Supermedia

www.supermedia.com

Supermedia Reviews

Updated 13 January 2015
Updated 13 January 2015
316 Reviews
2.1
316 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
161 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Benefits are good, commission not bad and my co-workers are great (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)


Cons
  • 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore (in 41 reviews)

  • Upper management takes care of themselves - no loyalty for those of us who have been loyal (in 18 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Constant Change

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot there. Lots of good people have worked there over the years.

    Cons

    Priorities change there multiple times a year. Too bureaucratic for a company looking to transform. Highly Inefficient.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get one plan and stick to it before you change to another.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Jan 13, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Change and evolution of a company can be difficult for all involved. We greatly appreciate your service and for taking the time to post your feedback. -Ed

  2.  

    A leaning experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Pay is decent, hours, union representation

    Cons

    Lack of support, unrealistic sales quota, pressure from management

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    n/a

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Dec 16, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    H- We thank you greatly for the service that you provided to the company and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed

  3.  

    Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very close to home and very good hours.

    Cons

    New Management did not know the business

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 14, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you for your providing 10 + years of dedicated service to the company! Our management team works diligently to excel at their leadership duties and to make sure that our employees have what ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good company to work for

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Great management to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 05, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you so much for your tenure with the company, and for taking the time to post your feedback. It's greatly appreciate! -Ed

  6.  

    Media Consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to earn good money and help local businesses.

    Cons

    High pressure and highly competitive field of digital advertising.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 05, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're glad to know that your overall experience working with SuperMedia was a positive one! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you, Ed.

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    A horrible company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Customers are great. Too bad they have to deal with this company.

    Cons

    Horrible management from the top to mid-level to lover level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Shut it down once and for all, instead of changing the company name each time you file for bankruptcy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 07, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're sorry to hear that your confidence in management was low while employed with the company. The concerns and needs of our employees comes second to none.

    We have a very employee friendly
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    Unsatisfactory

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Full benefits. Health Insurance. 401k. Paid time off. Paid holidays etc.

    Cons

    Nobody wants their product. 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore. Company is scrambling like mad to sell electronic advertising. Their offering is weak and they want customers to sign a one year contract for online advertising. Which makes people very suspicious. If the advertising worked, wouldn't the customer continue to renew it on a month to month basis? But making them sign something that says they are going to the company say $3000 every 30 days for a year whether it works or not is fishy. Company once had good bonuses but that has all been eliminated. Used to be a great place to work. It's one of the worst now. Stay away.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 02, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi. We're sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined regarding the company and products offered. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns as we certainly want employees to ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Pros

    Pros are the benefits started from day one. And had unlimited tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    company set unrealistic goals that were unattainable and no one was able to meet them turnover was very high

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 05, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for posting your pros and cons regarding current employment. Be assured that your feedback will not go unheard as we encourage employees to voice their work experiences and ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Lacked focus on customer service.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    insurance benefits, flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Lacked leadership and core values

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Aug 06, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your past employment experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you've offered. -Ed

Work at Supermedia? Share Your Experiences

Supermedia

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.