Sleep Number by Select Comfort

www.sleepnumber.com
Employer Engaged

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated 21 February 2015
Updated 21 February 2015
36 Reviews
4.0
36 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
36 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great product with great concept and innovative product (in 20 reviews)

  • My roommate calls Sleep Number the "apple" of the bed industry (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Horrible upper management starting with District Managers (in 16 reviews)

  • Most District Managers are out of touch and can destroy you and your store if they want (in 16 reviews)

More Highlights

36 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Wonderful Product, Wonderful People, Wonderful Company to be a part of!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people--Customers and co-workers. This company is large, but feels like a small community. This company is full of talented wonderful people all the way from sales professionals to Shelly Ibach. The products is amazing and I love hearing how better sleep can affect one's life in such a positive way! Sleep Number is continually making positive changes to improve the customer experience and I feel that feedback is often well received.

    Cons

    Hours are sometimes long as a manager. Three person stores can be difficult to operate and work in.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work! I am so proud to work for this company. Continue to reward and value those who put the work in.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the corporate culture and innovation that we all share as Sleep Number brand ambassadors ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    good job but some unfair policy's

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    it is a good product very expensive so if you make a sale its a pretty big deal beds start at $1000 decent pay and hours.

    Cons

    the weirdest thing is they have 20 minute up rotation so if you are working with a couple people you may never get a customer and the other people may have 2 3 or 4 customers and you havent got to help anyone it is stupid and very unfair. I have worked saturdays when 10 people came in to the store and i didnt get to wait on anyone because of the stupid 20 minute thing. I have talked with other commission sales people and they dont even believe me when i tell them about this stupid 20 minute up rule. it all is luck of the draw how can you not take turns and just be fair about it. it creates animosity amongst the employees clock watching it is just so stupid to bad otherwise it is a pretty good job.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    get rid of this old rule and be fair to your employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 19, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on the up rotation. We are always evolving and improving our policies and processes in the stores and this feedback is incredibly valuable. I will make sure to ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great product, bad leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Niles, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Niles, IL (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Awesome scheduling and environment. Great product and sales experience

    Cons

    Terrible micro management and under qualified / ineffective district / regional managers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Allow your employees to be more independent, only hire people qualified for upper-managements

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for providing the feedback on your experience with Sleep Number. We appreciate the input that you have provided regarding management and will be sharing this with the appropriate parties.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    This job was really good to me.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    This job was really good to me

    Cons

    No cons that I know of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 30, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and time with Sleep Number!

  6.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN (US)
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN (US)

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The compensation is very good! Management is supportive and the training is very thorough. It is a rewarding job where you can build a relationship with the clients.

    Cons

    May be hard to find work-life balance because of the night and weekend hours that you work, which is typical for a retail position. They will work with you as much as possible though.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Check on employees on a regular basis to make sure they are getting the upport and opportunities for advancement that they desire!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 09, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so glad to hear that you are finding your position within Sleep Number to be rewarding and we truly do appreciate the relationships that you are building with our customers. Thank you for the ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Product-Great job-Terrible management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    The product really does sell itself.
    Got to sell what I loved
    Great customers

    Cons

    Management was poor
    You are basically customer service even though you tell them to call customer service themselves if they have a problem from the beginning
    Cold calling
    Customers give you way to much personal info
    Pay

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We value your feedback and have taken this to the appropriate parties.

  8.  

    good company to work for

    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    They car about their employees, and have different events to show appreciation.

    Cons

    Very strict on hours, being 60 seconds late is equal to missing half a days work, 2 minutes equal to missing an entire day.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed the different appreciation events we have in our Customer Relationship Center!

  9.  

    work in progress

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Current Employee - Sales Professional

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    As a sales professional I feel very comfortable recommending the high quality products in a low pressure sales environment. The products literally sell themselves.

    Cons

    Very flat management hierarchy, if you are reporting to a superior that you are not compatible with, your kind of stuck.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Exchange policy for bedding doesn't match the most progressive retailer. Customer service isn't keeping up with sales growth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Freedom to help the customer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN (US)

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Management gives you the power to do what's best for the customer

    Cons

    Lack of communication between Home Delivery and customer service

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get rid of Xogistics

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent culture for employees who enjoy being challenged and rewarded, this company helps change lives!!! Company recognizes sales success with a living wage, and outstanding new products which keep it interesting.

    Cons

    Retail and extended holiday hours are a drag. Is it useful to open at 7 or 8 on Labor Day and stay until 10 at night? So much for the holiday.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep innovating, it is working!! Let go of the over-paid pompous jerks who contribute very little.

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Photos

Work at Sleep Number by Select Comfort? Share Your Experiences

Sleep Number by Select Comfort

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.