Asurion Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Asurion CEO Tony Detter
Tony Detter
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "The ability to work from home has helped me save money and have flexibility(in 185 reviews)

  • "Very good pay for entertaining level(in 122 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is good in general if you set boundaries and get the work done(in 85 reviews)

  • "treats work at home call center employees like cattle(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I thought I found the best work at home job....until"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ok pay, but should be more, Decent Benefits, Working from home

    Cons

    I thought I found the perfect customer service work at home job, after all, Asurion is a well known brand. I thought this company would be different. I love doing customer service. I am a customer service rep, not a high pressured sales rep. When applying for the job I thought the sales part was just soft upselling products to customers which I am very comfortable at doing, by mentioning the product to customer and sending them any links or emails if they want more info. But this is a intense, ask, ask, ask, rebuttal, rebuttal type sales job that I really just don't care for. The training is more geared toward selling, than learning how to properly process claims for the customer. I am a pretty fast learner, but when you are not getting the right training to do the job, its makes it even more difficult to sell, sell, sell even way. I really hate that I will have to leave, they are losing good customer care reps, like myself. I do like the claims part so much and helping people get back on track with their phones.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-05-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Line 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours I have are good and working from home is great

    Cons

    The job has turned into a sales job and not a customer service job like it was and since sales the customer service has taken a backseat and all focus is on SALES and you are moved from team to team to team and can never get comfortable as soon as you get comfortable with a coach then boom time to change and some coaches are ok and others are a nightmare to deal wit. Asurion used to be a great company but lately is heading in the totally wrong direction

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-05-16

    Asurion Response

    May 21, 2020Digital Marketing Coordinator

    Hi, thanks for your review and feedback. It is great to hear that you are enjoying your hours and the ability to work from home. We understand that the sales component of your current job has not met your expectations. We would recommend communicating your concerns with your leader and working together to identify a solution.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Resolve & Sell"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company pays well has opportunity for career advancement or can work from home. Schedule flexibility since they are open almost 24/7 there’s plenty of overtime majority of the time or you can choose voluntary time off if needed.

    Cons

    Management isn’t the best because the OMs pressure the Coaches about sales more than anything. You had people hitting sales but they weren’t doing it completely right but they praised those people. They need a better system always having system issues.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-03-25
  4. "Great Diversity Great Job Security"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Management Specialist in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The ability to work from home has helped me save money and have flexibility. The diversity of the clients and contracts available has helped me keep working for this company. Contracts end, but my employment does not because they are able to move me to a different department. The compensation plans for hard workers are tops. Just do your job well and you get paid extra.

    Cons

    Working from home, one needs to be able to have quiet, and building your office with the required equipment can be costly.

    Asurion2020-02-21

    Asurion Response

    March 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Operations Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience about your ability to work from home with Asurion. Flexibility is a big piece of our company culture, and we are proud to support our employees.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Pay but Disappointing and Disorganized Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highest paid call center in my area, casual dress code, relaxed atmosphere, nice break room with free coffee and tea, keurig coffee maker, convenient location and huge break room fridge. No one ever stole my lunch. Easy call center duties. You get paid really well: 16.25 an hour in Orlando area and a full 40 hours. Sometimes there is over time. If you make good sales, they will allow you to work at home after six months. Good work/life balance. You don't take the stress home. They have a 401K that will match after a year.

    Cons

    Payroll delays due to clerical errors on their part. Disorganized company who can't even get their training schedules straight. Several of us showed up for training after being told to show up that day, but were not actually scheduled. They sent us home. That was disappointing and a huge waste of gas and time. There really isn't a way to move up in the company even if you make good sales because when I left, there were no openings for anything. Unless you want to go to a foreign country: Indonesia or UK. The only thing you can hope for here in the USA is being allowed to a work at home but only if you get enough sales so you don't have to commute. Also, there is way too much emphasis on sales considering this is tech support. You are hired for tech support but you do it all: customer service, sales, complaints. During training, many systems didn't work and trainer had to literally dictate information. But at least, the training was paid. The hiring process was very long. It took months to hear from them. Background check took forever.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Culture of threats and scare tactics"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Asurion full-time

    Pros

    rapidly growing company with plenty of job opportunities. large work at home workforce

    Cons

    treats work at home call center employees like cattle. The focus is on driving sales and nothing else. The leaders from the top down talk a good game but when you interact with them its clear they could care less about the value you bring.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-02-15

    Asurion Response

    March 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Operations Manager

    You are an important part of our team and the work you do as a technician is vital to our company's success. We want you to feel valued, and understand that miscommunication or certain job requirements can negatively impact your experience. As a team, we want to work together to ensure all business objectives are met and our employees know their worth. Please work with your manager to determine the best way for you to enjoy and succeed in your role, and continue your work with Asurion.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Worst training I’ve ever been through"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion

    Pros

    Work from home The actual work isn’t difficult and easy to figure out

    Cons

    They ask you to be on camera (which was never in the list of equipment requirements) and if your computer camera isn’t working, they want you to buy one (next time, why not provide us the equipment if you want us to adhere to your made up rules on the fly!?) Training IS HORRIBLE. They make you complete a bunch of modules with barely teaching you what’s in them!!! How were we suppose to ask questions about situations and things we DONT KNOW! The only thing taught was how to make a sale! How are we suppose to feel comfortable offering a sale when we don’t even know how to create the claim. So ridiculous The trainers are rude and act like every question you ask them is a hassle The pay is too low

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-03-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Expert in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at home is the only thing I can say

    Cons

    Management, Benefits, Pay Rate, turnover rate, opportunity to be promoted

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-02-06
  9. "Asurion; A sure Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administration Specialist (Reassigned to 904231) in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wage Solid Hours Work from home opportunity

    Cons

    Not much room for Advancement. Long hours Hard to book time off Missing 2days/month gives off red flags.

    Continue reading
    Asurion2020-01-17
  10. Helpful (5)

    "SHS above all else!!!!!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is wonderful however, working for a privately held a lot more. Hours can be very flexible if your a top performer. Out of the employers I've worked for this has been by far the company with the most transparent bonus structure you meet the companies metrics and your rewarded fairly I'd say. Not like former employers where the top 3 or 5 would battle it out to the death for several thousand dollars sadly we're capped at 550 monthly. Training is fun management is laid back and their benefits package need a huge overhaul and for those employees who are perpetually ill they have some every expensive choice or those sold their souls for a life time of immaculate health they have inexpensive choices as well. Overall its a fine place to work temporally not in the long run. One last thing they began issuing company landline phone in late 2019 lord only knows when they will go live.

    Cons

    They are not publicly trade as far a I know privately held ownership so they don't answer to nobody let's keep it that way. How in the world can you not provided your W@H employees with company computers or reimburse our internet I know of small hole in the wall companies do and will wipe our callipygians if we asked nicely. On to their benefits package so many choices for medical too many I think my issue I that they put not one penny into the company Sponsored HSA they have some sort of compassion forward carp that is a sad attempt to look wholesome that money is better placed in an HSA or a company health medical savings where they could place yearly contributions into for the future I mean if you have cancer later on in life and are retired tell if Compassion forward will come to the rescue sorry not sorry black hair don't care! 4% match in the 401k maybe 5% the wording on the in the employee handbook is a little tricky its bad and they may or may not do profit sharing that wording may or may not the formula is laid out in the employee handbook and they don't make much of this aware to their employees we never spoke to benefits about enrollment why I ask? Turns out HR is a one woman show bless her heart no really bless her heart they must work her like a cur. You'd better believe that during training you'll SHS they speak of SHS as if their curing cancer no really CANCER or DIABETES its to the point where its become anathema to us W@H its not great its capped at 2000 per claim I own computers worth more and television sets too oh and annually 5000. Read the terms and conditions children they do everything in their power to not fix things and lastly I consider myself to be slow and if your still reading this I understanding of the English language or grammar for that matter but I can do math as good not better just good as any Asian boy or girl because girls are the Superior sex and I am a boy so there I said it. I digress they hire some of the most incompetent people never have I been in a training class where more than half are computer illiterate like you need repeat the same information over and over even on the second day for most of the class information didn't stick I wonder if they drank flint water before coming to work . Don't think most of them even finished high school much less no how to read or comprehend basic information and in this case two head or more are not better our team meeting are filled with the most unasinous ideas ever put for in my life. Sale's that all they care about SHS it'll cure cancer and remedy all ailments there are clients paying 15 a month for insurance and these fiends that they employ have no idea how to complete a simple claim on a daily basis I've seen claims started in June and with my best efforts have done everything in my power to complete every situation is different but my goodness that nearly six months I've brought this up with my manager not coach because a coach is usually someone you like they love playing these psychological word games because most of their employees are too dumb see it for them selves again I digress. I've brought the issue up with management and they couldn't care less my manager was more concerned with SHS our coaching session was all about SHS and why I'm not offering it well if we can't properly file a claim and finish within a day or so could you just imagine how mismanaged those group of kids are? Their clients are paying a premium for insurance I've been told by our customers that employees have said over the phone I cant help you or I dont know what to do with that and I've never touched an iphone in my life and were just doing simple things like turning off find my iphone, I'm very disappointed there have been times where I gotten a little emotional because of the treatment the customers receive especially if they are Spanish speaking because those kids of are some of the most rude illiterate and uncaring. Now the SHS tactics they use are borderline bullying their customers if they say not rebuttal that NO means no in any context if you were being physically assaulted and pleaded they stop and they didn't. No means no in any context I hope they read this and become so enraged that they begin a campaign to find me and remove me

    Continue reading
    Asurion2019-12-08

    Asurion Response

    December 12, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. At Asurion, we act like owners and take accountability to drive sustained results. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and have alerted our leadership to your feedback.

Found 185 reviews