Army Family and MWR Programs Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated 25 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Working with children, co-workers, trainings(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, can be fun and energetic if working in a child based center, good upward mobility when promotions are offered in house first(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, a lot of cleaning and responsibilities doesn’t reflect pay(in 8 reviews)

  • "It's a flex position so hours will vary and there are no benefits(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "CYS"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CYPA in Stuttgart
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Army Family and MWR Programs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with children, co-workers, trainings

    Cons

    Flex hours with no benefits, understaffed, high turnover, low pay

    Continue reading
    Army Family and MWR Programs2019-02-25
  2. "CYPA Flex"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Child and Youth Program Assistant-Flex in Fort Carson, CO

    I have been working at Army Family and MWR Programs for less than a year

    Pros

    As a flex employee you get the opportunity to work in different environments. A good training manager will make sure you observe different age groups before you get put in ratio. The training you receive is helpful and informative. Working with children can be rewarding. I have found most of the other program assistants to be friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    As a flex employee you get no benefits. They make sure you don’t work more than 39 hours a week. You wear a certain color based on where you are in the hiring process-reds need to be under direct supervision, greens have been vetted, and blues are site leads. When children misbehave, you can feel as if you have no support and are powerless to really do anything. There are a lot of rules and regulations you must follow and you are video recorded while at work. The turnover rate for program assistants is high.

    Continue reading
    Army Family and MWR Programs2018-07-29
  3. "Recreation Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Recreation Assistant in Fort Bragg, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Army Family and MWR Programs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    No benefits for flex position.

    Army Family and MWR Programs2017-11-15
  4. "Clerk"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Rucker, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Army Family and MWR Programs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was great, and my manager was great. I served some of the best customers and worked with some of the best people

    Cons

    The pay is low No hours No benefits No opportunity for promotion Work most weekends

    Continue reading
    Army Family and MWR Programs2016-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent for a college student"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recreation Assistant 

    I worked at Army Family and MWR Programs for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked the front desk at a gym and it's a fairly easy job. You sign people in, check out equipment, handle locker rentals and event registrations, wipe down equipment, and wash towels. It's a relaxed job and I could get plenty of studying done in downtime.

    Cons

    Slightly above minimum wage. It's a flex position so hours will vary and there are no benefits. Managers/supervisors sometimes seem to play favorites.

    Continue reading
    Army Family and MWR Programs2016-02-08
  6. "Working at MWR as a lifeguard is the easiest job ever."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lifeguard in Fort Leonard Wood, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Army Family and MWR Programs

    Pros

    Flexible hours, time off whenever you need it, time to work out on breaks

    Cons

    part time, no one is full time so no benefits

    Army Family and MWR Programs2015-02-24
  7. "Okay job, terrible management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Fort Stewart, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Army Family and MWR Programs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support military families, learn DOD terminology and paperwork (good skill for future careers), Army spouse preference for hires.

    Cons

    Management has been around for decades, very "old school" thinking, doesn't understand modern technology. You will probably not be appreciated or recognized for the good things you do, even if it's explicitly listed in various ICE comments. Poor pay, no benefits for flex employees.

    Continue reading
    Army Family and MWR Programs2014-02-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews