Alaska Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Alaska Airlines Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Alaska Airlines President & CEO Bradley D. Tilden
Bradley D. Tilden
304 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, outdated culture, poor leadership(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is not great in many of the managerial positions(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Alaska Air customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work. People are nice.

    Cons

    co workers can sometime be dramatic

    Alaska Airlines2020-02-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Doesn’t feel like work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance; flexible schedule-flexibility gets better over time with seniority; paid to fly around taking care of people and getting them where they want to go safely; benefits are outstanding

    Cons

    Lonely nights in hotels; first few years on reserve/standby can be challenging, although totally worth it; working all major holidays the first few years most likely

    Continue reading
    Alaska Airlines2020-01-26

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 29, 2020

    Thank you so much for sharing your insights. Being a flight attendant sounds fun to a lot of people but it does have its challenges. And it looks like you made it work! It's that kind of positive attitude that is creating an airline people love. So glad to have you on the team. --David

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company with lots of perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, active in the community, profit sharing, opportunities for growth, fun place to work, amazing travel!

    Cons

    The hiring process to be a flight attendant is long, competitive and grueling!

    Alaska Airlines2020-02-05
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Portland, OR
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smaller family like work environment compared to the big airlines Decent pay Good maternity leave

    Cons

    Merged too fast Don’t spend enough time perfecting things before implementing

    Continue reading
    Alaska Airlines2020-02-03
  5. "Best Airline!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cargo Call Center Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flying benefits Health Dental Vision 401K Corporate is very involved with employees

    Cons

    Customers are always irate Not enough pay for work

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-31
  6. "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great culture

    Cons

    You have to deal with irate passengers

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-25

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 29, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback and for taking care of our customers, even when they may not be in the best of moods. It's what you do to care for our customers in each moment that makes a difference. Keep it up! --David

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of internal promotions from actual hardwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is strictly a job you get because of the benefits package. Aka- flight benefits.

    Cons

    Typical corporate management prioritizing the needs of their shareholders and not taking into account the effects they have on their customer-facing division. The customer service agent role is hard. Not recommended for typical customer service reps. This is the championship of Customer Service. Not only do customers treat you poorly on occasions you also have management breathing down your neck with pre-historic guidelines. The process and procedures are one thing. However, the management style I endured over 5 years was as if no real leadership existed. They love to implement goals for being on-time, but there is literally no personable experience between the people and the goal. If you want to be promoted do not rely on solely being a hard and ethical worker. Your resume will be overlooked for the person who knew someone, who knows someone. Don't waste your time. You have a higher chance of being promoted externally than internally- proven facts from many exhausted Alaska Airlines employees who stopped fighting for an internal position and quit.

    Continue reading
    Alaska Airlines2020-01-24

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 29, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to create an airline people love working for, so it is disappointing to hear about your experiences. If you'd like to share more in detail, please send an email to careers@alaskaair.com with the subject "Glassdoor Review." Thank you. --David

    Continue reading
  8. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Congessional 

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Great hours and the staff always worked diligently

    Cons

    Management was horrible in every station

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-07

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 15, 2020

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We want to create an airline people love, as much as creating one that people love working for. With that in mind, we'd be interested in learning more about your experience. Would you send us an email at careers@alaskaair.com to share more details? And thanks again for being part of our team! - David

    Continue reading
  9. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Computer Draftsman/Designer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits on standby and health

    Cons

    Company wants to be fake liberal but they’re really conservative and nasty

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-22

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 29, 2020

    Hello. We're sorry you feel this way. If you'd like to share more detail about your comments, please send us an email at careers@alaskaair.com with the subject "Glassdoor Review." Thanks. --David

    Continue reading
  10. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great training program that takes place in Seattle.

    Cons

    I had no issues with working there.

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-07

    Alaska Airlines Response

    January 14, 2020

    We're glad you enjoyed the training program. Hope you can make it to Seattle again soon. - David

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 531 reviews