Auto Trader UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Trevor Mather
Trevor Mather
216 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company is rather fast paced(in 23 reviews)

  • "The location (central Manchester) wasn't right for me, but of course that will not be a problem for everyone(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great working environment with lots of opportunities to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s always interesting work to pick up as a developer no matter what your level of experience is. And even when that task that you’ve done 10 times before lands on your desk again, you have the freedom to innovate and make it as interesting/challenging as you like. The tech is moving really fast (infrastructure, languages, frameworks) so there are high chances you’ll be constantly learning something new next to people that can help you improve. The above together with the great offices and lots of great people make AT the best company I’ve worked for.

    Cons

    Some times, people that could help you with something are so busy that they cannot spend time on doing so and that can slow things down a bit and be a bit frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-01

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 6, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review; Freedom to innovate, constantly learning something new and working with great people sums it all up really well. Busy as we all can get we should all try and find time to help each other out so I hope there is more time to collaborate and share knowledge this year.

    Continue reading
  2. "really good but not much progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people, product and work conditions

    Cons

    not rewarded for hard work

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-15

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 21, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you enjoyed working with your colleagues , our people are what makes our company special. Sorry that you felt you were not rewarded for your work; we have many different benefits, we refresh what we offer regularly and our recognition scheme gives everybody the chance to recognise each other on a daily basis. Best of luck with your next employment opportunity.

    Continue reading
  3. "Insidious place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing opportunity to learn - Colleagues are all there to help - Location - CV boost Autotrader pride themselves on being investors in people - and this is broadly true. You come in on a decent salary, for the role you accept, and get to work learning the ropes and settling in. Once you are settled in, your responsibilities grow and things are going nicely. You have regular 1-2-1's and your manager makes all the correct moves to make you feel valued and that your career is progressing. Go here for a year or two and learn as much as you can – then when you’re ready for an increase in salary, leave and go anywhere else.

    Cons

    The majority of the cons here stem from a poor management culture and pay scale. The problem here, is when you've outgrown the role you have and you're ready to move to a more senior position/role, your career stops progressing. This is where the cult of Autotrader comes to the fore. You’re made to feel as though you should be grateful to work for them and that this in of itself is a reward. In my experience there was a culture of top down ingratitude at AT that really affected people’s mental health - in my team, in a year, 7 long-term members of staff went off with stress/poor mental health due to the increased workload (a catch 22 with people leaving/going off with stress) and the inability of the management to understand that people wish to progress in a role and, heaven forbid, make more money at the same time for all the extra work they’re doing. Of those 7, I believe only 1 is still there and they've been placed in another role as they were integral to the infrastructure/working of the team. Essentially, they knew too much to be allowed to leave. The rest were, not so much forced out, but made to feel as though they didn’t matter and that the team was moving on from them. They were now ‘bad influences’ you’d hear from other people’s meetings or 1-2-1s (talking about these was discouraged, unsurprisingly). AT will bang on about ‘Mental Wellness’ and ‘Mental First Aiders’, the problem being these aiders are generally the established middle managers that are causing a lot of the grief in the first place. Additionally, the pay at AT is at a ridiculous deficit for the next internal role you go for - if, indeed you actually get said role. Most people that work here are fantastic at their job - AT are great at attracting talent - but they are, predominantly, underpaid when bench-marked against the market (anecdotally) and stuck in roles they’ve outgrown – or are expected to perform in an extended role without renumeration or the benefits of a title bump (“We’re a flat structure!”). Without going into grubby specifics, I earned a 6% increase in 3 years - despite my role changing dramatically, to that of someone on 20% more when benchmarked. This is, again anecdotally, common across the board - I still know people on dramatically less than in other companies doing significantly less work. Couple this with a management culture that is absolutely defined by favouritism and it's no wonder many people leave/go off with stress. I eventually left, taking with me the skills I had honed there to a company that paid me what I should have been on for the work I do. Wanting more money isn't something that should frowned upon - it's the only reason most of us go to work. Wanting to be supported when things start getting difficult and you’re not the managers favourite, is also a pretty standard – especially for a company that prides themselves of being ‘Investors in People’.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-14
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Digital Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture is great and some of the best people I have worked with! The people that work here really do live and breathe values and the values are integral to everything we do. There is complete trust which gives you full autonomy to just get on with what you do best, the company has a flat structure and there is no micro management. The company is really forward thinking and always willing to test new things which means we are always one step ahead and constantly innovating.

    Cons

    Working environment is really fast paced which some people might see as a negative thing but one of the things that I enjoy the most which means no two days are the same which is great!

    Auto Trader UK2019-12-27

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 27, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about working with us. Our six Auto Trader values guide everything we do and are the most important element of our culture. Like you say we need to keep innovating, operate at pace in order to remain successful and our people are trusted to continue doing great work and achieving brilliant results.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company to work for with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic forward thinking company that thrives on change and allows staff to have a voice. Culture is massively important to the company and leadership team making it a great place to work with an amazing office space.

    Cons

    None, great place to work

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-12-15

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 16, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. I am glad you are enjoying your time working with us for so many years. Our culture is what makes our business unique and we are all responsible for nurturing and evolving it so your advice is spot on.

    Continue reading
  6. "Accelerated learning, growth and respect!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Social Media in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Huge emphasis on company culture and its core values - I've never worked anywhere that invests so much in the well-being of its people. 2. Ample opportunities for growth and development - workshops, courses and mentorship etc are commonplace at Auto Trader and widely available to help you progress. 3. The entrepreneurial mind-set means that, while the pace is fast, no two days are the same, there's a constant buzz and the scope to learn from some incredibly smart people is infinite.

    Cons

    We don't always take the time to celebrate successes before moving on to the next thing - but equally that's a good problem to have and what keeps us all moving!

    Auto Trader UK2019-12-18

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 19, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you have been enjoying your time working with us and the opportunities to grow and develop. We are a fast moving business but you are right that we should make sure to take time to celebrate success in ourselves and each other as that is one of the key elements of our "Humble" value. Hope you keep growing with us as our business evolves in the years to come.

    Continue reading
  7. "The best business I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tribe Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture that is authentic to the business and people within in, not about awards or external recognition The technology and data capability is really impressive and growing fast, a great place to be Focus on continuous learning and reflecting when things don't go as well as they should

    Cons

    The business wants to run faster than the industry it operates in, driving change is hard work The flat organisation structure and level of change can mean it is hard to keep up

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-12-17

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 19, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about working with us. Our culture and our people are indeed driven by the desire for growth and continuous learning; if we sometimes receive external recognition we are thankful and proud but remain humble. The business does move fast and drives change but hopefully by collaborating closely with each other and our industries we will succeed together.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company to work for if you're in the right area!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Java Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting projects fast paced great culture & atmosphere majority of the people are friendly cutting edge tech inclusive groups lots of various activities office is great!

    Cons

    sly tech owner in buying experience feeling undervalued even though you always go the extra mile. if you're not liked by tech owner/director then no chance of staying, you will get pushed out.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-12-02

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 6, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about working with us. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed our culture, time with colleagues and our great offices. I am sorry you felt that your relationship with your tech owner wasn't as positive; we provide different avenues for colleagues to provide feedback and our Tribe Leads and People team are always here to listen so hopefully you got the chance to share your thoughts before you left us. Thank you again for your review and wishing you success with your future.

    Continue reading
  9. "Could be great if they practiced what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit. Great people. Funky offices. Good location.

    Cons

    Management do not live up to the values. But expect everyone else to. Fire good people based on favoritism. People get pushed out and asked to sign agreements to leave and sign to keep quiet (that's why you don't see more bad reviews as people are scared to write them). I was there for just over 2 years and saw as many people bullied out as left themselves.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-12-01

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 17, 2019COO

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that you feel this way about your time at Auto Trader, it certainly falls a long way short of the employee experience we aim to deliver. We have made a number of changes in our marketing team over the last 12 months as we have shifted our strategy and focus towards new areas. As we have embraced content, social and performance channels, we have been building a team that we believe can deliver our goals in these areas. This has meant the team has changed, there has been a number of internal promotions and we have brought in some new talent. We have a culture where we promote openness and as leaders we welcome challenge especially when it comes to living our Auto Trader values. If you didn’t get the chance to share your views with us I am still available to listen. I wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company i've ever work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Squad Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial mindset and everyone's ideas are never overlooked. Mature and collaborative environment to work in. There are many routes to progression and a lot of opportunities as long as you are prepared to work for them. I go to sleep on a Sunday looking forward to work the next day unlike with other jobs. It really makes a massive difference when you enjoy your job. Management is clear and concise allowing you to crack on with your duties contributing toward the collaborative/entrepreneurial mindset this amazing company offers. The people are diverse but come together to create an amazing working environment. The company offers great benefits including pension scheme, private health care and other offerings dependent on your lifestyle and circumstances outside of work. Work events are great fun and have a good budget to ensure all staff are accommodated for.

    Cons

    The commute to Manchester. However, this isn't a negative of Auto Trader. The work space is amazing and being a digital business working from home is an option dependent on your department and manager of course. Sometimes you can feel isolated if you do work from home or are field based. Also hard work is sometimes overlooked and not rewarded as much as you's maybe like.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-11-11

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 6, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. Going to bed on the Sunday looking forward to your working week is always a good sign. We will take your feedback on board around rewarding and celebrating all the great work that our colleagues achieve all the time.

    Continue reading
Found 277 reviews