Asbury Communities Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 of over 118 reviews

3.4
44%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Asbury Communities President and CEO Doug Leidig (no image)
Doug Leidig
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "great pay(in 4 reviews)

  • "I love working at Asbury Methodist Village(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons to share about Asbury Communities(in 6 reviews)

  • "short staffed(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great place to work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Voice Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good place to work. Need to agile and new challenges. Great team and leadership.

      Cons

      Like most companies especially not for profit, we continue to wear many hats to keep our selves organized.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for recognizing our great teams and leadership. Associate engagement and passion is a crucial part of our success and we are proud to be a Great Place to Work-certified organization for the fourth year in a row. We know that working not-for-profit can create the need to wear many hats, but we are incredibly grateful to you and your colleagues for "doing all the good you can" for those we serve every day.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible place to work

      Sep 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Erie, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents and frontline employees are great. The physical surroundings are beautiful.

      Cons

      Senior leadership at corporate does not care about employees. They do not follow their own policies and they shamelessly lie to your face. Leadership on the ground at the Springhill location in Erie is even worse. They play favorites and are racist.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      As part of our Mission to “do all the good we can,” we hold to a strong set of guiding principles including higher purpose, trust, and accountability – each of which are a cornerstones of the sacred work we do. At Asbury, we expect and demand a respectful workplace where differences are valued. Asbury leadership, across all levels and communities, cares deeply about associates and recognizes them as a valued partner in providing excellent care to the residents we serve. All reported concerns are treated seriously and are fully investigated. If you would like to share with us specifics related to your experience, please contact us at (301) 250-2100 or Feedback@Asbury.org.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s a job

      Sep 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The health benefits are good and most of the employees are nice

      Cons

      Some supervisors could care less about burnout, toxic positivity, superiors who hardly know how to do their own jobs nevermind supervise people effectively, and blatantly unbalanced work loads.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recognizing our health benefits and outstanding associates. It has been a difficult 18 months for those working in senior living and healthcare fields. We take great pride in the hopeful mindset that we cast for associates as we build our future together. Asbury remains a purpose-driven workplace that is dedicated to listening to those closest to the process and understanding their experiences. As such, we would appreciate an opportunity to hear more from you. Please reach to Human Resources at (301) 250-2100 or Feedback@Asbury.org.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Asbury

      Aug 23, 2021 - Dining Room Attendant in Gaithersburg, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good high school job

      Cons

      Dining room had Bad management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for your review and rating. You are central to our Mission to do all the good we can! We would love to hear more about your experience. Please reach out to us at Feedback@Asbury.org.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place

      Jul 20, 2021 - VCCO in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good solid management team and focus

      Cons

      pay is not as good as for profit

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for the 5-star rating and comments about the management and focus of our organization. We are proud to offer associates competitive pay that reflects the skills and experience required to do our work.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor management

      Aug 12, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Maryville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can’t recommend a thing good. High management turnover. Not enough staff. Inconsistent with rules across the board.

      Cons

      Poor communication. Staffing issue never enough. More travelers than full-time staff. Residents are not receiving quality care due to constant staffing needs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      We are sorry to hear that this was your experience. Working in senior living healthcare during a pandemic can be demanding, and we are grateful for the work our associates do every day to ensure the safety of the community. We take the comments here about communication, staffing, manager-associate relationships, and leadership seriously as we strive to be an employer of choice. We are dedicated to the safety and well-being of the residents we serve as well as being a great place to work for all associates. We would appreciate an opportunity to hear more from you. Please reach out to the Human Resources Team at (865) 738-2847.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Fake

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I believed all the words about do all the good you can. Then we were stabbed in the back. Revenue is first. Cuts impact care and overwork employees. Really a shame.

      Cons

      Revenue is down so focus is on that

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      We are very sorry to hear that this was your experience. The challenges brought by COVID-19 have impacted people and organizations worldwide. We are working diligently to continue to provide the best possible service for our residents and clients while showing the deep appreciation we have for our associates, including paying a living wage in all of our markets. The Asbury leadership team is working diligently on processes that will attract and retain best-in-class associates, including work/life balance and compensation, and we value this feedback. We would appreciate an opportunity to hear more from you about your experience. Please reach out our Human Resources Team at 301-250-2100.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Decent pay

      Apr 9, 2021 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in Maryville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, good insurance, set schedule

      Cons

      Poor communication, lack of management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for your time in providing feedback and for recognizing the great compensation and benefits we offer. We take the comments here about communication and leadership seriously, as this is not the experience we seek to provide for our associates. We are dedicated to being a great place to work and would appreciate an opportunity to hear more from you. Please reach out to the Human Resources Team at (865) 738-2847.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Renovation and service plumber

      Mar 10, 2021 - Plumber Apprentice in Gaithersburg, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Assuring that we do a complete well done job

      Cons

      Not Appreciated by management as a team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for your review and feedback. We know that our associates take great pride is the work they do for the residents we serve and are glad to hear you feel the same!

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor Communication and Leadership

      Mar 18, 2021 - Nursing Supervisor in Maryville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation, Benefits, Hours, Advancement, Location

      Cons

      Poor communication about company changes, inability to call out sick without a guilt trip, Leadership is toxic and a revolving door. Subpar orientation and training period

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Asbury Communities Response

      Director of Digital Marketing

      Thank you for your time in providing feedback and for recognizing the great compensation and benefits we offer. We take the comments here about communication and leadership seriously, as this is not the experience we seek to provide for our associates. We are dedicated to being a great place to work and would appreciate an opportunity to hear more from you about your time with us. Please reach out to our Human Resources Team at (865) 738-2847.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews

    Work at Asbury Communities? Share Your Experiences

    Asbury Communities logo
    or