Anadarko Petroleum Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Anadarko Petroleum President & CEO R. A. Walker (no image)
R. A. Walker
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great workplace, good work life balance(in 54 reviews)

  • "Schedule- You can work a 9/80 schedule--(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some of the upper management and politics(in 14 reviews)

  • "While Anadarko is very modern in terms of Oil and Gas there are still ways it would lag behind more software-oriented companies(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work and make lasting relationships!

      23 Dec 2020 - Oil Rig Operator in Greeley, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quiet, private/secluded workplace away from prying eyes. I loved my job at Anadarko! The relationships I made there (and one in particular) changed my life forever, and truly set me on a completely different course than I ever anticipated. I loved that most of what I did there was outside, and it gave me an excuse to get out and get some fresh air, even in the middle of the night. They gave me a company vehicle to drive, and it really came in handy when I needed to haul personal items with or for my family. I pretty much had free reign of the property, and there was enough room on site to store personal items, as well. Even though some things came up in my personal life that led to my separation there, I don’t have anything but good memories of my time at Anadarko. I kind of regret the way I behaved my last day on the job, and I left some things behind that other people ended up having to clean up in my absence (literally and figuratively). It was kind of embarrassing, but it’s like no real big deal, I’m sure. For now, I’m staying busy and still working with some petroleum products. One day, I’m sure that that last day there will just be an old memory, and I can probably go back to Anadarko (now Oxy), if I ever move back to Colorado from my current residence in Wisconsin. I will be sure to bring my updated resume and hope for the best. I can’t wait to be back there, even though I hear that they removed my favorite oil batteries.

      Cons

      None, really, except that the narrow hatches on the oil batteries can make it a bit difficult to maneuver for some purposes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent

      11 Jan 2021 - Operations Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and benefits. They rewards hard work and value their employees.

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Loved the company

      13 Dec 2020 - Master Electrician/E&I Tech in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just a great place to work. Very enjoyable

      Cons

      The company was bought out by occidental petroleum.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      poor

      11 Dec 2020 - Team Leader in Jasper, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      was a good company at one time

      Cons

      let illegal things go on too long

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      APC was a great company to work for

      29 Oct 2020 - Engineering Technician II in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      APC was a great company to work for

      Cons

      Was purchased by Occidental Corp

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      No longer around

      23 Sep 2020 - Natural Gas Trader in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was a good place to work

      Cons

      They sold out to Occidental Petroleum

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Company overall

      22 Apr 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company was amazing to work for. It was large but felt like a family. Please genuinely cared about others and their work. They had some of the best over all benefits in the industry.

      Cons

      The company was just plagued with lawsuits and downturns. I think the biggest turning point was forcing the Midland office relocation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent Company

      7 Jun 2020 - Staff Tax Analyst in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent pay and benefits and location

      Cons

      Was bought out by another company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A great company... until it wasn't

      14 May 2020 - IT Manager in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful Culture Good People Balanced Innovation Great office Perks Excellent home town community

      Cons

      Company started to slide when focus changed from Exploration to short cycle monetization.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best company in the industry

      28 Apr 2020 - Operations Manager in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, compensation, employees, campus, location

      Cons

      It was ruined by Oxy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 357 Reviews

    Work at Anadarko Petroleum? Share Your Experiences

    Anadarko Petroleum logo
    or