Altera Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Altera Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Altera CEO
231 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Altera"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MTS2 
    Recommends

    I worked at Altera full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with good work life balance

    Cons

    To many re-organizations with new managers every quarter

    Altera2019-08-12
  2. "Great working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I worked at Altera part-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, great environment

    Cons

    none to speak of. Great culture. Good values.

    Altera2019-07-13
  3. "Good Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Altera full-time

    Pros

    Pleasant environment. Lots of veteran employees which generally means company is not doing anything too far wrong. Flexible environment all round. Generally supportive of development

    Cons

    Some aspects of interpersonal management needed work

    Altera2019-03-03
  4. "Layout Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altera

    Pros

    First to node Nice people

    Cons

    Too much politics Management is slow to hot market

    Altera2018-11-30
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Altera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best part about the working environment in PSG is the people working culture, the company has a well-versed history of having employees to be more supportive between each other and you can hardly see work where people point fingers and stop working along. Everyone wants to make things work together as a team.

    Cons

    Tight schedules and room to grow may be lacking a little. Workload can be a lot and may limit the individual from learning something out of the zone

    Advice to Management

    Be more attentive to employee when there is a request to enhance/upgrade lab equipment and tool. It can be frustrating at times to work under such resources and be expected quick fix/results.

    Altera2018-02-01
  6. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable Company. Stable Revenue and not many competitors.

    Cons

    Stagnant company. Not exciting. Wasted talents.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue aggressive goals

    Altera2018-01-28
  7. "One of the best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Altera full-time

    Pros

    Good salary. challenging work and advanced technology.

    Cons

    Low share price, poor project scheduling, lack of people development plan.

    Altera2017-11-27
  8. "Great place for interns to start your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PEY Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altera for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers! I learned a lot during my internship here.

    Cons

    The employee benefits seem to be dropping since Intel's take-over.

    Altera2017-10-20
  9. "Good atmosphere, smart people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PEY Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work on new technologies. Smart engineers to collaborate with. Get to take ownership on new projects that have meaningful impact in the company.

    Cons

    Some managers were not technically proficient. Hours can be long, especially around product release.

    Altera2017-07-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Altera Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Place to Work. Great Colleagues and Smart Engineers

    Cons

    Low Compensation, Large Company, Moves after deliberation

    Advice to Management

    Become Agile

    Altera2017-06-28
Found 425 reviews