Absolute Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Absolute Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Christy Wyatt
1 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and decent culture

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities and salary increases

    Advice to Management

    Make more investments to core infrastructure to allow the company to grow

    Absolute2017-08-30
  2. "Enjoyed the office and my colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the office, excellent location, newly renovated, quiet with nice amenities. My work was in the IT support area of the company so I can't speak for how the other departments are managed but nothing appeared any different. The people I worked with were great, there is a positive working environment, staff is very professional and respectful to each other. I have worked in toxic work environments with other...

    Show More

    Cons

    You may be disappointed if you've come from other companies with lots of amenities and perks thrown at staff. I don't expect that so I wasn't disappointed.

    Advice to Management

    Salaries are low compared to the market and cost of living in Vancouver. This is especially true for those who've been with the company for many years. There is a lot of knowledge bound up in those who've been loyal, it would be a loss to the company if they had to leave Absolute to find a salary more suitable to their skills. Also letting good staff go when budgets get a bit tight may be a bit short sighted.

    Absolute2017-07-21
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is investing heavily into new security and management features. Teams are settling into the Agile cadence, and development environment has improved greatly over the past year. Product features are growing substantially and potential market is growing as a result.

    Cons

    Responsibilities for components are still in flux as teams take over different features and devops techniques continue to mature.

    Absolute2017-07-08
  4. "senior developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    lots of snack. close to sky train. new tech. coworkers are friendly and helpful, like a family. Base Salary is well above market.

    Cons

    performance bonus is discretionary. new management team can be tough. a lot of changes in the company. too much focus on the sales team. R&D is not as important as expected.

    Absolute2017-06-15
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Uninspiring and Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The new offices are "nice". There are some good people who work here. Pretty good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Really too many: this is a hard place to get anywhere in. Sales reorganizes every 6 months or so. HR had become absent when a new head started. Marketing is ineffective and full of conflict. The biggest issue though is the tone from management, the C-levels. CEO came on with some vision but then flopped hard and fell on his face, he's uninspiring and has just surrounded himself with "yes" people. In fact when you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Turn this company around, take a hard look at all the new department leaders and upper management and make some tough decisions. There is a good idea at the heart of this but it's languishing.

    Absolute2017-06-14
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back casual place to work

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons.

    Absolute2017-04-04
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Not top employer any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    - Good business model - Great Sales team - Good look office

    Cons

    - No new products and features - No innovation, - Business significantly getting slowed down - No reasonable hiring - Poor cost control - Too more political groups - Lost the good Absolute culture

    Advice to Management

    Too many CXO, VP and Directors. No idea what CPO is doing.

    Absolute2017-03-18
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Absentee Landlords"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of very smart individual contributors who really want to do awesome things - Great new offices in Vancouver - Strong cashflow from current product offering (DDS) - Diverse ecosystem of customers and partners

    Cons

    - Dischord at the C-level: personal agendas seem to trump strategic objectives - "All care, no responsibility" and "Concerned bystander" disease is rampant at SVP/VP level - HR seems to see themselves as an enabling function rather than an empowering function - Too much focus on "defending the franchise" saps energy from the necessary change management required to assure above-market growth in the future

    Advice to Management

    Make some hard decisions about the change management required to get from ITAM to Cybersecurity and then be humble enough to ASK FOR HELP from your frontline employees.

    Absolute2017-01-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Representative in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute part-time

    Pros

    I am currently getting my undergrad degree and could not find a job that worked with my schedule. This company was able to work with my class schedule during the week, giving me a chance to continue with my degree while staying employed.I hope to stay with this company after I finish my degree in May!

    Cons

    The amazing money comes with long hours

    Absolute2016-12-06
  10. "ABT as of 8/2015"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Account Executive in King of Prussia, PA

      I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great technical story to tell as a sales person.

      Cons

      Had moved away from service and systems management to focus on security, but the security value proposition was not complete at the time 8/2015. It may have been rounded out since.

      Absolute2016-11-16
    Found 151 reviews