Art Van Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Art Van Furniture Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 274 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
Jim Ferguson
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pleasant space, some down time, good benefits if you're there 3 months or longer to get them(in 17 reviews)

  • "Working with great people at different locations(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is retail so can be long hours at times(in 27 reviews)

  • "Upper management is constantly harassing sales people to hound customers when we’re meant to have a relaxed atmosphere and assist customers as needed(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It varies from store to store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outlet Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, work life balance for management

    Cons

    Every store seems to be run differently. There is no accountability. Wrong people in the wrong positions.

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-08-14
  2. "Good company with lots of potentials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Product 

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent discounts, benefits and good pay. Art Van is a forward-looking company.

    Cons

    It was a long drive across Detroit

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-07-11
  3. "Company no longer cares about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Portage, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a manager I had some scheduling flexibility.

    Cons

    Work every weekend and every holiday except Christmas(yes Easter and Thanksgiving) new ownership doesn’t care about the people.

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-07-30
  4. "Management is less than to be desired."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture

    Pros

    The colleagues are great minus most of the old Rothman employees.

    Cons

    The commission is almost always paid wrong and management is never on the same page.

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-06-25
  5. "the staff is friendly, training is good, casual dress code."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Canton, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The commission was ok I made good money

    Cons

    Missing my daughter growing up

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-06-06
  6. "Up and down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Owosso, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Motivation from company was great.

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, work Thanksgiving, open too late

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-06-04
  7. "Liked my store, but not the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Furnishings Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The store I worked in was very tight knit- we were like a family. I genuinely enjoyed working there most days, and did have fun helping customers furnish/refurnish their homes. The pay was nice when I started- $10.88 an hour plus commission, which resulted in an average monthly take home of about 3500 per month most months. Over my three years there, that number fluctuated.

    Cons

    From speaking with employees/managers/customers from other stores, I was given the impression that most stores are very pushy to make the sale, steal deals from other stores/ coworkers, and had a very hostile work environment. There seemed at times a corporate push on store management to "close every deal!", And at the same time a "the sale is the sale" attitude. It led to some very unfair house advantages when it came to pay. Also, if anything went wrong with an order after the customer left the store, they would usually get a discount from their purchase which would result in you not getting paid for the sale even if it was out of your control.

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-06-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people work there

    Cons

    Self obsorbed people run it and they spy on you all the time

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-05-30
  9. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Warren, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody is very friendly where I work. The culture here is relaxed but hard working. My co-workers go the extra mile to help others out. Has good benefits and 401K.

    Cons

    Headquarters is in 3 separate buildings and each department seems to work in their own silo. I don't see a lot of collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great product lousy upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pure Sleep Manager in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In many store you set your hours. Medical insurance is great.

    Cons

    Pay- During interview process they will tell you that the average salary is 65k-75k in reality it 50-60k if you are good average is about 30-45. They treat the employees like garbage and don’t ask our opinion on anything requiring us to work every day except Christmas and who knows they may decide to be open on Christmas in the future

    Continue reading
    Art Van Furniture2019-05-22
Found 274 reviews