ABF Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

ABF Freight Reviews

Updated May 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 299 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
ABF Freight CEO Judy R. McReynolds
Judy R. McReynolds
159 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay if you can get enough hours(in 42 reviews)

  • "Great pay compared to other jobs in the area(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours with no regard to employee morale or fairness(in 35 reviews)

  • "New upper management from outside the company has no respect for employees in the field(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Morning there I liked everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at ABF Freight

      Pros

      I’m really not sure I liked it all

      Cons

      There wasn’t any that I could see

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      ABF Freight2019-05-03
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - City Driver in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, management

      Cons

      Slow times waiting for a call or not getting a call at all

      Advice to Management

      Call either way. Working or not it's nice to know they don't have work available

      ABF Freight2019-05-02
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - City Driver in Greensburg, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits ot after eight

      Cons

      none that I can think of

      ABF Freight2019-05-09
    • "ABF good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager Trainee in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good managers,decent pay,easy going

      Cons

      nothing too bad just a lot of areas to learn

      ABF Freight2019-04-30
    • "Fed ex is alot better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - City Pick Up and Delivery Driver in Columbia, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ABF Freight full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Hopefully you will have a pention in the future

      Cons

      Turn key is a joke... no weight limit... it's your back

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of the union it's a joke!

      ABF Freight2019-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Zero work/life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dock Worker in Albuquerque, NM
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ABF Freight part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Probably one of the better trucking jobs in the industry. Pay is decent. Once you are "hired on" it becomes next to impossible to fire you. They pay for you to get your CDL.

      Cons

      No work/life balance. The first 30 days you are treated like a dog. New employees are shunned by older employees. No vacation for 2 years. If you get sick, forget about it! Training for new employees sucks.

      Advice to Management

      It's nice to have free health insurance and a pension, but come on, 2 weeks of vacation after 2 years??? You get more time off working at Wal-Mart as an associate! There is no training for new employees. Very few people are experts on the forklift right off the bat and if you aren't able to pull the numbers that the more experienced guys are pulling within 2 weeks, they will simply let you go.

      ABF Freight2019-05-09
    • "Great place for a career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great opportunity for advancement. Technology leader for the industry. Faced paced work environment.

      Cons

      Certain positions can have unusual schedules.

      ABF Freight2019-03-21
    • "Checker/cdl driver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Checker/Cdl Driver 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ABF Freight full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You won’t lose your job no matter what you do. The job is pretty laid back

      Cons

      Cdl drivers will never drive a truck. You will work the dock at night and every weekend for at least 5 years before you can even think about getting a drivers bid. The environment at the work place is not good at all. The senior guys do not want new guys who get hired to have good schedules. I do not advise anyone to work at this place. It’s the worst job I have ever had

      ABF Freight2019-04-22
    • "Local P/D dock worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Local Truck Driver in Conley, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ABF Freight full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great pay, great healthcare, and job security.

      Cons

      Schedule is always changing due to re bidding and union seniority system. 24/7 operation in Atlanta,Ga so work hours are varied. The terminal management is going through changes, which puts workers at the companies mercy. Believe it or not them being union is a con, the company/employees could excel without the restriction of a union shop.

      Advice to Management

      Change is good but create the change with the front line employees advise and lives in mind. Where there is a will there is a way.

      ABF Freight2019-03-03
    • "good place to work at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dock Worker 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ABF Freight full-time

      Pros

      pay is not bad for part time

      Cons

      none that I can say

      ABF Freight2019-02-24
    Found 299 reviews