7Park Data Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

7Park Data Reviews

Updated May 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
7Park Data CEO Brian Lichtenberger
Brian Lichtenberger
6 Ratings
  1. "Experiment with all kinds of big data technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At 7Park Data, you can try all big data technologies available, work in a cloud-first environment and write a lot of Python code. Something that I really like is that we are very serious about producing indicators as accurately as possible. We are always looking for ways to improve our calculations. By applying data science techniques including machine learning we’re constantly trying to achieve this. The focus... on accuracy touches all areas of the company, and everybody is paying attention to our data. You need to like mathematics at least. If you are OK with all this, then this is the right company for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company has been growing exponentially and of course you have to adapt fast to constant changes to the organization. The office is pretty packed at the moment! Hard to get a conference room. Sometimes hours are long.

    7Park Data2019-05-14
  2. "Enjoyable career at an engaging company with great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of good stuff to say: * I love my team (and my team lead). My sense of camaraderie is through the roof. This absolutely cannot be overstated. * They take their mantra of "autonomy and respect" very seriously -- if you communicate your commitments and setbacks well (and, of course, can deliver what you commit to deliver), everything's gonna be great and the work-life balance is quite good in my... experience. * Recent acquisition means the company's long term future is looking brighter than ever! * Excellent business model with obvious long-term potential, and tons of room for personal career growth. * A ton of opportunities to learn some incredible things from the data science team, especially at typically-weekly Lunch 'n' Learn sessions * Free coffee at an amazing coffee shop right across the street! * Smart, interesting coworkers in all teams, who are fun and engaging to work with. Lots of "characters" who make my day brighter. * Great health insurance.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Rapidly growing company that is starting to hit some operational bumpiness because it's right in the middle of becoming a "non-startup". Personally, these growing pains seem unavoidable. * Sometimes feels like sales and research get more attention/priority than engineering from the rest of the org, and we have to scramble to keep up. This seems to improve every day, though, and it does mean that you get to feel... like a hero from time to time. Also, extremely par for the course in my experience. * "Autonomy and respect" cuts both ways. You need to be able to stand up for yourself, manage expectations, and communicate well with management.

    Show More
    7Park Data2019-05-10
  3. "I felt they dealt dishonestly with me and others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 7Park Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    See how sausage is made.

    Cons

    I felt 7Park management dealt dishonestly with clients, data providers, and above all employees.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out your sales structuer and don't change it every quarter.

    7Park Data2019-04-08
  4. "Awesome company that values employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hardworking group of people who are passionate about growing the company and enjoying themselves while they do it. - Upper management cares about their employees and they are incredibly supportive when people need to take personal time. - The start-up culture is collaborative and continuously offers every employee a chance to grow and learn new skills. - Great place to work

    Cons

    There is nothing to highlight

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    7Park Data2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities for people who want to make a major impact on the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company with a culture than encourages employees to identify opportunities for personal and business growth, and try new solutions to achieve success. Every employee cares about doing their job well. Really smart group of people who are nice to each other.

    Cons

    Not all leaders are very communicative, which can create uncertainty or mistrust on some teams.

    7Park Data2018-11-09
  6. "If you want to learn how big data works, this is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 7Park Data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - They hire really smart people - There are lots of opportunities to learn - Its a tight group of people, it feels like family - They curate and stock healthy snacks

    Cons

    - The most effective way to work with the teams is in-person, remote work is not as effective as it can be at other startups

    7Park Data2018-07-21
  7. "3 good years so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced — days fly Real oppty’s for career growth / path to promotion Super, super smart people 100% free and good healthcare benefits Strong brand / reputation in alt data community and buy side if you eventually want to move there

    Cons

    Fast paced — lot of work, can be stressful, high expectations No Hr to help w/ onboarding, benefits stuff Training could be better, sink or swim

    Advice to Management

    Hire an HR mgr Match 401k Increase townhall frequency from qrtly to monthly

    7Park Data2018-03-13
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Avoid. You will thank me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 7Park Data

    Pros

    Absolutely none. There are genuinely good folks (can count them on my hand), who are hard working and whose hard work goes down the drain.

    Cons

    1. This company is a chaotic sinking ship, that is constantly plugging all the sink holes as the solution, rather than trusting it's employees to find a permanent solution. 2.HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT. VP's have no idea what's happening in the company. 3. No long term goals, no vision for the company and it's employees. You are just a working mule to them. 4. No proper delegation of work. Everyone works on everything..., at the same time. 5. Every day the same problem repeats, which shows that the company does not have a strong foundation and is not willing to invest time in finding a proper fix.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Learn to trust your employees to do their job. Don't constantly interfere. 2. Stop backstabbing people. 3. Stop badmouthing former employees. Word goes around sooner than you think! 4. If you cant do these things, CLOSE SHOP!

    7Park Data2018-03-02
  9. "Growing Company + Growing Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time

    Pros

    Ability to seriously learn and grow - if you work hard, you will be recognized and get to reap the rewards Personable employees and great company culture – always looking for ways to bring different teams together and collaborate (Friday lunches, offsite retreats, happy hours, etc…) Access to leadership – hands on executive team, founders closely involved in the day-to-day operations of the business. Make... themselves easily accessible to employees who want to voice concerns, pitch ideas, etc. Encourage innovation & out-of-the-box thinking when it comes to building products and servicing our clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since teams are small, people generally have to wear a number of different hats – can be challenging to delegate when there is not an “established” way of doing things.

    7Park Data2017-05-09
  10. "You actually do get back what you put in to this business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7Park Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - fast growing market / faster growing company - strong brand recognition and great rapport with clients / partners - top performers are identified quickly and very well incentivized - opportunity to collaborate with teams that posses many unique skillsets - working with a group of talented people that genuinely like each other - healthy competitive atmosphere - freedom to become a key contributor at any... level - no silos, teams all work together and as a bi product employees learn and participate in the business from the bottom up

    Show More

    Cons

    - mgmt has very high expectations and some teams are understaffed

    7Park Data2017-05-04
Found 15 reviews