Amgen Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Amgen Project Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
20%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Amgen CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Was a great place but somehow management took a turn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of smart and talented staff

    Cons

    Moral was down due to all the layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to what's really going on.

    Amgen2019-08-24
  2. Helpful (12)

    "No seats in Tampa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good values and nice people

    Cons

    The shared services center is designed for collaboration and not effective productivity. Management readily admits that there are not seats for everyone assigned to the center yet everyone is expected to be in the office. Monitors are hard to come by and laptops are too small when working in spreadsheets.

    Advice to Management

    Saving money by moving to Tampa isn’t getting you more bang for you buck. It’s gett you less. Give us the space and tools to do our jobs and we will produce.

    Amgen2019-03-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People - I had the privilege of working with not only intelligent people, but also people who care about their impact on the world Benefits - The benefits program did change and was reduced a bit, it was still one of the best packages available at any company I've worked for Patients - It's not often that you get to work at a place that has real purpose and when you know that you are contributing to saving and... improving lives, there is almost nothing better Diversity - Amgen has always had an incredibly diverse workforce at all levels even before it was popular

    Show More

    Cons

    Career Opportunities Limited - opportunities for career advancement were a bit challenging if one did not want to be a biologist, scientist or technology specialist. It prevented me from being able to explore certain areas any further than where I was, when I left. Dependent on Credentials - from a hiring perspective, the prevalent management culture focused disproportionately on degrees and certifications. While... those are important there were a number of highly qualified people that were passed over as a result.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have generally been committed to diversity at all levels and it shows in hiring and promotions. However, given how good Amgen is traditionally, it might be appropriate to expand the notion of diversity to be more inclusive beyond gender and race. One examples is for recruitment and hiring of non-college degree or certificate only employees and applicants. When I was there I saw a couple of very qualified... individuals that were not considered for a position because of they lacked the specific education, but their experience and ability to problem solve was exceptional. Sadly, those people went to other companies and we lost out on their experiences and perspective. Insight and innovation can come from a multitude of places and when diversity is only about race or gender, it limits the ability for new ideas to develop.

    Show More
    Amgen2019-01-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Politics, dishonesty, fake values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen

    Pros

    Campus and food (but really?)

    Cons

    everything else, arrogant and fake atmosphere above all

    Advice to Management

    Stop PR propaganda and face the fact that Amgen is no more innovative biotech with great pipeline and prospects. It seems management is primary concerned with maximizing (sometimes forcefully) current products, and with political correctness (genre "diversity" is a prime example - come on, some department are so woman-friendly it's ridiculous (and I am a woman!). What happened to hire people based on their... competency? Very fake, arrogant and "behind the back aggressive" organization.

    Show More
    Amgen2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (8)

    "You schmooze you gain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great peers, decent benefits, some balance

    Cons

    Zero growth, meritocracy nonexistent, backbiting and politicking

    Advice to Management

    Replace HR. They only talk to you at the time of hiring and firing. Zero talent review and recognition

    Amgen2018-05-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All the fringe benefits of a Fortune 500

    Cons

    Career Advancement relies heavily on direct manager feedback to quote "I would have to go to the annual promotion meeting and stand on the table and light my hair on fire to demand a raise for a staff member."

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and develop your key talent; more transparency on career advancement with tangible goals, timelines and less focus on a manager's singular opinion. The career advancement process and management accountability in place during my tenure was unfortunately very lacking. Twice departments I was in were given approval to hire a higher level employee (less educated and skilled for a fact) than myself instead of... promoting a dedicated employee like myself from within and backfilling the lower position. It made no sense whatsoever and was highly disparaging from trusting any further advancement.

    Show More
    Amgen2018-01-14
  7. "Contractors Rule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, tons of resources, great working conditions

    Cons

    Being a contractor here makes you a 2nd class citizen. Contractors are ineligible for many services. Aside from that - it s great

    Advice to Management

    Employees care far more about the success of the firm than contractors. You may believe a contractor is less costly, but in the end, you pay for more in indirect costs. Opening access to confidential information to contractors with no allegiance to the firm is highly risky.

    Amgen2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome people and beautiful surroundings.

    Cons

    More work than you can anticipate and lots of rework in many ever-changing situations.

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention and give focus to the people in the organization. The culture is what makes this company good or great.

    Amgen2017-10-17
  9. "Work Place Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good place to work, great benefits, gym etc. enjoy the campus with few basketball courts, and soccer field.

    Cons

    Growth within the Organization is hard as too many are at same level, more emphasis on cost cutting lately, I guess it has become industry norm

    Advice to Management

    Communication

    Amgen2017-06-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Breda
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay Great resources Great facility Great products

    Cons

    Work balance, work keeps on coming short term vision lack of leadership no ownership

    Advice to Management

    site management go back to kindergarten

    Amgen2017-06-01
Found 46 reviews