84 Lumber Reviews

Updated 5 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber President and Owner Maggie Hardy Knox
Maggie Hardy Knox
246 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be able to put in long hours(in 83 reviews)

  • "Very intense low pay for the work(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Learning Opportunities, Rapid Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family Owned Business, great training program

    Cons

    Long hours, minimal work force

    84 Lumber Response

    July 7, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback regarding our ownership and training. We do work long hours with smaller crews to make sure everyone is getting their hours.

  2. "Not enough money for responsibility"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Dispatcher 

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, Good hours, Weekly Overtime

    Cons

    Workload Having to move for promotion

    84 Lumber Response

    July 7, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your honest feedback regarding 84 Lumber. We have great people. Full time hours and overtime are part of our compensation. Moving up in management requires relocation which we explain to everyone interested in pursuing that career path.

  3. "Great and growing company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to advance in the company and the company will help train you to get there.

    Cons

    Only minor cons: no company cell phones, no company paid uniforms.

    84 Lumber Response

    June 23, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on training and advancement opportunities. While we don't provide associates cell phones, 84 Lumber does offer employee discounts on cell phone services from several carriers.

  4. "Management is everything."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Regular, available, and accessible work. Skills-oriented. Room to improve. Active, physical exercise. Reasonable benefits. Can be very relaxed.

    Cons

    Discretionary raises and starting pay. Power trickles down from back-rubbing. Seniority outranks title. Serious potential for injury if safety not taken seriously. Relaxed standards can enable management to protect under-performers for personal reasons, or to maintain numbers.

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    June 23, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for you feedback on training and available work. Pay and promotions are based on performance.

  5. "Ups and downs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Greenwood, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Taught me a lot about the industry. Great coworkers Meet a lot of great people (vendor reps and contractors)

    Cons

    Hours can be tiresome. Pay isn’t the best The main one: I took this job with the promos of a promotion in a year. It’s been a year. Still here as an MT. I feel like they’re using me as a hard worker who will do anything that’s needed and don’t see the actual value in me.

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    June 23, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your honest feedback about your co-workers and hours. 84 Lumber associates do work longer hours than most retail establishments. This allows most associates to take home larger paychecks because of the overtime they earn.

  6. "Dont work here"

    2.0
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Winchester, KY

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You'll be bale to joke and laugh a lot

    Cons

    They dont provide sales leads

    84 Lumber Response

    June 10, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback. A career in Outside sales is for individuals that feel comfortable calling on builders in their offices and job sites. Salespeople need to generate their own leads with the help of the store manager.

  7. "great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager Trainee 

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    great company to invest in. hey hire within the company.

    Cons

    long hours but what good job aren't

    84 Lumber Response

    June 10, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback about opportunity and hours. 84 Lumber Manager Trainees work a minimum of 48 hours per week. They are also eligible for individual and store bonuses. We believe in promoting from within. Manager Trainees can move up into a CO-Manager position, Sales, or store support positions.

  8. "Very safe environment . The people I work with are excellent in receiving and shipping ."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipper/Receiver in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chance to move up better pay enjoyment every day when working

    Cons

    Christmas bonus was a buffet every year no money lol

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    April 13, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback - it is great to hear how much you enjoy your position.

  9. "Laborer"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Not much at all it

    Cons

    Very intense low pay for the work

    84 Lumber Response

    June 10, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Working at 84 Lumber involves working with customers inside our stores as well as out in the lumberyard.

  10. "Great Training - Great Future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittston, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support and training, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Long Hours, and weekends, but your efforts will be rewarded

    84 Lumber Response

    March 30, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on training and promotions. Thank you for pointing out that hard work and long hours lead to rewards!

Found 456 reviews