact that they were a good sales rep, please ENSURE that they will not be a petty immature brat and play favorites

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Jul 26, 2013Representative

    Your feedback is appreciated. We do ask our sales executives to help transition and train our clients because we are a customer focused company. As you pointed out, we reward our reps accordingly ... More

  10. 8 people found this helpful  

    From a sales rep point of view...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Decent products offered and a fair and reasonable price. Not sure what else I can say for pros.

    Cons

    Paycom was a crazy place to work. I was one of 18 reps that had three managers in our region, which got trimmed to 3 sales reps. I did well there, but seeing new people working at the desk next to mine every month was getting old. I love all the other cheerleader posts that give 5 stars and say what an awesome place it is to work. They love that Paycom cool aid!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good luck

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  11. 6 people found this helpful  

    Great product, great compensation, BOILER ROOM in sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Executive Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Executive Sales Representative

    I worked at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The company has a great product that excels in its targeted market. The compensation is very lucrative and the total compensation (salary, commission, benefits, stock options, 401k, President's Club, etc.) is hard to beat. All aspects of the sales role are highly micro-managed. This is not a job for experienced sales professionals. If you are fresh out of college or in your first 1-3 years in the workplace, this is a great company to make great earnings and learn a tremendous amount about professional B2B sales. Warning: the work environment is a pressure cooker. Even when you are over plan you will still feel burdened for not having more deals to bring in. This lends itself to very high turnover. There are very few sales reps that have been with the company more than 2-3 years. Overall, you can make a great living for 1-3 years if you can put up with the stress; not a great place for the development of a long term career.

    Cons

    Overall pressure cooker in sales. Reps are highly micro-managed and there is very little career trajectory for the vast majority. New reps come in and out on a regular basis.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The number one reason reps stay at Paycom is the compensation; however there are many other factors to reduce turnover that aren't being explored at all. Focus on developing a better work environment so that your employees feel valued and not like just a YTD number on the leader board.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Paycom? Share Your Experiences

Paycom

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.