Air Force Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Air Force Reserve Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 299 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Air Force Reserve CEO Donald Trump
Donald Trump
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great jobs and great benefits(in 31 reviews)

  • "Get to serve while being a civilian(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "sub-par training, not as many opportunities as active duty(in 21 reviews)

  • "One of the cons is Deployments(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Recommended if you are committed to serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Officer 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Outstanding training and opportunities if you take advantage of them. Utilize tuition assistance and take advantage of the free educational opportunities such as Air University OLMP and AFIT.

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Air Force Reserve2019-05-07
  2. "Great Opprotunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Transportation Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Allows you to travel the world, good education benefits, helps develop discipline

    Cons

    May have to spend time away from family

    Air Force Reserve2019-05-02
  3. "Its the military"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Warfare Operations in San Antonio, TX
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity if you are willing to work for it. All the paperwork has to be in order but it is possible to excel in the military. Pay is laid out so you know what you will always make.

    Cons

    Military life. Paperwork is a nightmare, travel vouchers are always incredibly difficult to get done. Everything is covered in layers of processes that are un-needed.

    Advice to Management

    Lean Six Sigma. The military is too caught up in paperwork for just getting simple processes done. Take a note from the corporate world and how they handle travel, pay, and performance reviews.

    Air Force Reserve2019-05-07
  4. "Military"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical and Environmental Systems Specialist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    job security, bonuses, travel, experience, benefits

    Cons

    pay is not the best

    Air Force Reserve2019-04-30
  5. "Weekend Warrior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Serving while still maintaining a full-time job, healthcare premiums great

    Cons

    Not many while in the reserves, sometimes hard to have a work life balance, leadership in the IMA reserves are active duty bases and they tend to forget that you are assigned to them and don’t write you decorations or stay on top of your EPR, regardless of your continued reminders and doing the work for them

    Air Force Reserve2019-03-22
  6. "USAFR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Transportation Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    advancement opportunity, work-life balance, free education, affordable healthcare

    Cons

    have not encountered any cons as of right now

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and the motivational speeches

    Air Force Reserve2019-03-14
  7. "Medic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4NO 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about it.

    Air Force Reserve2019-03-13
  8. "Long days, rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical and Environmental Systems Specialist in Travis AFB, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Overall I've liked my time in the Reserves. When I'm on active orders or training my unit likes to give me time off when I've earned it and I get plenty of leave (2.5 days per month). The job itself is pretty difficult but when there isn't any work to do there isn't a lot of stress to "act busy" like most jobs I've worked.

    Cons

    Work is often hard and we are pretty undermanned in the maintenance field. It's tough work and long hours so if you aren't willing to go through bad days the MX fields are probably not for you.

    Air Force Reserve2019-03-23
  9. "Great Career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - O6 - Air Force - Colonel in Robins AFB, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great people, great jobs and great benefits.

    Cons

    Time away from family.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all you do!

    Air Force Reserve2019-03-02
  10. "It all depends on where you are stationed at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TurboProp Technician in Biloxi, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I love my job, the mission, and the leadership development that is provided in your training. Given you are trained properly by the right support group.

    Cons

    There can be some heavy changes with organizational restructuring which causes experience to leave.

    Air Force Reserve2019-02-27
Found 299 reviews