Air Force Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Air Force Reserve Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
96%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Air Force Reserve President  Donald Trump
Donald Trump
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get great benefits in the Reserves(in 35 reviews)

  • "Get to serve while being a civilian(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "sub-par training, not as many opportunities as active duty(in 21 reviews)

  • "Deployments are hard on family life, but worth it(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Proud to serve with the finest professionals - integrity-service-excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve

    Pros

    I worked with a dedicated team of professionals defending freedom, learning to be a leader, and ultimately finding a sense of purpose higher than myself.

    Cons

    Changes happen slowly; technological advances lag behind the private sector.

    Advice to Management

    Invest less in traditional missions and more in information technology, cyber security, and modern computer systems.

    Air Force Reserve2019-12-27
  2. "My Best Career Move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4N0X1 Aerospace Medical Service Technician in Antioch, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worthwhile Mission, Professional Development, Travel Opportunities, and a Sense of Camaraderie that only occupations involving a lot of "Embrace the suck" circumstances can build. I don't know about other bases, but from working at Beale AFB, CA, they have a policy that for as long as my home-of-record is 50+ miles away from base, my squadron will pay for my hotel lodging expenses for those drill weekend nights. And the hotels that are available for me to stay in are not only of high quality, but also within an easy 30min drive.

    Show More

    Cons

    For those of you that are travel enthusiasts, the national budget highly limits where else you and your squadron may be able to serve and drill for those 2-week annual training tours. If your unit doesn't have the funds to send you to drill in Hawaii, for example, you're staying in home station.

    Advice to Management

    This isn't a criticism of my current leadership, but just a reminder for managers and supervisors: don't forget that your troops need you to inform, instruct, support, and challenge them to be successful, not just for you to pass down orders.

    Air Force Reserve2020-01-03
  3. "Great Experience barring Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Technician in Seymour Johnson AFB, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resume builder, Great benefits, opportunity for more money

    Cons

    Politics, Constant Demand, Orders system

    Air Force Reserve2019-12-12
  4. "Job opportunities and advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Security Forces 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is great room for advancement and career progression. Opportunity for retraining and cross training within career fields. Benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Insurance has to be kept on top of when in orders

    Air Force Reserve2019-11-24
  5. "Medcial Material Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Logistics 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere with great people

    Cons

    Sometimes work can turn into individual projects.

    Air Force Reserve2019-12-01
  6. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Systems Technician in Crestview, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and good benefits

    Cons

    Can affect your civilian career negatively

    Air Force Reserve2019-11-24
  7. "Great Place for Weekends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting opportunities, and it is a magnet for great people

    Cons

    Lots of confusion between organizations

    Air Force Reserve2019-10-25
  8. "Guiding Top-Tier Intelligence Specialists to Fulfill Their Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Education and Training Manager in Fort Meade, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work on two careers in two different worlds at the same time

    Cons

    Sometimes you can't work there all the time

    Air Force Reserve2019-09-26
  9. "Air Force Reserve Firefighter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Firefighter 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and education opportunities.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Air Force Reserve2019-10-04
  10. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrician 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get great benefits in the Reserves. Cheap dental, retirement plan, school, etc

    Cons

    You have to push for what you want. If you want to do something, you have to constantly be on someone about it. If you just sit back and do nothing then you'll get nothing in return.

    Air Force Reserve2019-10-03
Found 321 reviews