ABF Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

ABF Freight Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
ABF Freight CEO Judy R. McReynolds
Judy R. McReynolds
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay if you can get enough hours(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great pay compared to other jobs in the area(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours, Limited Vacation Time, Monthly Pay(in 37 reviews)

  • "New upper management from outside the company has no respect for employees in the field(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Pay, Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High Pay,, Good Co-Workers, Opportunity for growth if willing to relocate

    Cons

    Long Hours, Limited Vacation Time, Monthly Pay

    ABF Freight2019-11-07
  2. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work and employees on both the union and management side. Management truly cares for their people, we’re innovating and have a good future outlook.

    Cons

    Hours can be long for both touch labor and management, but incentive allows you to get out what you put in.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek out creative ways to enhance employee work life balance.

    ABF Freight2019-10-08
  3. "Lazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Insurance I like what I do

    Cons

    Not enough hours trying to pay my bills willing to work for it

    Advice to Management

    Need to get more freight stop just worrying about truck loads

    ABF Freight2019-10-03
  4. "One of the better LTL carriers to drive for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Driver in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, little hassle from management, benefits.

    Cons

    Little to no direction as to what to do at outstations after hours if you don't know where to enter the yard or building entrance. Newer drivers don't know what to put on pay logs, potentially losing out on money.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop the new driver training program.

    ABF Freight2019-09-13
  5. "Review of Job and Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time

    Pros

    Pay and most employees will try to help you out

    Cons

    No breaks for lunch, minimum of 10 hours a day. Some do 12. Hours a day. Not good work/ life balance, I would advise not to get into this industry unless you have already been in it

    Advice to Management

    Need to have anonymous reviews of our managers

    ABF Freight2019-09-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Handler in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Layed back great work environment

    Cons

    Can not think of any

    ABF Freight2019-08-29
  7. "A Great learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ABF Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Manassas terminal for a year. The co-workers will go out of their way to teach you what they know. Some managers were great and went out of their way to help make the truckers life better. There are long hours but it comes with the job.

    Cons

    Manger doesn't build an environment for the cohesion of the team. There was always a union vs mangers type of atmosphere that lead to prideful decisions.

    ABF Freight2019-09-11
  8. "Big egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ABF Freight part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The extra money you earn working here thats about it.

    Cons

    If your a part time worker expect all the work nobody wants, the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Ok

    ABF Freight2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very challenging place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ABF Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The days off and pay.

    Cons

    The hours are long and supervising union employees is very challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Hold everybody accountable

    ABF Freight2019-07-12
  10. "Trucking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great schedule, decent pay, 401K with up to 10% anaul salary match. Opportunity for different positions across the US.

    Cons

    Managing Teamsters in the Teamsters Union.

    Advice to Management

    Do not lie and do not try and pull a fast one they always know somehow.

    ABF Freight2019-06-18
Found 310 reviews