American Marketing Association Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

American Marketing Association Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
American Marketing Association CEO Russ Klein
Russ Klein
17 Ratings
  1. "Never a dull moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    Interesting projects and challenging work. Great coworkers. Flexible work schedule. Leadership pushing forward and not afraid to take risks.

    Cons

    Anyone who is uneasy with constant change would not like it here.

    American Marketing Association2020-01-14
  2. "Driven Company & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people! Team building and volunteering - No shortage of training - lots of tenured folks in the office to shadow/ask for advice - They invest a lot of money in giving you the best tools to make you succeed

    Cons

    - It's a grind but you have an invaluable opportunity

    American Marketing Association2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mission Driven Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    A lot of focus is put on the competencies of the AMA and I've seen them reiterated so often that it truly has shaped the culture of the organization in the best possible way. By focusing on infrastructure improvements, the AMA is constantly looking into the future in how to best service their members and therefore keeping us relevant to our core audience. Including members from all teams in interview panels, design sprints and user testing not only introduces AMA employees to aspects of the business they might not have exposure to but also makes all successes more broad than "this team won".

    Cons

    Honestly, nothing that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Don't Bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office space, on which they will provide a lot of focus during your visit/interview experience.

    Cons

    Outdated and increasingly irrelevant model & institution. Huge disconnect between execs and remaining staff. People are often fired. Overall there is a feeling of unease, distrust and frustration among staff, and they do not feel like there is anywhere to turn for help.

    American Marketing Association2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people with diverse backgrounds. Good opportunity for entry level people to gain basic experience. Casual dress code.

    Cons

    Very outdated ways of doing things, inexperienced leadership in many areas who don't communicate well. Pattern of hiring people then letting them go when they realize they didn't know what they needed. No innovation or creativity. Outdated organization in most areas, don't stay too long or you will fall behind.

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2019-01-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Marketing Association part-time

    Pros

    Such great networking and learning opportunities!

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2018-05-01
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent place to grow and thrive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Dynamic vision for future and growth of the organization in light of the changing industry and marketing practices * Incredible offices conveniently located in Loop with amazing views * Passionate CEO who is actively engaged in the organization and supporting the entire team * Diverse group of employees with healthy distribution of employee length of service * Opportunities to be rewarded for successes throughout the year via spot bonuses and salary increases not-tied to annual reviews * Reasonable work expectations leading to strong work-life balance * Most importantly, an incredible volunteer force that fuels the organization with an amazing energy

    Cons

    Standard cons for any organization: * Dealing with change isn't always easy for long-term team members * New team members sometimes are short-sighted in how they promote new ideas and disregard organizational culture * Quarterly goal setting/review process can be somewhat tedious

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2018-04-10
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Hard working but not a friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    It depends on which department you work in for there to be pros.

    Cons

    Most managers/directors don't speak to everyone on their team. Sometimes hierarchy is taken to the max and remaining staff feels the brunt of it (causing a low moral), and only certain employees get raises - most haven't received one in years. Plus the AMA doesn't promote from within.

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2017-07-22
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    Great location near millennium park for summer. Office and people are nice for the most part. Content quality is improving.

    Cons

    Very poor senior leadership. Even recent hires and promotions don't seem to know what they are doing. No sign of experience or competency from some of the key teams other than in Operations who is helping to get things financially stable, all though partially through layoffs. Some people have been promoted to roles they have no knowledge of, and leadership is not fixing any of the issues that have only been amplified over the last couple months by such poor decision making.

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2017-06-20

    American Marketing Association Response

    March 16, 2018Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Glassdoor. Sorry to hear that you are not having a positive experience working at the AMA. It’s no secret that the AMA is a work in progress. Winston Churchill once famously quipped “Never, never, never, never quit.” That’s what we’re doing. We have a vision for the future on how to build the essential community marketers. It’s going to take hard work and perseverance to make it happen. We may even break a few eggs along the way. We realize we don’t have all the right answers from the get-go, and are adjusting and adapting as we go. That’s part of the fun of building something great, of course. It’s been some time since you wrote this review, and I sincerely hope that your opinion has moved from “getting worse” to “getting better.” We’d love to have you rolling up your sleeves alongside us to create a better future. And I am always happy to talk about any concerns you may have. Jeremy Van Ek, Chief Operations Officer

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    +Modern new office in the East Loop, lots of flexibility and room to collaborate, an open snack pantry, amazing views of Chicago, summer concerts and movies in Millennium Park, summer hours +Reasonable benefits that meet my needs and HR who cares about me and makes time for me +2 new leaders on the executive team – smart and getting things done +Invested CEO – I’ve never been in a meeting with him where he wasn’t tuned in, listening, genuinely thinking about different point of views even if he disagrees +Supportive, engaged board and amazing volunteers +Awesome signs of growth and major progress presented in the employee town hall this month +Great place if you like to roll up your sleeves in a variety of work and have a voice in what you’re doing +More and more employees coming in who aren't afraid to debate

    Cons

    -The strategic plan took on too much too soon and it caused some hardships that we are learning from -A few coworkers who care about the AMA, but don’t take the time to step back, listen, and understand before judging. The recent reviews on here are narrow... examples of some pockets of passive aggression that just isn’t helpful -Need ways to get work done more efficiently and technology to make it easier to stay on top of everything

    Continue reading
    American Marketing Association2017-04-21

    American Marketing Association Response

    March 16, 2018Representative

    First, I’m really pleased to hear of the positive feedback. It’s more affirmation from one of what is 89% of our staff who agrees or strongly agrees “the AMA is a place that inspires me to do my best work” according to our most recent quarterly internal survey. Of course we’d love to have 100% of the team feeling that way. This level of positivity and engagement has come only after a lot of teamwork, collaboration, determination, and learning by doing that has gotten us through some difficult times. Times when the percentage of folks who felt inspired to do their best work was a dismal 55%. That was then. This is now. We are now in our second consecutive year of positive growth and I could not be more thrilled with our progress or our prospects. We began this fiscal year with an internal mantra of “Breaking Beautiful” meant to capture the ancient Japanese concept of Kintsugi…a humble mindset of not only accepting and facing our past mistakes, but celebrating them with honor and pride. All the cracks of a broken piece are repaired using a special gold filament to actually call attention to the “breaks” and recognize that those are the places we are now strongest! As for the critical feedback, thank you. It is both constructive and accurate. We did take on too much too fast. We learned the hard way how vital it is to first build organizational capacity through the five enabling strategies: financial, technology, alliances, learning, and talent. We came to terms with the metaphor, “You can’t take a train 100 miles on 99 miles of track!” We’re now in the process of laying the track to take us to a future state about which everyone at the AMA is excited…and “Breaking Beautiful.” Positively, Russ Klein, CEO

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews