Market Analyst Interview Questions

When businesses need insight and perspective on market matters, they turn to market analysts. As you prepare for a market analyst interview position, you will want to emphasise your analytical decision-making skills and ability to translate multiple data sources into a cohesive report for business leaders.

10,338 Market Analyst interview questions shared by candidates

Top Market Analyst Interview Questions & How to Answer

Here are three top market analyst interview questions and tips on how to answer them:

Question No. 1: How do you define big data?

How to answer: This open-ended question is designed to showcase your knowledge base and interpretation of big data. Specifically, refer to big data connected with the company which is interviewing you when possible. This opportunity will further demonstrate the research you have completed on the position and the business. Provide examples of how you would use big data for the company as a market analyst.

Question No. 2: How do you effectively communicate the essential points for a data model to someone who has difficulty understanding it?

How to answer: This open-ended question allows you to demonstrate your communication skills, especially related to complex subjects such as data models. Discuss how you would find out what is confusing to them in order to explain something better. Guide them through the model to ensure that they haven't missed anything or misinterpreted information.

Question No. 3: How did you get started, or what got you interested in marketing analysis?

How to answer: This open-ended question provides you with the opportunity to share your skills specific to market analysis, along with your passion for the position. Discuss how you started your career as a market analyst. Describe your educational experiences and how your interest in the field has developed. Use this opportunity to highlight your passion for market analysis by sharing examples from your work experience.

Top Interview Questions

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Expedia Group
Market Manager was asked...9 September 2009

How would you sell me eggnog in Florida in the summer?

9 Answers

I'd add rum and an umbrella and sell it as a cocktail.

Frozen on a stick

(grunch) (that's I determined my answer before reading other posts) freeze it and add rum. Less

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Goldman Sachs

Brain Teaser: A snail goes up 3 feet during the day and falls 1 foot at night. How long does it take him to go up 10 feet?

6 Answers

It doesn't say how long does it take him to make it ten feet up the wall. It just says, how long does it take for him to move up ten feet. That's 3 1/3 days (assuming equal movement throughout the day). Although he will have moved "up" ten feet, he will have also fallen back and will not be ten feet up the wall. Of course, you can also interpret it as the other answers suggest. Less

4 days and 16 hours 16 hours because by the end of the 4th day, it is 8 feet up on the wall and only needs to climb up 2 feet. Well, assuming that the snail travels 3 feets uniformly throughout the day, then it needs to travel an additional (2/3)*24 = 16 hours for it to climb up that extra 2 feet for it to be at the height of 10 feet. Less

4 days and 8 hours, assuming the day is 12 hours long and the night is 12 hours long. Almost agree with the >4 days answer above, however not quite agree with the (2/3)*24=16 hours part. The snail climbs 3 feet in the day, which would definitely be shorter than 24 hours. If we assume the day means 24/2=12 hours. on the 5th day, the snail took 2/3*12=8 hours to reach 10 feet. So that would be 4 days and 8 hours, assuming the day is 12 hours long and the night is 12 hours long. Less

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BNP Paribas

Video interview: 1) why this division 2) tell me about a recent news 3) effect of the fed hike on the bond market 4) additional comments

7 Answers

Hi, I just got the pre-assessment for BNPP Structuring and Trading Graduate program. I was told there is gonna be a math test, exchange rate test and an interview with the business. Can you remember anything from the math test or anything related to the exchange rate test? Thank so much. My interview is within 5 days. Less

Yes, it was realized through the Sonru platform

Hi again, please if you still remember, could go recall what the sales and trading group exercises consisted of? Also was there any technical aspect of the interview. The AC invitation email is exactly as you've described but I don't want to be blindsided by a technical interview so I'd just like to confirm. Thank you! Less

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You have 2 3 gallon bucket, one 5 gallon bucket. How do you get 4 gallons of water?

6 Answers

fill the 5 gallon > fill the 3 gallon with the 5 gallon > empty 3 gallon > put remaining 2 gallons from 5 gallon to 3 gallon > fill 5 gallon > fill the last gallon from the 3 gallon with the 5 gallon bucket > you are left with 4 gallons in the 5 gallon Less

fill 3 gallon bucket, fill the 5 gallon bucket with the 3 gallon fill the 3 gallon bucket again, fill 2 gallon of the 3 to the 5 gallon one, now there is 1 gallon left in the 3 gallon bucket empty the 5 gallon bucket and fill the 1 gallon into the 5 gallon bucket fill the 3 gallon bucket. now you have 4 gallon water, 1 in the 5 gallon bucket and 3 in the 3 gallon bucket Less

Place the 3 gallon bucket upside-down inside the 5gal bucket...fill up the 5 gallon bucket and remove the 3 gallon to get the 2 gallons...then repeat. (This is assuming the 3 gallon bucket fits in the 5 gallon bucket.) Less

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Tell me the different ways that you can calculate VaR (Value at Risk).

2 Answers

Typically there are 3 ways in the industry to calculate VaR: 1. Historical (by far the most common, IME) 2. Parametric (not very useful, as returns tend to not be normal, unless you use EVT) 3. Monte Carlo (more often used in fixed income and other credit/debt portfolios than other asset classes) Less

I think I said Monte Carlo, delta, gamma and Black-Scholes.


Question 5 : An ad campaign has a CPC = $0.5, a conversion rate = 3% and an average transaction value of $260.What is the Cost of Sales of the campaign (cost of the ad campaign divided by the revenues generated, in percentage)? Question 6 : With a margin on revenues of 13%, an average transaction value of $290 and a conversion rate = 0.7%, what is the maximum CPC an advertiser can afford without losing money (in dollar)? Question 7 : During his browsing, a user is randomly exposed to two ad banners A & B. Those two banners are equally likely to be shown. One and only one banner is shown per page. After two pages of browsing, what’s the probability that the user was shown only banners A (in percentage)? Question 8 : A/B Testing campaign: Measuring the impact of Criteo retargeting ads compared to a control group. Number of transactions on client site : • Group A exposed to Criteo banners 600,000 • Group B Control group not exposed 50,000a. b. What incremental revenues per user CompanyA has generated for the client advertiser (in dollar, rounded to the cent)? c. What total incremental revenues CompanyA has generated for the client advertiser? Total incremental revenue is simply the incremental revenue per user multiplied by the number of users exposed to Company A's retargeting. d. With $200.000 revenues following clicks on banners for group A (post click), what is the related post view (view through) effect in revenues generated by CompanyA campaign? View through effects on revenues are a bit tricky as they would require view through conversion tracking. A post impression visit that results in a transaction can be credited as a 'view through conversion'. If CompanyA is not tracking revenue on post-impression ('view through') visits, then you can estimate it by taking the average revenue per transaction - in this case $200,000 - and divide it by the number of post-click transactions in group A. This would give you the average revenue per transaction, often referred to as Average Order Value. You could then take the Average Order Value and multiply it by the number of view through conversions generated by Company A.

4 Answers

Answer 5 CPC $0.5 meaning each click cost $0.5 Conversion rate of 3% means that for 100 clicks, 3 sales are done 100 clicks generate 3 x $260 100 clicks = $780 Cost = 100 * 0,5 = $50 50/780 = 6,4% Less

maxCPC: conversion rate x average transaction value x margin 0,007 x 290 x 0,13= 0,26 dollars Less

Answer 5: (CPC/CVR)/AOV=(0.5/0.03)/260=6.4%

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My interview started with she asking me questions from my resume. She asked me how my job related to the Market Analyst position and then she asked me some behavioural questions: • What a good team was for me and tell an example of a time I worked with a team and achieved good results • In my view, how my relationship with the manager should be and how I managed this relationship in the past • Why I want to work for Nielsen and what are my future goals • What are my three major strengths • Where do l think I need to improve After that she asked me: • about my salary range and if the proposed salary and benefits was OK for me • if I am legally able to work in Canada, and • when I am available to start They then finally concluded the interview by reviewing the position, the company, the future perspectives and trainings with me. If you succeed, Nielsen will contact you and you will get a case to present in your final interview along with two managers (people that will work with you – your manager and the account director). So, this third interview will also be conducted in person with the person who would make the final decision about hiring. For the case, you will likely be given some sales data for Company A and will have to prepare a short powerpoint presentation incorporating this data. This will test three things: 1. Your ability to analyze the data 2. You ability to provide recommendations based on the analysis 3. You presentation style / ability to remain calm and professional

2 Answers

A good advice is: if you do not know the answer to one of their questions regarding the case, do not pretend to know it and try to talk around it. You may not believe me, but they do not expect you to be an expert and would rather you say something like, “No, I did not notice that” or “I will look into that later” (the 2nd response would be more for presenting to clients) than pretending to know something and trying to talk AROUND it. It happened to me, and this is a test to test you. Don’t fall for that! As for the interview, it started with a brief introduction followed by the business case analysis and a final discussion about the company and the position: introduction: the 2 minutes introductory speech, how my past experience relates to the position, why I want to work at Nielsen and some specific questions (computer skills, experience with what type of analysis, and type of negotiations and seminars conducted) business case: I present the case over 10 minutes (case review, conclusion and recommendations - focusing on the action plan and matrix). I was asked to point-out the three main issues (lost of distribution, lack of product on the shelves, impact of the package decrease), if it would be a good idea to decrease even more the price to solve the problem (which I said no), and which recommendations would give immediate impact on the business (those related to distribution). discussions about the company and the position: the interviewers explained me that I would be working along with a team of consultants nationwide. As Market Analyst I would get three weeks of initial training and work at the office. (Visits to clients are reserved to Senior Analysts - so I can expect to do it perhaps after 1-2 years). My advice here is that due to my comprehensive preparation I was confident and I think they realized it and appreciated the amount of effort I have dedicated to the business case and searching the firm. I tried to "break the ice" by trying to engage all of them in the conversation and my answers, and because they were all very friendly and nice, the interview occurred in a relaxed and outgoing way. So, as you see, from my experience all three interviews went very well. Everybody was very nice and because the analytic test you will have to take determines your level of skill, the interviews will determine more of a fit. GOOD LUCK!!! Less

Could you please tell me how long did it take Nielsen to extend an offer to you after the final third round case interview ? also, did you negotiate the salary / benefits ? Less

Procter & Gamble

With your understanding of your country and its people, if you were to guess what two perfect strangers were talking about this morning at the bus stop, what would it be?

4 Answers

what a good day it will be

Gm! do you think with the increase in the ticket prices, we will find places to sit, or still we will be paying more and standing the whole time! Less

did you watch the match yesterday? and what do you think about next round? ( CAN 2019) Less

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Most difficult question was "What is your biggest weakness in your performance results? Tough to answer without revealing your flaws.

3 Answers

Sometimes i focus too much on one thing and don't look at the overall picture. For instance I sometimes get caught up in homework that doesnt require as much effort as another assignment. Less

I always say that my greatest strength can also be my greatest weakness. I see them as two sides of a similar coin. I tend to hold others to the expectations and standards to which I hold myself accountable, but I am more likely to give others the benefit of the doubt than I give myself. Less

I said I sometimes became too perfectionistic in my expectations from my team.


In the language you apply for, please describe some of the challenges and opportunities you feel this role may bring If 35 have A, 50 have B, 70 have C, 20 have AB, 30 have BC, 15 have AC and 10 have ABC then how many have only A?

3 Answers

Lol you're all wrong. The OP didnt provide the correct variables.

10 have ABC, 20 have AB -> 20-10=10 have just AB 15 have AC -> 15-10=5 have just AC 10AB+5AC+10ABC=25 people with not just A 35 people have A - 25 people with not just A = 10 people with just A Less

I answered 10

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