Allen & Overy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Allen & Overy Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Allen & Overy Senior partner Wim Dejonghe
Wim Dejonghe
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Colleagues, quality of work, reputation, training, facilities(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people, good career advencement(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Allen & Overy part-time

    Pros

    good and helpful, and supportive

    Cons

    No cons till today, its fine

    Allen & Overy2019-05-24
  2. "max"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Allen & Overy part-time

    Pros

    easy and handy , helpful staff and mercy

    Cons

    no cons at all very good

    Allen & Overy2019-06-10
  3. "company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy

    Pros

    good compay to work in

    Cons

    Strict tight door culture kin

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2015-07-20
  4. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Trainee 

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    extensive exposure to areas of commercial law

    Cons

    typical work life balance problem

    Allen & Overy2020-01-30

    Allen & Overy Response

    February 3, 2020Senior Manager, Global Recruiting

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a five star review! It is great to hear you are gaining valuable experience with us as a trainee and developing your career as a commercial lawyer.

    Continue reading
  5. "Old-style top law firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Lawyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible access and major deals

    Cons

    Typical law firm drawbacks, certain groups are very transactional, firm is having a hard time evolving with the times.

    Allen & Overy2020-02-07
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Comp Ech 

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic work culture in this place.

    Cons

    None. (extra words to reach word limit)

    Allen & Overy2020-01-23

    Allen & Overy Response

    January 31, 2020Senior Manager, Global Recruiting

    We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Allen & Overy. We pride ourselves in our collaborative work culture, and are happy to hear you are settling in and enjoying your role.

    Continue reading
  7. "Support staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Staff in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot to learn and possibility to grow within the team. And a big plus: everything is taken care of, from a very good lunch and barista to print department. If you want to deliver 5 star service and work with ambitious people, this is where you want to be.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything to complain about..

    Allen & Overy2020-01-21

    Allen & Overy Response

    February 3, 2020Senior Manager, Global Recruiting

    Thank you for the five stars! It means so much coming from someone with 8-10 years experience with us. We pride ourselves in giving our people the opportunity to grow and learn, and happy to hear your experience with this first hand.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Only come so you can put firm on your cv."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Assistant (Receptionist) in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generous sick pay policy. Generous holiday, emergency days, did I mention lots of sick pay Lots of overtime. (To cover colleagues off sick) Great job if you want to coast along and learn little.

    Cons

    Team members off sick all the time. (Because sick pay so good) No progression. Bullying supervisors. Management team always busy doing personal things ( making hair, nail, home maintenance appointments) Management working from home a lot - remember this is a reception team. Promotion based on nepotism. Pay based on service length not competence.

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2020-02-01
  9. "Great place to work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A true global firm Very professional and prestigious Friendly firm with great people at all levels Great location with an amazing restaurant, a fitness room and many others advantages

    Cons

    the workload can sometimes be very heavy

    Allen & Overy2020-01-17

    Allen & Overy Response

    February 3, 2020Senior Manager, Global Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We pride ourselves on having a collaborative, friendly culture at all levels across the network, and are very happy to hear this was your experience in the Paris office.

    Continue reading
  10. "Small marketing team, please expand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    The Nice bosses are nice

    Cons

    Not going from smaller to bigger

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2020-02-01

    Allen & Overy Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Allen & Overy. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with your manager. You didn't leave a location, so we are unable to direct your feedback to the appropriate person. Please don't hesitate to contact your local HR manager for a confidential discussion at your convenience.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 211 reviews