Advance Financial Employee Reviews about "loan"

Updated Sep 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 519 reviews

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Advance Financial Chief Experience Officer and CEO  Tina Hodges
Tina Hodges
305 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay good benefits staff is nice at some stores(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great pay, benefits and growth potential(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can sometimes be an issue(in 22 reviews)

  • "I just didn't want to be in the "flex loan" business anymore(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "loan"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      They don’t care seriously stay away!!

      Aug 20, 2020 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Literally just the pay nothing else

      Cons

      So many! You feel like you’re in a prison behind the “cage”. They watch you 24/7 and nit pick for the smallest issues. During a pandemic people are going through some of the toughest times and they do not care. They took hours away and gave us more work. Only getting 27 hours one week and maybe over 30 the next. We get a video saying thank you from the CEO but not our management from our region. Instead we get watched like hawks and phone calls over simple petty things. They seriously do not care about their employees. It’s sad that a pandemic had to show and prove this. They make things seem awesome in the very beginning but after you been there for a while you see the fake and the ugly smiles. It is not “friends helping friends”. It is literally my company comes 1st. There is no work balance at all. How are managers getting their pay but the CSR’s who actually do all the work aren’t getting hours or the pay raise? Corporate care fund? Where’s all that money? Hmmmm 🤔 Isn’t that money supposed to help employees? I guess it just disappeared when you guys put your employees in a financial bind with cutting hours back in February before Covid. The perfect cover up for all the lay offs too. Do not work for this loan shark company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Positive

      Jun 25, 2020 - Director in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I advanced from a lower level position to a manager, then a director. Good pay and bonus, free health insurance, fun company events, paid time off for charitable causes, and a free on site gym at HQ. My ideas were valued and many were implemented.

      Cons

      Over all I'm glad I worked there. I just didn't want to be in the "flex loan" business anymore.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Friends help themselves

      Mar 21, 2020 - Teller in Fayetteville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am finally free of that place.

      Cons

      There have been signs this company was heading downhill for quite some time. Small things here and there. Really pushing hard to sell loans, focusing on just the most profitable customers, getting extremely picky on who they'd approve. Then they started charging for services they once touted as free. Then they started making some stores close at 8. Then they started being super strict about overtime. Then they said raises were suspended indefinitely. Then they drastically cut hours. Then they started firing people they could get rid of easily. Now I've heard they've laid nearly everyone else off and cut salaries by as much as 25%. All of this is off course to keep people safe from the corona virus. While some companies are giving employees paid time off. This company has decided to save itself and put the dead weight on the streets at a time when it is all but impossible to even go out and look for a job. You cant even go inside most places. How are you supposed to find work right now? This company has no loyalty to it's employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Okay money that comes with always feeling inadequate

      Sep 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Pay was okay -met some cool people -if you worked at the corporate office they have different food and food trucks everyday

      Cons

      -Direction is never clear, -Process changes but you are not told or its not made clear what the new process is by ANYONE, -Management LOVES to play favorites and the majority of the people who work there are that extreme fake nice. -They have a big thing about being on stage but the majority of upper management flip out at the drop of a hat. -They have a big rule about not writing anything down, even the script they want you to read off to the customer. -You better not deviate from the script even if the customer does not understand what you said. -If management does not like you, you know it and it is usually for something petty and not job related. -They want you to resolve the issue or get a loan approved during the first interaction but if it takes to long you get something said to you. -They want you to go outside of your job description such as looking up things for a customer that have nothing to do with why they are needing your help but if your search history gets dinged on why you looked up what does the temp of a chicken need to be to know its done you get the 3rd degree. -Asking to many questions is actually frowned upon -Not allowed to have piercings, even the number of earrings on your ears is monitored and limited -You can wear a PRE APPROVED company T-shirt on specific days of the week....they have many T-Shirt styles but not all are approved so I found that....odd. Basically this job made me see why so many prefer big corporate companies over privately owned business if your just going to be a low level worker.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't Be Fooled

      Apr 2, 2019 - Corporate Office in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice pay for recent graduates.

      Cons

      Family owned business and all the covert meanings you can imagine. Sometimes overtly in a very unprofessional manner. Don't be fooled by these reviews. All employees are strongly suggested to write reviews while someone in training observes and one is a family member of the owner. This is a high rate interest loan that caters to the poor who have nowhere else to go. Yes, that means that they provide a service, but at very high cost. Two family members of the owners, in particular, can basically tell anyone there what to do despite the department they are in.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Strong Stomach and questionable morals

      Jan 1, 2020 - Online Agent in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open gym and food bars when new arrivals are trained

      Cons

      Borderline loan sharking and 270-360% loan interest

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Advance Financial Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are always trying to improve our candidate experience and will share your feedback with leadership.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      WORST COMPANY EVER TO WORK FOR

      Sep 25, 2015 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good money, good insurance, super easy, convient locations, potential to move up extremely quick...... nothing else to say.

      Cons

      ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT. they do not care about you or your personal life, they work you to death. tell you to choose money over family. have ridicous standards that no one can meet, had a pretty great bonus structure, they said they were paying too much out in bonuses so they cut it off all together, added a new bonus structure that never paid anything to again nothing. they are constantly chasing the NEWEST thing, they never plan anything, its spur of the moment, fly by the seat of their pants. This new loan they have hiked the interest rate up on customers by almost 10% without telling customers. told employees to only say a few things and to not tell the customer much. they are a bunch of loan sharks who are greedy and the executive management team (CEO, COO, CFO etc) have literally no clue whats really going on since their retail operations team LIES to them to stay out of trouble.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Customer Service Representative shows good values in an industry where values are at best in a grey area.

      Oct 26, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good immediate coworkers. Clear metrics for the most part.

      Cons

      Do not offer consistent overtime. Also, Yes-men are highly favored in management. If you like to voice your opinion and it differs from the ‘hire ups’, you might not stay long. Many hire up managers are puppets unfortunately. Merit is not the metric used to move up. Must make friends with the right people. Although, this is the case in many jobs now days, it is unfortunate that this employer goes by that. Also, it is very difficult to sell a product that you know can negatively affect customers financially in the long run due to high interest rates. I realize that if used correctly the loan that this company offers can be beneficial to some. Unfortunately, most customers do not repay the loan within a short period of time and so eventually file for bankruptcy as a result.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      30 day review

      Mar 16, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people that I have had the joy working with the past month have treated me like family. I have worked in several different stores and everyone has treated me so well. I have been treated with such respect. I love being able to truly help people. This type of customer service is such a different type of retail. I love being here.

      Cons

      I think the safe counting needs to be streamlined. I counted the safe differently in stores, and I really liked the sheet that I had in store 12. It made it so easy to count, and less overwhelming. I wish there had been an actual training module on the computer to do loans, and western union etc.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Forget your family. Advance Financial is LIFE!

      Jan 16, 2014 - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay. Opportunities to move up as soon as your 90 day probational period is up as long, as you have no write ups or issues. Always have opportunities to get overtime/fill shifts and they also have 40 hours of volunteer pay, where you can be scheduled to volunteer with other coworkers around the city and get paid.

      Cons

      Some workers were shady. For example, one coworker (manager) would sign up customers for loans they were not aware of JUST to meet loan quotas for the month. Smh. Also, you can get written up for anything, and I mean ANYTHING, like being a penny over in your drawer. I dont know, but people were getting fired left and right when I worked there. And just forget about your family. One of my coworkers father was dying, so he was crying while at work. The next day his dad was getting worse and he could not leave to see him without a fight from management even though we were over staffed. It was sad. Also, forget about seeing your family, some days they might schedule you to work at the last minute. Getting out of it only meant another fight with management and another threat to your job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Work at Advance Financial? Share Your Experiences

    Advance Financial logo
    or