Amgen Employee Reviews about "decision making"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 of over 3,054 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
1,222 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, life balance and great culture(in 221 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance, Time Off, Culture(in 220 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance is non-existent(in 101 reviews)

  • "Decision-making is slow and inefficient(in 69 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "decision making"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has so much potential to be a great place

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleagues are generally smart, highly motivated and mission-driven Good benefits Solid balance sheet Highly respected in the industry-lots to learn Used to have lots of family friendly activities, but not sure what will happen to them after COVID Management focused on the company stock price and market performance

      Cons

      -Work-life balance is non-existent. I am literally working all.the.time. Vacations are rarely taken. I have noticed that if my manager does not see me logged on and green on a weekend, the following week I get dumped a bunch of projects since apparently I have “capacity”. We have winter and summer shut downs but I have always worked through them so they are not that helpful -There is a LOT of micromanaging - this may also be manager/department specific though. But from my experience micromanaging was very commonplace -Decision-making is slow and inefficient. This goes back to the several layers of micromanagement. -Career progression is tricky. Hard to know how you can really advance to the next level -I have had some bad, mean managers. It is disappointing that they think they can treat others in a derogatory manner and the company is allowing such an environment to prevail

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture Issues

      Jan 20, 2021 - Usability Engineer in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, bonuses, merit increases, stocks

      Cons

      Promoting poor performers. Decision making.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Progresssive company

      Dec 7, 2020 - Senior Access Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Global company, established processes and good IT infrastructure, educated people

      Cons

      Poor work life balance, too many levels and approvals needed for decision making

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. We are committed to creating a positive and supportive environment, and reviews are instrumental to our ability to implement change. If you'd be so kind as to share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud, this will help us develop strategies for future employees. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      Oct 20, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and benefits Goals and mission Facilities

      Cons

      Decision making is slow No career progression Not a diverse company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and would like to learn more about your experience so we can achieve our goal of fostering an inclusive environment where everyone can reach his or her full potential. To share additional details about your experience, please connect with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing the above to our attention. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Aug 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary and benefits, nice culture

      Cons

      Decision making is very slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Hello, thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear your experience at Amgen was positive overall and appreciate your constructive feedback for our team. Please connect with us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com if you’d like to share more about your experience.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 13, 2020 - Compensation Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Treats employees very well

      Cons

      Pace of decision making sometimes slow

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Hello, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear your experience with Amgen has been positive. As a valued member of our team, your feedback is critical to our improvement. Please connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mission Driven and People Oriented Company

      Oct 17, 2019 - Finance Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fast paced yet balanced work life atmosphere with progressive environs and hours flexibility - Supportive colleagues and training modules available for finance division

      Cons

      - Manual processes and creation of processes for newly developed teams - Multiple stakeholders and multi-level decision making engender rounds of reviews and buy-ins

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bureaucratic with good benefits/perks

      Sep 9, 2019 - Senior Marketing Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Whole company shuts down for 1 week during 4th of july and christmas Biotech pays well Fellow employees are intelligent and well meaning Great campus in Thousand Oaks

      Cons

      Very poor decision making with senior leadership - lack of leadership courage to do anything truly progressive. Status quo is a heavy anchor.

      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      All that glitters...

      Aug 18, 2019 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location. Awesome relocation package. Good pay package.

      Cons

      Top-down culture. Lack of decision making. Very common to see promotions NOT based on experience or skills required for the job.

      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Finance Senior Manager

      Nov 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      collaborative culture, intelligent people, beautiful campus

      Cons

      decisions are made collaboratively = slow decision making

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Amgen Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Amgen? Share Your Experiences

    Amgen logo
    or