Absolute Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Absolute Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 148 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Geoff Haydon
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

  • "Dischord at the C-level: personal agendas seem to trump strategic objectives(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to start the career in Analytics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Work Environment - Everyone is keen on learning new stuff and sharing of knowledge is a big plus here

    Cons

    Need to adjust with work-life balance but not impossible

    Advice to Management

    none

    Absolute2019-01-17
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Head in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    everything is perfect there, they are awesome

    Cons

    nothing as such. great people out there

    Advice to Management

    keep rocking

    Absolute2018-10-23
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great people and great product! Good process.

    Cons

    Too many managers and sometimes it is hard to follow.

    Absolute2019-04-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    leaving at the end of the day

    Cons

    no energy or smiles anywhere. just a general feeling of malaise

    Absolute2019-04-12
  5. "Good company for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ho Chi Minh City

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Product development and public company Flexible working hours Attractive bonus There is happy hours activity every week

    Cons

    Bike parking really needs cover

    Absolute2019-03-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "There are way better opportunities outside Absolute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute

    Pros

    Great location and great office

    Cons

    Never join if you have an equivalent opportunity out there. No one recognize your talent and you will be under lots of pressure since day one. Beware!!! No one knows what company is doing and which direction they will be following. Since it came under new management they keep laying off people

    Absolute2019-03-13
  7. "Love My Job and Our Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    High energy, strong leadership, growing, customers love us

    Cons

    Extremely fast-paced, pressure to grow faster

    Advice to Management

    More career development opportunities needed

    Absolute2019-01-24
  8. "Review from my tenure a few years back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Canadian headquartered so it has a different vibe than a lot of software companies in Austin. Annual sales meetings are usually in Vancouver and can be a lot of fun. Some great people work there and the culture was great when I was there.

    Cons

    Absolute struggled to make the transition from the "Lojack for Latops" days to managing an array of smaller, more mobile devices. They went from being the only game in town for laptop recovery to a much more fragmented space of mobile device management and security. Revenues stagnated, attainment struggled and pressure began to build. It's been years since I've been there but word is they're still struggling to hit...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wish I knew what advice to give. Redefining a company is no easy task, especially on a relatively small budget. I do know that the culture and the people used to make Absolute special and I hope that remains even in the face of mounting pressure.

    Absolute2019-01-24
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Weekly Snacks, monthly pizzas and unlimited drinks. Whistler trip yearly mostly subsidized. Christmas party and Children's Christmas party and Flexible hours. Bentall building with renovated office space.

    Cons

    Too many PMs. No promotion for "Doers". Expected OT with no pay (industry standard). Yearly layoffs in the summer for the past 4 years and a couple of minor ones here and there. Open office <-- Decision makers this does not work for developers!!!

    Advice to Management

    Many years ago when the owner was still in charge things were good. But then he retired and things started to go downhill. I've been in the industry (and this company) long enough to see everything. The "doers" are the people (Devs and QAs) who go on their business and do their work they will never get promoted. Only the "talkers" will get promoted (PMs and BAs). One exception to this, there is one team manager...

    Show More
    Absolute2019-02-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work if you don't mind the job risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and learn Managers are done of the best I've seen Lots of internal activities to take part in Yearly Whistler trip is fun

    Cons

    Lots of job cuts has happened and probably will continue Hey used to seeing people come and go, almost as if it's routine and normal Benefits could have been better Increments and benefits aren't that good Not many new things to learn after working for a couple of years Hard to convince manager to try out new things QAs still doing a lot of manual testing. Automation is last on the list

    Advice to Management

    It's not always about the money There are many good practices that can be followed and will be better for the product in the long run

    Absolute2018-11-28
Found 148 reviews