AspenTech Manager Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
27%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
AspenTech President and Chief Executive Officer Antonio Pietri
Antonio Pietri
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent team, good exposure and learning opportunities, flat hirearchy, flexible working style

    Cons

    Limited scope for internal transfers

    AspenTech2015-10-24
  2. "Smart people, culture improving, but now upward mobility"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with some of the smartest, passionate colleagues I have ever worked with. Employees are innovative, passionate and committed despite the culture, which is improving ever so slowly

    Cons

    There are too few career development opportunities. The culture is still old-school

    AspenTech2020-05-27
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worst experience of my life."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's over and I now work for a much better organisation.

    Cons

    Potentially the worst manager I have ever come across in my 15 years of experience. This manager has no clue of commercial management, nor technical sales, least of all people skills. It is incredible that people like this can maintain employment in the real world.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2020-02-13
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Extremely dated company with a talent deficiency"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Bedford, MA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great products, market leader. - Good work/life balance - Some good benefits, some not so good.

    Cons

    This company is managed and run like a company in the 1990's. Extremely bureaucratic, slow, governed processes, systems and tools. CEO and entire C-level team is very old school and uninspiring. Zero trust from upper leadership with there employees. No work from home and everything is on lock-down unless you get the appropriate permissions, which sometimes needs to come from CEO himself which is a red flag that he gets involved in such low level decisions. There is a severe lack of talent at AspenTech. They attract people later in their careers who are either set in their ways or lack the motivation to fight the uphill battles for change. The good workers usually come and go pretty quickly. To their credit they seem to recognize some of these flaws and are attempting to undergo a leadership transformation. Unfortunately for change to truly happen, it has to start at the top, and the CEO is too stubborn and old school to change at this point in his career.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Pass on AspenTech"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many. I would like to say the people - but then I'd be lying.

    Cons

    Vertical silo's, arrogant VP's in PM and disconnected goals. Hadn't ever worked in a company with solid products like this and a dysfunctional harsh work environment. It was like working in a caste system

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Poor upper management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None to speak about or can think of

    Cons

    childish, selfish upper management team, low pay, long hours

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2019-06-01
  7. "Inside Sales Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Career progression is available if you are willing to work for it - Company is the best in the industry no one else comes close - The team are unlike any other team you will work with its like working with family. (in a good way) - Company is going through positive change in all areas and focusing more on what the employees think and need to change. - Competitive OTE and uncapped commission. - Product is amazing in all aspects it works and delivers value to the clients - most people in the industry have heard of AspenTech

    Cons

    - There is a process for everything (but again they are changing this) - Complicated product - Not a role for someone that is lazy.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2019-03-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible people. Fast work pace. Customer base is awesome. Technology rocks. Exciting time to be at Aspen.

    Cons

    Too much “red tape” , management needs to listen a bit more in Boston , let sales sell and less admin stuff.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2018-09-11
  9. "Senior Sales Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Account Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, job security and training. Aspen is also ahead of other technology companies. Tons of career advancement with acquisitions.

    Cons

    They have hired some dead weight that needs to be let go.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2017-07-02
  10. "Sr. Sales account manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Sales Manager in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Product/Good Market Position/Broad Product Portfolio

    Cons

    Micro Management/No respect to employee/Lay off frequently.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2017-05-22
Found 40 reviews