Airbnb Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 1,711 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
997 Ratings
Pros
  • "great culture that helps you remain competitive(in 76 reviews)

  • "Delicious and healthy free food(in 62 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The working hours required are hard to balance work life balance(in 70 reviews)

  • "Airbnb's hypergrowth has caused growing pains at times and being an employee means that you're along for that ride and all that comes along with it(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      An Incredible Place to Wok

      Dec 9, 2020 - Compliance Operations Lead in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Airbnb is genuine and honest. Pursuing, not only, the betterment of their employees and customers but the global world. Airbnb aims to create a world where you can belong anywhere.

      Cons

      Airbnb's hypergrowth has caused growing pains at times and being an employee means that you're along for that ride and all that comes along with it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Oct 26, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with a lot of wonderful people, had great benefits, and was able to maintain pretty good work life balance.

      Cons

      A lot of growing pains. High stress. Work life balance takes effort.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working here over a year...

      Nov 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Compensation: pays more than any other tech company (Google, FB, etc) PLUS new cash bonus PLUS can choose to take your equity refreshers (no cliff) in cash. They also bump everyone to above midpoint of the range, which is really kind and close any gaps for pay equity. - Business is doing really well: we're profitable, have money to invest in employees + new ventures, never worried about money. Not even having a round of funding for this far out is amazing. - Great benefits. Free airbnb credits (never expire), lots of PTO and time off, easy parking lot next to the building (they reimburse the price), free lyft credits, top notch food program, etc. - Management is honest about their pitfalls and is honest about fixing it. I appreciate this because they could sweep it under the rug. - We're heavily invested in our infrastructure as a 2019 focus. Even hired a CTO who has decades of infrastructure heavy lifting under his belt. Sweet! - People are really kind and helpful. Fairly rare. There are always going to be politics because people befriend eachother, but honestly you can set up a meeting with a director and they will help you resolve easily. As long as you speak out, people will listen.

      Cons

      Typical growing pains for our size, honestly. For a long time, Airbnb was flat and you could grow your career quickly since the company was small. Now they're trying to add ways to grow your career and make it defined and achievable since there's not low hanging fruit from a flat org, which is good. There's also increased attrition for people who have been here 5-7+ years, but honestly I think fresh people who are excited and new have been better for my team personally. Many managers are also junior, but we've started to hire senior managers - my manager's manager has been doing a great job shaping and changing, which I appreciate.

      Continue reading
      54 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture and business with some growing pains

      Dec 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is to fundamentally do good. I'm in a mid-level senior role, and I see these values being reflected on a day-to-day basis.

      Cons

      As a fast growing company transitioning into maturity, there are reorgs / leadership changes that were sorely needed. The changes are just starting to take place and some growing pains resulting from that, but personally excited for what this company can achieve with the new leadership team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An inspiring and fulfilling place to work!

      Dec 9, 2016 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Genuinely supportive and invested coworkers - Founders are very focused on not stagnating as we grow - Engineers can choose their own team, so you can find a team that suits you in terms of work-life balance / productivity. There's no global company culture of "workaholics" or "slackers", you really can just find the right role for you - Similarly, it's easy to find the kind of eng role you prefer (product, front-end, infra, etc) - Diversity efforts are the best I've ever seen or heard of in a large tech company. Estaff is very committed to increasing our internal diversity and also making sure there are no problems with discrimination of any kind. (Our mission is "belong anywhere" and leadership takes that very very seriously, including internally.) - Leadership is constantly working to fix any employee issues that arise, we take tons of happiness surveys and have lots of communication on how they're planning to improve things that are issues - Basically Airbnb has always seemed very committed to employee happiness, via perks and transparency and inclusion, and it works!

      Cons

      - Sometimes the growing pains can get frustrating and things can move kind of slow, but in my experience it's better than most companies this size - Gym memberships are not included in perks

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Recruiter

      Dec 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and people, inspiring mission.

      Cons

      Growing pains with hyper growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The happiest I've ever been...

      Feb 18, 2015 - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is like a huge family, where everyone is empowered to make an impact. We work together to champion the mission, embrace the adventure, get work done, and to have fun in and outside of work. It is such an inspiring place to me on a daily basis, and I believe so much in the work we are doing. Brian, Nate and Joe are also some of the most inspiring people I have worked for and they genuinely care about personal and professional growth. I can say with confidence that this is the best company I have ever worked for...and I spent a long time at Apple and a recruiting startup. My team is very driven but is also really adamant about work/life balance and my manager supports me in my personal and professional goals. I could probably go on and on and on...but I think you get the idea.

      Cons

      Like all companies that are growing quickly, we have our growing pains...but that's why you have to embrace the adventure and keep on your toes to work here and be successful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A DREAM COME TRUE!!!

      Aug 11, 2015 - Anonymous in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Inspiring vision & mission 2. Meaningful work, we are changing lives everyday with what we do! 3. Our founders walk the talk, they are the living examples of what they preach! 4. Great products, I fall in love working with it everyday! 5. What you do matters regardless of what roles you play and its valued by people 6. Lots of appreciation, pat on the shoulders, high fives, warm hugs! 7. Engaging & hospitable culture - one of our core values, BE A HOST! 8. Fun place to work ❤️ 9. Great learning platform 10. The sky is the limit! 11. Open & communicative environment 12. A lot of heart and soul, human touches in everything we do! 13. Teamwork is evident ( not a make believe) 14. You can be yourself, just the way you are! 15. Mega flexibility at work

      Cons

      1. Young leadership - needs to work on coaching leaders to be more effective in coaching and leading individuals 2. Growing pains, rapid changes and it can happen daily but if you love challenges, this is the place to work! 3. A need to Tighten internal communications between teams to foster clearer directions and stronger partnerships

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Rocket speed sometimes fickle.

      Nov 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employee benefits and perks. A lot of capitol is spent on making the workspace and services top notch with fun environment. Many many projects to work on and if you like varied task and job roles that are in flux, which change quite a bit as your role is better defined this is the place to find your worth. It's quite a swim or sink place. Common exciting "start-up company" things abound which do keep fresh ideas and a bit zaniness in the daily work routine. Over the past few years the leadership has worked to start adding clear goals that can be translated to the team level. There is a measure of accountability. Amazing to work with three founders were are very much involved with the company's direction and mission. Lots of investment in the future, the cash is being burned but for growth and R&D needs.

      Cons

      Lots of growing pains due to being young, and moving very vast. Can seem like ever shifting priorities and sometimes murky communication. Often can be very hard to find critical info and engage key teams/resources due to contention of priorities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High Energy and High Impact Opportunity

      Nov 4, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing energy and motivation across the Company. Clear focus on making a positive impact and doing things differently. Co-workers are very intelligent and dedicated to doing the best work possible. Airbnb takes great care of its employees - more so than any company I've seen to date including Google. The perks and work environment are carefully thought out for what people really want instead of creating a laundry list of things to try to impress people.

      Cons

      Work-life balance is challenging and there are definite growing pains. Many early employees are learning to adjust to the change of being a growing, now mid-size company - some are doing better than others unfortunately. This causes some politics from time to time and leads to some employee turn-over. The average age of employees is in the mid-20s and the social activities definitely cater to younger people. Employees with families and other responsibilities definitely get left out from time to time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Airbnb Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Airbnb? Share Your Experiences

    Airbnb logo
    or