ACE USA Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
ACE USA Chairman and CEO Evan G. Greenberg
Evan G. Greenberg
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "ACE provides an excellent benefits package(in 8 reviews)

  • "Pays well and has good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Most of the management team have no actual people skills and have no ability to motiivate or inspire their employees(in 3 reviews)

  • "long hours(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Pre-Chubb association

      3 Feb 2021 - Senior Claims Specialist in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits - particularly as to 401k match !

      Cons

      Heavy workload and much shifting of work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Administrative Assistant

      10 Dec 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has excellent benefit package especially 401k.

      Cons

      The company salary is not competitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Nepotism is the name of the game.

      24 Oct 2008 - Specialist in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits package is adequate, the actual people I work with (some of them), philanthropic activities. The buck stops there

      Cons

      Nepotism is alive and well at ACE. I can't say how many times I've met a coworker and found that they were the wife, daughter, son, husband, sister, brother of another employee at ACE (usually that person is a long term employee or management). The job board will have no available positions for my location, however ,miraculously, a new hire will show up for a position that was never posted. The job board used to show pay scale and salary range, but now the salary range is no longer there, which is rather suspicious to me. Management, UW, and Account Management positions have few minorities, if any. Management will complain that people don't stay late, however they will leave at 4:30 on the nose everyday. Some policies are enforced for some and not for others. If you're looking to be overworked, underpaid, and aggravated- this is where you want to be! I don't know if this is just the climate at my location, but if this is the tone of the entire organzation, then I will most likely be going to another company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Its a good place to be right now...

      4 Aug 2008 - Underwriter in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New company with a strong financial position... possibility to grow your career with the company. The Senior Management is young but very knowledgable. The company prides itself on maintaining their flexibility and as they grow exponentially every year. Our Senior Management is accessible and approachable.

      Cons

      ACE is not a 100 year old company. Our name is not as well established like Chubb or Travelers. We don't have the flexibility to work from home. Commuting is definatley a challenge, but overall the positives far outway any potential negaitves. ACE is a good place to start out your career and I think that it may be a good place to round out your career as well.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work and this has become more apparent as the economy has declined.

      11 Jan 2009 - Executive Underwriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional and Positive work Enviroment. Opportunities for advancement are plentiful. Senior management has done a good job of moving forward in this economic enviroment which gives employees a sense of job security. This company is a perfect fit for ambitious and highly motivated people that perform their jobs as though it is their company. Strong pool of talented leaders to learn from.

      Cons

      Processes and procedures are lacking in certain departments though company is continually working to improve. Authority structure at times can lend itself to forming bottlenecks. There is a touch of inflexibility to embrace technology in certain departments.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great opportunities for smart people - but compensation is not so great

      19 Dec 2008 - Financial Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are quite a few smart people there, so the learning experience is great.

      Cons

      Compensation is not as high as in other industries - at least at the lower levels. Higher up it gets better. Sometimes the environment can be very political, so it's good to be connected to the right people. This is not as relevent to promotions or bonuses, but just in regards to the flow of information. Also, depending on your interests, some of the work can be very repetitive and uninspiring. There are definitely opportunities to move around the organization, and it is encouraged, but you have to be patient.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      overall assessment

      4 Feb 2010 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      my personal opinions matter, internal growth is highly regarded, management is clear on company direction, people who work here seem to belong and are driven. very little restriction in place to grow and progress in career here.

      Cons

      growing company looking in many places to grow may create thinning in foundation or over concentration in others. real results will not be know for at least 3-5 years. to find and retain good talent and prevent brain drain throughout company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Promises Not Kept - At times a sweat shop

      29 Jul 2015 - Executive Underwriter in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401K and profit sharing. Mostly good people. Profitable company.

      Cons

      Most management not honest about promises made and then not keeping them. Seems to be a revolving door. Will tell a group of people one thing in a meeting and then the opposite happens. Not friendly about working from home on occasion if you job requires travel - only when weather is bad and then it is expected. Expect to work long hours. With recent merger with Chubb they need to cut $650M in expenses. Most employees now looking for a new job before they will be cut. Employees do know the department similarities with Chubb.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great corporate culture, opportunities for professional growth

      6 Dec 2012 - Assistant Vice President in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture benefits are excellent senior management is among the best in the biz consistently great corporate results

      Cons

      not a market leader in most of their product lines salaries tend to be below market rates culture has shifted (in the wrong direction) as a rsult of recent mid and senior level management additions from other companies (namely AIG/Chartis)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      At ACE, the bar keeps being raised; I am always challenged.

      2 Oct 2011 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Broad scope from writing many lines of business and doing so globally means good opportunities and a healthy financial outlook. Generally co-workers and management are of high quality, i.e., intelligent, hard-working, decent, personable Exec management is savvy and aggressive.

      Cons

      Expectations are high and management keeps a tight rein on expenses (which is overall good) but, in at least some disciplines, employees have too much work. I am used to working long hours in my management position and feel like I am barely keeping up.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Work at ACE USA? Share Your Experiences

    ACE USA logo
    or