Alaska Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Alaska Airlines Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Alaska Airlines CEO Bradley D. Tilden
Bradley D. Tilden
297 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, outdated culture, poor leadership(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is not great in many of the managerial positions(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Station Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seattle Stations Supervisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company and Leadership! I recommend to all!

    Cons

    no downside for the company

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-12
  2. "Alaska Airlines Lives Their Company Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Safety, sustainability and giving back to the community are some of the reasons I love working for Alaska.

    Cons

    Too many decisions made in our department by working staff rather than leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Make strong decisions you can back and stand with those. Input from employees should not dictate policy changes. Influence, perhaps, but not dictate.

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-06
  3. "A Company That Truly Loves Their Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Heavy customer focus. Employees are hired based on whether they are a good fit for the Alaska customer focused culture. Workforce that works hard to be the best. Executive leadership that actually cares sincerely about employees. Great Performance Based Pay bonus each year. Two weeks of holidays + PTO and flight benefits!

    Cons

    Tight budgets. You learn to make due with what you have much of the time. Extremely fast paced, high pressure, in some areas.

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits, flexible schedules

    Cons

    After several years on the job it was time for me to move on. Alaska has a great public image, but it’s plagued with internal dysfunction and conflict. Fear based, ego driven cowboy culture.

    Advice to Management

    Get with the program!

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-14
  5. "Lovin the Lounges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality Host in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I embody everything that Alaska stands for.;

    Cons

    I don't get to fly as often as I would like.

    Alaska Airlines2019-10-19
  6. "I AM ALASKA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservation Sales Agent in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here is very supportive. Everyone wants to help you be your best. A lot of opportunity to learn different jobs within the company. Great travel benefits. Good bonuses and raises. Work from home.

    Cons

    Can't work more than 100 miles from a call center.

    Advice to Management

    Work to enable call center agents to work anywhere in the US.

    Alaska Airlines2019-10-10
  7. "Worst company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Station Supervisor in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are really hit or miss. They are strict on policy and can be both beneficial and non-beneficial only when it works best for management

    Cons

    Unwilling to evolve to new standards or ideas by its team, and employee handbook only applied when it worked to managements favor. Favors its legacy Alaska employees and neglects the Virgin America brand and its employees.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to adapt, be innovative, listen to your employees ideas and suggestions. Don't enforce change due to the fact "thats how we've done it for 30 years"

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-14
  8. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse culture. I really enjoyed all the trainers and coworkers

    Cons

    The pay for this position is low for the micromanagement of the position

    Alaska Airlines2019-10-07
  9. "Worked for Horizon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Flight benefits were amazing! Flew first class to LA for $20...

    Cons

    Just a number in a sea of flight attendants.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and at least make them feel you care.

    Alaska Airlines2019-10-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and extra pay incentives.

    Cons

    Initial low pay. No pay for training.

    Alaska Airlines2019-09-25
Found 517 reviews