Boots

www.boots.jobs
Employer Engaged

Boots Reviews

Updated 27 February 2015
Updated 27 February 2015
212 Reviews
3.2
212 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boots Managing Director Simon Roberts
Simon Roberts
55 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Staff discount was good and always felt appreciated as an employe (in 25 reviews)

  • Always had good discount for Boots products and double discount days for staff (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours and not enough FTE mean that quite often the store has long queues (in 11 reviews)

  • customer service ethic disappears beyond the application and interview (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    A Great First Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, Cared about Employees, variety of work

    Cons

    Managers would not always back up staff with customer problems

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    great team, good training, nice staff

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    good atmosphere and good team

    Cons

    repetitive duties, long hours potentially

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    more rotations

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    Amazing job - best for a student

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    -pays well
    -good staff discount
    -paid holiday
    -sick pay
    -a generally good environment: happy, full of life, making customers feel good

    Cons

    Different in every store depending on manager, some could be strict, some could be very laid-back making the environment much more enjoyable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Uniform policies - some managers are really specific about wearing BOOTS uniform only however for someone like me who is tiny most of their bottoms/skirts don't fit and had issues with my manage (i had to alter my skirt privately in order to please my manager) whereas in other stores i could just wear a navy blue skirt similar to boots one and it's just fine.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Your insights are much appreciated and taken into consideration.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots as a contractor (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    High standards at all levels

    Cons

    Clinical records paper - not computerised

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Paper records are cumbersome and inefficient

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for the review. We value all the feedback we receive.

  6.  

    great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    flexibility, opportunities, friendly, good working hours

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  7.  

    Love it, best company I've worked for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice management, work hard enough and def room to advance!

    Cons

    Have seen nothing bad so far

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More updated makeup products

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. Keep up with the good work.

  8.  

    1st great 2nd year not so great

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Nottingham, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    great benefits including decent holiday allowance, bonus, flexible working, working from home ocassionly

    Cons

    poor IT systems, Forced distribution performance management meaning even if your doing your job your ranked against the rest of your team so potentially you could rated below expectations. Ie 10% placed in exceeding expectations, 10% below, and say 40/40 either approaching or meeting expectations, face has to fit.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    stop using out dated performance management tools.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Boots warehouse

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operator in Burton upon Trent, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operator in Burton upon Trent, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Different positions as a Warehouse operative, or worker is not a challange to take. After a quite short training, you are ready to go and through the year you will mostly be provived with work. I would also mention that after you get used to the job you do, it is quite easy and barely stressful, however these facts might be changing depending on your position.

    Cons

    After working here for one and a half year, i have met a lot of problems in how different things and cases are being handled. Most of these are not really significant, but still existing system, equipment and management errors/malfunctions. I also feel like it is nearly impossible to make a career out of your job, but most of the people are not even aiming at that, so that is hardly surprising. I have also seen a few promotions/demotions which did not really make any sense, especially putting contracted supervisors/managers into position they barely had any experience with /pointing at different departments/. The workplace is also focused about seasonal peak times, (roughly from July-August till January) which results in overrecruting people, and then towards the end of the peak, with the danger of losing your job nonetheless the performance you were making.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I am not really in a position to say any advice about anything, but i would still write down a few things here. It would be nice to pay a little bit more attention to the colleagues and to the existing problems which are slightly disrupting the flow of work. While our feedback might not be so useful, i am more than sure that some of the colleagues, especially those who have been working for a long time have decent suggestions and concerns about certain things.

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your insights. They will be escalated further.

  10.  

    Good place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good team.good hours, good perks

    Cons

    No downsides I an think of. A lovely place to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

Work at Boots? Share Your Experiences

Boots

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.