blinkx

www.blinkx.com

blinkx Reviews

Updated 28 January 2015
Updated 28 January 2015
80 Reviews
2.9
80 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
38 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good compensation, good benefits, flexible hours and good opportunities for advancement (in 6 reviews)

  • They also provide free snacks/beverages and do a staff lunch every Thursday which is generous of them (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Worst senior management team (at least from engineering perspective) I've ever worked with (in 7 reviews)

  • There is no one leading the company (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

     

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great working environment with flexible work life balance, which is good for my family life. Good pay and benefits. I really feel part of the team, and it was clear my work is appreciated and my hard efforts do go rewarded.

    I have found my team leaders/management to be both responsive and helpful. So am not sure why so many reviews here are so negative.

    Blinkx has many exciting products and is being well lead by senior management (even if the current mood of investors is very negative towards the company, it is not so for those of us working here).

    Cons

    Expect employees to work hard. So if this is not you then you may find life hard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I expect our hard work will bear fruit shortly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you feel part of the team! We strive to create a great team that works together. Our challenges make us stronger and as you ... More

  2.  

    While even the highs weren't very high, the lows are a bottomless pit of unhappiness

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    One thing blinkx has always had going for it is good people, even as it grows through acquisition. Somehow (most) of the people remain amazing. I don't know how the company has retained so many for so long, although we're definitely starting to see some of the lifers trickle out. And I don't think it's just people coming together to make the best of a bad situation--the majority of people are truly dedicated and talented and fun to be around.

    Benefits are good. There are some great managers and some of the business leaders know what they're doing.

    Cons

    It's good we tend to get along, because we see A LOT of each other. The CEO puts in 24 hour days and expects everyone else to, too. Unfortunately most people aren't compensated at his level, so sorry everybody--you're kinda working for free! Everyone complains about the low pay.

    At a certain management level, no one takes a real vacation. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week is the expectation pushed down from above.

    To make things even more entertaining, we have major attrition and nothing's going to change anytime soon. Like I said, people are abandoning this sinking ship and none of the execs are doing anything about it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You know why people are leaving? Because no one likes being one person doing the job of three (except maybe the CEO). Pay us more, respect our lives outside the work day, and stop pretending blinkx is a start up. It WAS a start up. Now it's a raggedy collection of loosely organized businesses held together by spit and despair.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    blinkx Response

    Jan 27, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear you recognize the rockstars we have here at blinkx! We are always striving to be better and will take your comments into ... More

  3.  

    Shady, probably illegal, definitely immoral.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Compensation is good for senior engineers. Casual place without too much supervision or micro-management. Free food and free coffee.

    Cons

    It's hard to comprehend how this company is still alive. There are no actual products or services being produced here.

    You can actually "feel" the awfulness on people's faces, like everyone has just given up on improving the world.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jan 29, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We believe that we offer a robust line of products and work tirelessly to improve quality. If you would like to discuss further please email [email protected]

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great perks, some instability

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Small office with a relaxed atmosphere and great group of employees. Challenging work and an opportunity to learn a variety of areas

    Cons

    Some instability, including high turnover. Not a lot of room for advancement

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for the review. Blinkx does provide great benefits to its employees and we are glad you agree! Our company has become more efficient and strategic in the past year, which comes with changes ... More

  6.  

    Great company going places

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England (UK)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Really dynamic place, it is clear there is something going on behind the scenes. No one overly concerned about the latest results and are looking at the future.

    Cons

    The snacks are not that good, you coudl always do with longer holidays and I wish I had more options because they are going to be worth loads soon

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up we are all behind you. The best company I have ever worked for and I started Apple witht hose other two guys.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! You are a blinkx rockstar with over 10 years tenure! Blinkx is committed to continuing to develop a work environment that is diverse, collaborative, and encouraging ... More

  7. 6 people found this helpful  

    Not worthy of your talent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)

    I worked at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, paid holidays, vacation time.

    Cons

    Lack of vision and leadership and desperation in product development are the norm at this place. At one point management said the only message from the CEO was "revenue needs to go up, and costs need to go down." That is not leadership. Basically it seems that management has a suite of old, disliked products that are considered annoyances to most users and Internet companies and instead of trying to innovate a new direction on the model, they are simply patching and reshaping the old stuff in a desperate attempt to keep them ticking. It's a dying strategy. Most of management's role seems to be to watch graphs and say "fix it now!" when the numbers aren't what they want.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Leadership comes from the top, not trying to force your employees to come up with "get rich quick" ideas or patching your already disliked products to squeak out one more month of life. Punishing your best employees by taking away their bonuses that they depend on is a bad idea. Recognize the talent of your employees and their dedication to getting it right, not just looking at numbers and screaming. If this is the way you want to do it, you would be better off just acquiring whatever works in the market, and outsourcing its maintenance until you run it into the ground, and then look for the next one.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Blinkx strives to ensure a positive work environment for all of its employees and takes your constructive criticism very seriously. If you’d like to discuss further ... More

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    CEO needs to go

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The people you work with day to day are smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    No vision strategy or leadership at the top is made worse by questionable ethics and business practices they pretend don't exist. CEO doesn't care at all about employees and morale has been declining for a long time. Miserable place to work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a leader who can turn the company around, otherwise it will continue to fall apart.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry to hear your thoughts on blinkx and our leadership team. Blinkx strives for excellence and works tirelessly to make sure the company is a success. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Pathetic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen, industry standard benefits

    Cons

    Micro-mismanagement, slave drivers, unorganized chaos, project managers are non-existent, understaffed due to high turnover rates, prioritization is questionable, unrealistic pay, shady company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bring on more directorate level staff; listen to your employees who have experience over those that truly do not have a clue; be realistic about hiring personnel; respect your employees and pay them appropriately; actually hire some project managers and get your priorities straight

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience with our company was unfavorable. We would be happy to discuss your concerns, please contact [email protected] .

  10.  

    how is it to work at blinkx

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    convinient, nice location, great office space

    Cons

    salary, stock in really bad state

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy the office environment. We are always open to additional feedback. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] and an HR ... More

Work at blinkx? Share Your Experiences

blinkx

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.