Asurion Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 13 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Asurion CEO Tony Detter
Tony Detter
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "The ability to work from home has helped me save money and have flexibility(in 184 reviews)

  • "Very good pay for entertaining level(in 119 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is good in general if you set boundaries and get the work done(in 85 reviews)

  • "treats work at home call center employees like cattle(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay but Disappointing and Disorganized Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highest paid call center in my area, casual dress code, relaxed atmosphere, nice break room with free coffee and tea, keurig coffee maker, convenient location and huge break room fridge. No one ever stole my lunch. Easy call center duties. You get paid really well: 16.25 an hour in Orlando area and a full 40 hours. Sometimes there is over time. If you make good sales, they will allow you to work at home after six months. Good work/life balance. You don't take the stress home. They have a 401K that will match after a year.

    Cons

    Payroll delays due to clerical errors on their part. Disorganized company who can't even get their training schedules straight. Several of us showed up for training after being told to show up that day, but were not actually scheduled. They sent us home. That was disappointing and a huge waste of gas and time. There really isn't a way to move up in the company even if you make good sales because when I left, there were no openings for anything. Unless you want to go to a foreign country: Indonesia or UK. The only thing you can hope for here in the USA is being allowed to a work at home but only if you get enough sales so you don't have to commute. Also, there is way too much emphasis on sales considering this is tech support. You are hired for tech support but you do it all: customer service, sales, complaints. During training, many systems didn't work and trainer had to literally dictate information. But at least, the training was paid. The hiring process was very long. It took months to hear from them. Background check took forever.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-03-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Culture of threats and scare tactics"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Asurion full-time

    Pros

    rapidly growing company with plenty of job opportunities. large work at home workforce

    Cons

    treats work at home call center employees like cattle. The focus is on driving sales and nothing else. The leaders from the top down talk a good game but when you interact with them its clear they could care less about the value you bring.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-02-15

    Asurion Response

    March 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Operations Manager

    You are an important part of our team and the work you do as a technician is vital to our company's success. We want you to feel valued, and understand that miscommunication or certain job requirements can negatively impact your experience. As a team, we want to work together to ensure all business objectives are met and our employees know their worth. Please work with your manager to determine the best way for you to enjoy and succeed in your role, and continue your work with Asurion.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very polished when it comes to company culture. There is a ton of investment into ensuring the culture is upbeat and friendly. Asurion is very structured, very minimal gray areas due to them pushing forward and remaining solution-driven. Being a Call Center Supervisor (Coach) is interesting. I knew all my peers were doing their role and I knew that my employees would do their job because our coaching sessions were recorded. If you're looking for a role where you can aimlessly go into work, this is a great place. The company has a lot of guidelines and parameters in place to guide you to success. Imagine yourself as a bowling ball going down the lane with bumpers - you will succeed if you want to.

    Cons

    Too much structure hindering my ability to create, innovate, and think. You're instructed and coached to do things the Asurion way - and their way only. No one is going to question it because most of their Coaches are internal hires with no leadership experience. If you're an external candidate, please proceed with caution. This Asurion world is a Utopian and they're not looking for folks to rock the boat; Asurion Leadership will say that they want it, but it's they're programmed to say it. Additionally, your direct reports will dislike you because you're external, because you're not knowledgeable in their role. Be prepared to overcome that and build rapport with them... oh wait, you can't because Asurion gives you a list of questions to get to know each employee taking away your creativity and authenticity to have an organic conversation. The weekly coaching sessions with your direct reports will need to be 100% recorded and you will need to follow the guidelines Asurion has in place for an effective coaching. This will be followed up with a feedback session form your manager to ensure you're in compliance with the coaching guidelines they have in place.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-02-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "My time there was great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Support Technician in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THE PAY! VTO! relaxed, fun environment, cool coworkers, you can move your shift everyday thru mobile app. Opportunities to advance and they offer WAH. I worked at Asurion for 2 years as a Premier Solutions Expert (tech support). The pay is more than most call centers & is the best pro about this position. I started at 16.50/hr and was paid $1/hr extra for working overnights. You will have a new team lead & team every few months or so, but that didn’t bother me much because I’ve met some great people working there. The working environment is very relaxed & the people that work there are cool. If you’re an overnighter the call volume slows down tremendously after a certain time, which gives you plenty of time between calls. They offer vto weekly, sometimes daily depending on the time of year. They don’t have very flexible schedules to choose from after training but they make up for by letting you move your schedule to any time thru their work app, which I’ve never known any other call center to do (I worked 6:30pm-3am and I sometimes used the app to move my schedule to work a normal 9-5 or 3-12, whatever you choose).

    Cons

    Sales (shs) There are not many cons about working there other than the fact that sales have been implemented as the main focus of the job. Before the focus of this position was sales, this job was AMAZING!! A REAL BLESSING! It’s still a blessing in a way because of the awesome pay and work environment. But I was actually very ecstatic to come to work everyday back when it was just tech support. I was not one of the agents that quit when sales became part of the position, you are only expected to get 5 sales per 100 calls which is pretty attainable if you just try, even if you are not good at selling. The up-sell is just a warranty program for $20 added to the customers monthly bill.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-01-03
  5. "Good job, great people, burnt out on insufferable customers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Technician in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asurion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are tremendous and are the only reason I worked for so long in a call center. The comraderies is top-notch. Bosses are empathetic but sadly often powerless. Pay is good, benefits are good. Technicians can leave early on a First-Come-First-Served basis during slow hours/days.

    Cons

    Asurion HQ simply doesn't make you feel like a valued employee, only your coaches and coworkers do. They have whip-cracks demanding perfect performance thinly-veiled as "events", such as a "Fantasy Football League" where various call centers gather points by performing flawlessly in various aspects to gain points. Prizes are non-existent-to-marginal for employees. It's also not uncommon for employees to break down mentally because Asurion contracts its work from other companies and as such, its employees deals not with Asurion's customers but the customers of the companies that Asurion is contracted to. As such, Asurion will often do nothing in the face of customer abuse and it's common for employees to be reprimanded if they stand up for themselves in the face of customer abuse. Asurion will not hesitate to victim-blame you and imply that it's your fault for not properly de-escalating a situation to avoid blaming the Asurion client's abusive customers.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-01-04
  6. "Highest paying CSR position, same Bullony"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premiere Solutions Support in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ops Manager Shane H. in Orlando Call Center is the best manager I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    Incredible company when first came to Orlando, but then started hiring new managers that always go back to threatening to fire people if they do/don't do.... this and that. Unable to hear customers on the call center floor due to being the loudest call center I have ever worked at. Company plays favorites, co-workers are unprofessional, all in all the same EXACT Bullony you have to put up with at any call center, but Asurion will try and make you think they are different. No difference, just as bad, but pay better than most. Take the money, if you can handle the bullony.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2019-11-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Salary for tech lead"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, insurance, bonus potential, events

    Cons

    no flexibility for call center

    Asurion2019-07-24

    Asurion Response

    July 24, 2019Talent Relationship Marketing Manager

    Thanks for reaching out. We value team success and create a rewarding and collaborative work environment for our employees. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and have alerted our leadership to your feedback.

  8. "Call center job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Asurion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working here was a typical call center environment. I took calls for DirecTV customers helping them to troubleshoot their equipment, schedule appointments, and try to help out with billing. Turnover was high. Sometimes they'd have food at the call center for cookouts and my coworkers made my day.

    Cons

    Dealing with upset customers. The pay was low for the level of stress.

    Asurion2019-05-13
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Tricked into demotion"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anywhere Expert in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time

    Pros

    Call center had a lot of pros. NEVER SWITCH TO CHAT!

    Cons

    When I was working in the call center I loved my job. I got raises often and was a great culture and environment. They offered a new work at home chat position, said you would be making more than you did on the phones. It was a pay per chat instead of the hour but I was hesitant because of this but, figured it is a great company. They wouldn't steer me wrong. There was no support once we went home. The systems we have crash constantly. We do not get paid for the times in meetings, coaching, and other non-chatting activities. Like we were promised. I have been locked out of one of my tools for 3 weeks. The main tool to do my job. The lack of volume has ruined my life. Because of this, I am more than likely going to be homeless next week. I have been trying to go back to the call center for months. No one replies to emails. You are pretty much left to fend for yourself once you start this position. It encourages people to take chats and then immediately close them or ignore customers so long they stop responding. So sadly, those with the worst customer service skills make the most money. Been looking for another job but I fear I put too much faith in this company. As a result. I don't know where i'm going to live in a few weeks and what's next for me.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2019-06-04

    Asurion Response

    July 22, 2019Talent Relationship Marketing Manager

    Thanks for reaching out. We focus on putting our customers first and using excellent execution to act with their best interests in mind. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and have taken your feedback to our leadership for review and action.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "This job was definitely stressful."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSS Technician in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was okay at the time. They also offered Volunteered Time Off if the call center was not that busy. My coworkers were nice.

    Cons

    They are very strict and anal when it comes to sticking to their Script word for word. If you do not say their script word for word, you will be marked off for your weekly quality score and called into the office to listen to the call. I've failed quality scores by simply telling the customer to have a wonderful day instead of saying "Thanks for calling PSS, have a great day." It also takes forever to accrue Vacation/sick time.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2019-04-29

    Asurion Response

    May 2, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for reaching out. We value team success and create a rewarding and collaborative work environment for our employees. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and have alerted our leadership to your feedback!

Found 90 reviews