Informatica Reviews

Updated 16 April 2015
488 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
4.2
488 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Informatica Chairman and CEO Sohaib Abbasi
Sohaib Abbasi
385 Ratings

Pros
  • Work-life Balance: One of the best IT companies in Bangalore I have seen (in 67 reviews)

  • Informatica has a good work culture compared to many Software product companies (in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • People worked themselves to the bone running in circles for upper management - no work/life balance (in 21 reviews)

  • Work is not a seasonal thing at GCS unlike R&D where everything happens "before" the release time (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    Great company, fantastic technology, good benefits, amazing employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Informatica is a hidden gem in the Silicon Valley. The company has best in class technology. The management team is a good mix of company veterans and new talent. The employees that Informatica hires are hard working, dedicated and committed to doing the right thing for the company and its customers.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done being a mid-size company. The business unit structure can be challenging to navigate, but is certainly possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue taking calculated risks as we grow and move into adjacent markets. Be bold about the company and our products.

    Informatica Response

    Jan 26, 2015Senior Employer Brand Manager

    Your review is appreciated. There are many employees that would agree with you that Informatica is a hidden gem in the Valley. Although we have a few rough spots around the edges, the company has ... More

  2. Excellent company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Professional Services Senior Consultant in Bangalore
    Former Employee - Professional Services Senior Consultant in Bangalore

    I worked at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great Benefits
    Independent work environment
    Flat org. structure with managers who treat subordinates well

    Cons

    Nothing that I could think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the great job

  3. good company but.....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bangalore
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bangalore

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Family environment

    Pay is ok

    down to earth people

    helpful collegues

    Cons

    too much family environment (less processes) sometimes you don't know where to go to get something done. While people who know whom to approach will get there job done.
    With a company of this size could have done better job with Processes.

    Less transparent appraisal process and promotions.

    Ineffective (non interested) HR people with very less power to do anything for you. (specially for India) Your manager has complete power over you.

    Lots of transitions going on with the company (people, products etc)

    wastes lot of money on unnecessary things which could have spent in a better way.

    Lot of local language speaking people (tamil specially)..sometimes it feels that you are in tamilnadu.

    Recently they have started hiring everyone and anyone...without proper screening.

    No proper transport arrangement (costly cabs)

    Food vendor is very bad. coupons to employees would be better than this.

    Advice to Management

    no advice keep up the good job...just have more transparency

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (5)

    Non-Transparent Leadership in Informatica India Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Mumbai
    Current Employee - Sales in Mumbai

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    As an organisation you have the flexibility in work, the company spends enough resources for a good health to its employees. A culture with openness.

    Cons

    This is specific to India - the sales leadership is non-transparent, very manipulative and enforces divide and rule policy to drive business. of late the teams are going thru abusiveness , beaten and harassed. Honestly in all terms the HR isn't a judicial or a trust able body - since any confidential information shared is immediately highlighted to the manager and it leads to chaos.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the process to grow in the organisation transparent.
    Our sincere advice is to replace sales leadership for a good vision and growth - have a confidential meeting with the team to know more on this.

    Informatica Response

    Apr 03, 2015Director HR India

    Hi There,

    Thanks for sharing your feedback.

    Appreciate acknowledgment about flexibility at the workplace, open culture and the company's efforts towards its employees well being.

    We are
    ... More

  6. Magnificent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Intern in Bangalore
    Current Employee - Intern in Bangalore

    I have been working at Informatica

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    A great company to start your career
    Great Work/Life Balance
    Flexible Hours
    Helpful people
    Good Food

    Cons

    Did not find any yet...

    Informatica Response

    Mar 31, 2015Sr HRBP

    Thanks for taking time to share your experience at Informatica;Good to know that you are having great time.

    Thanks,
    Anoop Ramachandran

  7. Helpful (2)

    Future is uncertain...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Salary
    Latest Technologies used in work
    Free Food coupons
    Brand Name

    Cons

    Hyderabad branch (Formerly known as Applimation) is still not aligned with the processes of Informatica, even after 7 years of acquisition.
    Proper Processes not followed, always leads to fire fighting
    No proper documentation followed, all information is scattered.
    High work pressure due to poor planning
    No work life balance
    Uncertain future due to recent acquisition by PE firms
    No Job security
    People not co-operative
    Awful work environment/facilities

    Informatica Response

    Apr 14, 2015Director HR India

    Hi, thanks for your inputs.

    We request you to please share more details with us or anyone in the management team so that we can address specific concerns including individual ones.

    regards
    ... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    Hearbreak to see it slowly and steadily sinking ....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Informatica full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Note: the following might evaporate soon because Informatica is a private company now.
    1. Free lunch
    2. Commute subsidy.
    3. Work life balance.
    4. Gym, yoga classes.

    Cons

    1. It is now a private owned company.
    2. Top management is stagnated and bereft of ideas.
    3. Unreliable Human resource department. Has no power on their own. Not sure why those people are there. They have joined to write notes in glassdoor. And give text book responses. No groundwork to help the employee. Will bend to the wills of upper management.
    4. The top management lied that the company will stay public.
    5. Dirty Politics is creeping in.
    6. See a lot of loud speaking tamilians all over.
    7. Lot of instability nowadays. We worry when the management will spring the next unpleasant surprise rather than worry about giving best quality work.

    Advice to Management

    Start making 360 degree appraisals and act on them. Remove people who are useless as technical higher ups.
    If you make knee jerk reactions for the sake of profits you'll lose top talent.

    Informatica Response

    Apr 14, 2015Sr HRBP

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and concerns. While we agree that the organization is going through some changes , we aren't planning to make any changes on the benefits you mentioned above. We are ... More

  9. Very focused company. Dedicated and determined in its own business and technology space.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Channel Sales Manager - MENA
    Former Employee - Channel Sales Manager - MENA

    I worked at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Singular mission. Focused Line of Business. Excellent line of products

    Cons

    A little bit of mis-management for talent by Managers. Poor on career growth. Missing an eye for good candidates.

    Advice to Management

    Need clear and strong HR Policies, good internal communications. Need to provide more training for talent to grow within the organization.

    Informatica Response

    Apr 02, 2015Director HR India

    Hi,

    Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly review your inputs and advice.

    Regards
    Yasmeen Shaikh

  10. Awesome company to work for...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Bangalore
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Bangalore

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company provides good time-off during an year, office culture is very good. Work-life balance can be achieved here.

    Cons

    I was not able to go to 'The Club' after I was awarded the 'Best Performer' award. The reason I was not able to go was - kids were not allowed. Informatica should have alternatively awarded me in that case.

    Advice to Management

    If there are plans to expand in India, Informatica should open office in Tier II city [e.g. Nagpur].

    Informatica Response

    Mar 04, 2015Senior Business HR partner

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. Happy to know that you are positive about the culture of the company.
    We would definitely like to hear from you about the concern you
    ... More

  11. Reasonable place to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Bangalore

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Working from home for few days in a month. Development and ownership of product is in India. Pay is above average. Work life balance is not poor.

    Cons

    High technical growth rate is not possible for engineers, even if they work very hard and deliver good products. May not be expected to show very good growth in revenues in near future. That effects company's ability to retain good talent.

    Advice to Management

    Mid and low level management should consider more importance to existing employees than hiring low quality people for higher pay from outside.
    Give enough attention to product management functions.
    Pursue goals single minded with confidence.

    Informatica Response

    Mar 16, 2015Sr HRBP

    Hi ,

    Thanks for sharing your comments. Infact ownership of products in India just echoes India's contribution to Informatica's overall growth strategy. Please feel free to talk to me or anyone
    ... More

Work at Informatica? Share Your Experiences

Informatica

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.