Aptify Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 10 Sep 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Aptify CEO JP Guilbault (no image)
JP Guilbault
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Aptify has flexibility and is sensitive to employee work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "Nice people, good benefits like unlimited PTO and good 401K matching(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is minimal, even if it seems otherwise at first(in 6 reviews)

  • "Based on project timelines and workload sometime long hours are required(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Company is going downhill so quick"

    1.0
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aptify

    Pros

    Work from home is a great policy so people are not held accountable for their responsibilities ; ) nothing else

    Cons

    Everything is con. Product is so out of date. Technologies are old. Managers are worst. HR also worse. Salary is avg Long hours are expected. Then you should lie to clients for making targets. There are no ethics with managers anymore

    Continue reading
    Aptify2017-09-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Poorly run company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aptify full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefits like unlimited PTO and good 401K matching.

    Cons

    Hypocritical management. Male-chauvinistic place. Long hours.

    Aptify2017-04-09

    Aptify Response

    April 24, 2017Director, Culture and People

    I am glad to hear positive reviews regarding the people and benefits here at Aptify. We consistently hear that the team is the best part of working at Aptify! While there are projects that may require long hours, we hope our liberal leave and work from home policies help our team members achieve balance. I am disappointed to hear that you feel the actions of management are hypocritical and/or chauvinistic. Without more details it is difficult to address your specific concerns, but as the Director of Culture & People, it is my goal to promote a working environment that is a fair, comfortable and engaging place to be for all of our team members. I encourage you to please contact me directly at Julia.lang@aptify.com to address these concerns in more detail.

  3. "Flexible work environment; building strong culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aptify full-time

    Pros

    Company allows most people to set their own work schedule as long as they get their job completed. Opportunity to progress within Company Focused on pushing more and more decision making to all levels within the Company

    Cons

    Based on project timelines and workload sometime long hours are required. This is not unusual for growing companies.

    Continue reading
    Aptify2015-06-29

    Aptify Response

    June 29, 2015CEO

    I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback here. The first comment you made about self-set schedules and our reliance upon Core Values to model behavior is excellent to hear. That is exactly what we want - few rules with really strong values that bind us together. I also agree with your comment that the workload and project timelines do drive crazy hours at times. We want to learn from these experiences and find ways to reduce this as much as possible. That being said, I also know that particularly with go-lives of clients and other "peaks and valleys" that exist in our business model, it is challenging to really smooth this out. In those instances, I think it is super important that team leaders and team members are completely committed to being #accountable to themselves and take some time off to recover. One of the reasons we instituted Unlimited Personal Time Off was to eliminate the psychological burden of accounting for "time off" and asserting that we trust our team and want folks to take time off when they need it. I think one of the biggest reasons for burn-out is that team members do NOT take enough time off, particularly after periods of massive load. I don't know if that might have been your experience, but would encourage you to share your thoughts with me or your direct team lead on ways we can improve this. Thanks again for your great feedback! -Amith

  4. "Established business with entrepreneurial opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aptify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Professional environment with collegial approach to problem-solving - Management welcomes people to try out new ideas - Work with a wide range of clients with interesting missions

    Cons

    - Can be occasional long hours as can happen with smaller company where people wear many hats (a pro for those who like to wear many hats) - Pace of frequent change can feel overwhelming

    Continue reading
    Aptify2015-06-21

    Aptify Response

    June 29, 2015CEO

    Thanks for the feedback. I think that our challenge around long hours has to do with size, with growth, and also in some cases with our business model with large project go-lives (and other milestones). That said, I believe we can get way better at this not only through growing the team, but also by sharing examples on how we can better anticipate challenges and peak work cycles. I think we've had some opportunity to improve this in the past as we have grown to over 250 team members globally. At the same time, size doesn't fix all problems and while we plan to grow considerably in the coming years, we need to get smarter about how we plan and execute on projects across the company globally. One of the reasons we embrace a Core Value of #Innovative, is because we want to look for better ways to solve problems, every day. I believe that the team members, collectively, hold the answers to many of these questions and we need to innovate around ways to get more feedback, more clearly, and more consistently. One of the greatest things about Glassdoor is that it provides a completely transparent and anonymous way to share and receive such ideas. I would encourage you and everyone to also know that I'm always here to listen, that in fact is the most important part of my job, and you can reach me on my cell at +1-202-368-0533 or via email at amith.nagarajan@aptify.com at any time if you would like to share ideas to improve. I know there are many other ways to provide thoughts within the company, but I always love hearing from the team directly too. Thanks, -Amith

  5. Helpful (1)

    "AMS consulting job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aptify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly colleagues, coffee, free drinks, and nice location.

    Cons

    expected long hours, traveling often due to consulting nature.

    Aptify2014-01-07

    Aptify Response

    June 13, 2015CEO

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your time as an Aptify team member. I agree that travel and the work hours can sometimes be a bear. We are focused on driving relationships with clients and so travel at times is really key since online tools can't replace the opportunity to get to know people in person and our clients are distributed globally. What we are doing is improving our approach to project allocation to increase autonomy so that team members have more personal control over how tasks and projects get assigned. We think this will help reduce task switching and align projects/locations to better serve our team member's goals. Of course, at times things get crazy in this business, particularly when new clients are nearing a go-live, and we are always looking for ways to improve how we balance the impact this has on team members with our accountability to our clients. If you have any feedback that you'd like to share with me directly I would appreciate hearing it via amith.nagarajan@aptify.com or give me a ring at 202-368-0533 -Amith

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Aptify - Grow. Learn. Inspire"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aptify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great culture, good hard working team members, aligned Core Values, open and approachable Sr. Mgmt., casual dress code

    Cons

    sometimes long hours, slight frequency in reorganization with title changes

    Aptify2013-07-05

    Aptify Response

    June 13, 2015CEO

    Thanks for the review, it is great to hear you're having a positive experience at Aptify! I agree that the hours can be long at times in most positions and that we've been tweaking our organizations model, roles, titles, and approach pretty regularly over the last several years. The thing is that we need to be able to adjust through experimentation in order to build the best culture and grow. We've roughly doubled the team size to > 250 folks in the past 3 years and in doing this we've needed to try out different ideas. If you have any suggestions on how to best improve or if you think any of the changes we are making are a mistake, please do raise your voice and reach out - either anonymously if you prefer through our regular internal surveys (which are completely anonymous) or call me at 202-368-0533, or email me at amith.nagarajan@aptify.com Thanks! -Amith

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews