Amgen Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 2 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
957 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Work culture, work life balance, opportunity to work with great teams and minds, a true leader in healthcare

    Cons

    Not one I can think of - great place to work!

    Amgen Response

    March 30, 2020Social Media Manager

    We are thrilled that you see Amgen as a great place to work with amazing talent. Thank you for the review!

  2. "Best place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, work life balance, benefits, opportunity to grow

    Cons

    No cons as such to detail here.

    Amgen Response

    November 30, 2020Social Media Manager

    As a valued member of our team, we appreciate your input and are happy to hear about your positive experience at Amgen. Please know, you can always reach out to us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more. Thank you!


  3. "good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance, good exposure

    Cons

    small salary increments, some beauracracy

  4. "N/A"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Medical Communications in Thousand Oaks, CA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Lots of work, but good work life balance

    Cons

    At times, can be a lot of work

    Amgen Response

    December 22, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. If there are additional details you would like to share about your experience, please reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  5. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, nice campus.

    Cons

    Lack of Work life balance

    Amgen Response

    January 4, 2021Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. If there are additional details you would like to share about your experience, please reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  6. "Progresssive company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Access Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Global company, established processes and good IT infrastructure, educated people

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, too many levels and approvals needed for decision making

    Continue reading

    Amgen Response

    December 8, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are committed to creating a positive and supportive environment, and reviews are instrumental to our ability to implement change. If you'd be so kind as to share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud, this will help us develop strategies for future employees. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Soul sucking company with poor culture. Stay away from this company."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits that’s all

    Cons

    Negative work environment, clueless management, lacks core values, bullying management, poor work-life balance, poor employee morale, burnout, unattainable expectations, rude in supportive employees

    Continue reading

    Amgen Response

    December 30, 2020Social Media Manager

    We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and take your concerns very seriously. It is our sincere goal to foster a positive workspace that upholds the highest degree of professionalism at every level, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. While you've provided a lot of detail, we encourage you to share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud so we can prevent similar feelings in the future. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  8. "Good Salary, Questionable Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Bio-pharmaceutical Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, PTO, Paid Shutdown and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Toxic management culture, colleagues can be cut throat and manipulative

    Continue reading

    Amgen Response

    November 20, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We are committed to creating a positive and welcoming environment, and reviews are instrumental to our ability to implement change. If you'd be so kind as to share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud, we will do all we can to prevent these feelings in the future. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  9. "Average"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Uxbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Early finish on a Friday - 3pm - Good name to have on your CV - Good salary

    Cons

    - Long hours and No work/life balance - have to be available to have meetings with HQ in Thousand Oaks at 10pm in the evening but still be available at 8.30am the next day. - You will never see any of the senior management unless it is something really important as they lock themselves in their cosy offices all day - Not entirely sure what HR actually do as you never see or hear from them - All decisions are made in the US so you need to really be based there to further your career. - The office is like a huge library, everyone is afraid to make any noise. - Canteen menu is very limited - Never saw any D&I initiatives - the company didn't do anything in the UK for Black History Month or even Pride - Lots of long term employees who are just waiting for retirement or a time when they can cash in their shares, people have been doing the same role for 6 years plus and not showing any development - this can't be healthy long term for the future of the company.

    Continue reading

    Amgen Response

    November 20, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and take your concerns seriously. It is our sincere goal to foster an inclusive environment where every staff member can thrive professionally and personally, and reviews are instrumental to our ability to implement change. While you've provided a great amount of detail, we encourage you to write to us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  10. "Great Company"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Associate 

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and rewards

    Cons

    Difficult to have a good work life balance

    Amgen Response

    December 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. It is our sincere goal to foster an environment where everyone can thrive professionally and personally, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. If there's anything else you'd like to share about your experience, please write to amgen@careers.pure.cloud so we can prevent similar feelings in the future. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback

Viewing 1 - 10 of 313 English Reviews