Arista Networks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Arista Networks Reviews

Updated 2 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks President and CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
217 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good learning curve. Most of testing is automated that males life easier as a developer

    Cons

    Nothing to share right now.

    Arista Networks2020-01-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to work Nice management Some managers needs to improve."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly environment Good pay Bonuses are also there Cultural activities, lunch parties, day outings are provided by company time to time Work life is balanced here

    Cons

    If your team is good then everything is good. If you work under a manager who compare a developer with himself or herself then you can not grow. Depends on person to person. It's my bad experience that's why sharing. Or else i couldn't find any cons..

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2020-03-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Arista gives you good work life balance. Allows you to do enough work from home when needed. Decent place for an average software engineer.

    Cons

    If you have the capability to clear interview at company below or any big names like MS, amazon etc then you are getting working at wrong place. Salary and bonus here is not based on levels and mostly depends on how manager perceive you.

    Arista Networks2020-02-14
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Management really needs to listen up!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time

    Pros

    Work & learning is the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Management is not listening.

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Time for some reality check folks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are reading this, you must have read the recent flurry of negative reviews as well here!!! I felt, it is high time I put some facts in front to make sure the carefully constructed scaffolding of lies gets a realistic look. I am a manager at Arista Networks, while I don't speak on behalf of the company the following are my personal observations. I joined Arista 6+ years back and has become manager for more than two years, so I have both individual contributor perspective and as a manager as well. Since IPO, the company has paid bonus every single year. It is absolute sham and cowardly to say the bonus wasn't paid. The bonus percentages are above industry average standards specially for the folks in the experience range of < 4 years to the tune of 30-40% of the base. You must have done awfully wrong in performance to not receive any bonus and these folks would be < 5 folks among the 200+ s/w engineers. Performance and performance alone is the criteria. I have a suspicion that it is one of those awful non performers who keep throwing the vitriol here. Every company has different mix of components in their total compensation and Arista like any growth bound company (say Google) throws a good amount of RSUs in to the mix. Without a single exception, RSUs have always been refreshed all along if the vesting has fallen below the target of their level of performance. The general theme behind all the cribbing here seems to be based on the base salary component alone and unfortunately that is not apple to apple comparison as bonus and RSUs to cost a lot and they are cost to company and benefits for the employee. My advice to the folks who keep coming here in venting out their frustration is that, only if you had paid half the attention to your performance, it would have been a completely different experience for you with the company which I am sure 98% of the employees would agree. For the folks who are reading this and are looking at Arista as a prospective employer, fear not. If you just focus on the work rest will be taken care off. You won't get to read the silent majority which is quite happy and chugging along, for only the the 2% of the awful performers reviews you get to read. If you are discerning enough you will realize that it is basic common sense that the company can't do well by ill serving their employee and Arista is doing very well :)

    Cons

    The comp mix can be higher in base compared to stock, specially for the less experienced folks.

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Winners always Win"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It seems like a war of words and who writes better. Wish that it was with the same intent. But, alas, it isn’t. Winners never quit and quitters never win and that is the same with each individual across all companies. Get recognized for your contribution to the business of the company by innovation, dedication and devotion and you will not have an iota to think in the negative, primarily because you are recognized and compensated for your work. Arista values it’s employees and has ensured rewards and recognition is given where due. Of course, for those who rant out in adverse, they are not rewarded or recognized as they are the under performers and have all the time on earth to spread negativism. In the last article, the writer does not know the difference between ‘pro’s and cons’ and here I fail to understand how much of coding he really has done and did he earn the salary for the last month. If his bonus was upwards in the seven digits he would never have written what he did. If it’s lesser to nil, he should know whether to stay and improve or just move out. Maybe he is incompetent in getting a good job elsewhere.

    Cons

    Arista by far, is the most tolerant company ever heard off. At times they forget to throw out garbage and let the rodents breed and grow.

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2019-10-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Helpful environment to work in. Work life balance can be easily maintained.

    Cons

    Compensation and benefits are not as much as provided by other similar companies

    Arista Networks2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Slow clap for the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard to find day by day

    Cons

    IMO the current main issues in Arista India are: 1. Continued ignorance/denial by India exec team towards the concerns of SEs w.r.t lower CTC, stagnated professional growth.   - and the resulting high attrition (even of strong performers) in India 2. Failure to attract/retain lateral experienced hires   - not sure how many folks can currently say good things about Arista to their friends. India exec team (and now I think probably US execs as well) are in total disconnect/denial mode about actual concerns of India employees. When everyone was expecting some positive change, the exec team has, IMO, goofed up big time by hiring an HR exec in the US to solve the above issues in India. How could some HR located in the US know the ground reality in India and fix it? WhatsApp? A very clear message was delivered to all India employees by the exec team (via the HR exec) not to crib about salary, career stagnation, etc, etc. IMO, the recent HR talk was an insult/slap to the intellect of the India employees who have genuine concerns about growth (professional and CTC). And delivery of that message is not possible without the blessing of the broader exec team. On a side note, why hire a fat ticket HR exec in the US to deliver that message and further demotivate folks here in India? We already have a few 'expert' execs specialized to do the exact same. Also, the Areview system has become a tool to manipulate the rankings/feedback - to twist it as per the liking of the exec team. Improvement/-ve feedback given by employees to the exec team's pets is either not conveyed to / exec team is ok with inaction w.r.t. the -ve feedback given to their pets. Areview feedback and ranking system has deteriorated into an exec-manipulated farce in India. If nothing else, I am convinced now that IITs and IISCs produce very pathetic 'leaders' - who can motivate the team or become someone to look up to.

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2019-10-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Work Culture, High amount of Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Arista has an amazing work culture. The management and peer group is amazing and friendly, and they'll always help you when in need. You are the owner of your project, and you will be given a lot of responsibility to handle the project.

    Cons

    The career growth is less as there is a flat hierarchy. The review process is not really transparent.

    Arista Networks2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good technology, nothing more to say.

    Cons

    1. The HRs or the company organized a family day, such a disgusting and awkward arrangements that they kept a Marrie gold biscuits for refreshment. 2. Absolutely no recognization, Employees in India are getting peanut as yearly reward. Note, not even peanut(s). 3. If the share price raises, they consider that yearly CTC raise. 4. HRs are very very poor. 5. And outings, goodies are very poor, they give goodies like, Cofee Mug, cap, tshirts (unixes), yearly once :) 6. Linguistic influence, they consider everyone will know Hindi.

    Continue reading
    Arista Networks2019-09-04
Found 314 reviews