Amgen Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 320 of over 3,054 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
1,222 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, life balance and great culture(in 221 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance, Time Off, Culture(in 220 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance is non-existent(in 101 reviews)

  • "Decision-making is slow and inefficient(in 69 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best place to work

      Nov 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, work life balance, benefits, opportunity to grow

      Cons

      No cons as such to detail here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      As a valued member of our team, we appreciate your input and are happy to hear about your positive experience at Amgen. Please know, you can always reach out to us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more. Thank you!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good company to work for

      Oct 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work life balance, good exposure

      Cons

      small salary increments, some beauracracy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has so much potential to be a great place

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleagues are generally smart, highly motivated and mission-driven Good benefits Solid balance sheet Highly respected in the industry-lots to learn Used to have lots of family friendly activities, but not sure what will happen to them after COVID Management focused on the company stock price and market performance

      Cons

      -Work-life balance is non-existent. I am literally working all.the.time. Vacations are rarely taken. I have noticed that if my manager does not see me logged on and green on a weekend, the following week I get dumped a bunch of projects since apparently I have “capacity”. We have winter and summer shut downs but I have always worked through them so they are not that helpful -There is a LOT of micromanaging - this may also be manager/department specific though. But from my experience micromanaging was very commonplace -Decision-making is slow and inefficient. This goes back to the several layers of micromanagement. -Career progression is tricky. Hard to know how you can really advance to the next level -I have had some bad, mean managers. It is disappointing that they think they can treat others in a derogatory manner and the company is allowing such an environment to prevail

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amgen Engineer

      Jan 17, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance, Time Off, Culture

      Cons

      Not all managers embrace culture in earnest

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We value your input and we are happy to hear about your positive experience. Please know you can always reach us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for your review!

    5. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Work life balance

      Jan 24, 2021 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work-life balance and good benefits

      Cons

      Pay is low compare to other company

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your contributions to our internship program. At Amgen, it is our sincere goal to provide our interns with valuable opportunities that help develop their careers. Reviews like yours are instrumental in our ability to implement change. Please know, you are always encouraged to share your amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Thank you again for your review!

    6. 3.0
      Current Contractor

      Good for Amgen FTE's

      Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture and good work/life balance and very nice people

      Cons

      in you are contractor, you may end up not even having PTO or sick leave

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is our goal to create an environment where our team members feel supported and heard. We value your feedback and please know that all reviews are taken into consideration when strategizing for the future. Please know, you are always welcome to share any further details with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Large company in Thousand Oaks

      Jan 4, 2021 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, work-life balance and people. Good manager training.

      Cons

      Large company politics and frequent re-organization

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. If there are additional details you would like to share about your experience, please reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company

      Jan 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, helpful management team, good for overall management experience

      Cons

      Little less scope for development

      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. We value your input and please know that all feedback is taken into consideration when planning for the future. Please know, you are always welcome to share any further details with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great science!

      Jan 10, 2021 - Senior Associate Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid research being done, wonderful colleagues

      Cons

      Work life balance may be difficult to achieve

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are happy to hear about your positive experience. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share any details about your experience at Amgen.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to work

      Jan 2, 2021 - Research Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work, nice campus.

      Cons

      Lack of Work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. If there are additional details you would like to share about your experience, please reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 320 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Amgen Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Amgen? Share Your Experiences

    Amgen logo
    or