Amgen Senior Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Amgen Senior Scientist Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Amgen CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amgen was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High caliber staff, significant financial resources, the company was making a significant effort to streamline business processes and develop technology platforms

    Cons

    Amgen was decimating its IT department and outsourcing IT. With IT becoming more and more important to technology companies, Amgen was reducing the quality and support for IT. It was having a negative impact on functions all across the organization including the scientific functions I was a part of.

    Advice to Management

    Start valuing information technology as much as any other science employed at the company.

    Amgen2019-07-26
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits such as 1-week paid for both 4th of July and Christmas weeks

    Cons

    Many layers of management and somewhat bureaucratic

    Amgen2019-06-09
  3. "Great company, wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Data Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is great, compensation is generous, career development is highly valued

    Cons

    Better snacks? All in all i can’t think of anything bad

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Amgen2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Stable place, work life balance

    Cons

    Too many distractions, hard to focus

    Amgen2019-05-26
  5. "Great company with diminishing job security especially in research."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary. Work with smart people. Get to do cutting edge science.

    Cons

    Always the possibility of layoffs.

    Amgen2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, Amenities, Benefits. At the core, Amgen treats their employees very well. Hard work, productivity, and willingness to push the scientific needle is recognized and rewarded. Strong diversity and inclusion culture all the way through senior management.

    Cons

    Pipeline planning , drugs running off patent. The future is looking muddy at best.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course - be smart about the execution of our new drugs and new drug trials.

    Amgen2018-03-20
  7. "senior associate scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Scientist in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefit is good, 401K is10%.

    Cons

    work intensity is high and intense

    Advice to Management

    make a good/clear career path to employee.

    Amgen2017-12-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Go else where"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Low salaries for Bay Area. Layoffs every two years. Under qualified managers.

    Amgen2017-11-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Unfair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefit and good salary; vacation time; they give free stocks; there are good cafe for employees; good landscaping company campus

    Cons

    Promotion is not transparent; they like to pay off none white people, especially recent years. It is the place I felt strong discrimination based on race and sex.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    Amgen2017-12-05
  10. "20 + years at Amgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Great science. Good Colleagues

    Cons

    Difficult to advance. Tedious Development Plan bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond publication and presentation record for indicators of talent.

    Amgen2017-06-25
Found 38 reviews