BASF Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BASF Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
BASF CEO Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
0 Ratings
  1. "BASF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great benefits package and very competitive pay. Outstanding relocation package.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to advance if you don’t want to take the management route and want to stay in a technical position.

    Advice to Management

    Many people would like to stay in technical roles and solve problems, but there are very few opportunities there. Poor pay for hourly employees is causing retention issues at smaller sites.

    BASF2018-02-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Employee for 10+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very Good Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    I agree with the previous poster. The hiring practices are completely discriminatory. They primarily hire millennial's recruited from specific non-diverse universities and bring them in at the salary of a 20yr employee. If they wanted to honestly diversify the company, they would open up diverse leadership programs to internal candidates. While they advertise their recruitment numbers; they do advertise their minority...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are the largest chemical company in the world. DO BETTER!

    BASF2018-02-22

    BASF Response

    March 5, 2018Chief Diversity Officer

    Thank you for your post and your interest in BASF. At BASF, we have a number of strong programs that speak to our authentic commitment to diversity and inclusion. We are an Equal Opportunity Employer. If you would like to discuss the specific circumstances behind your concern, I encourage ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Kaohsiung
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hours are normal and the salary is normal too. Annual leave is more than local company. BASF is a famous company, the experience will help you get better job

    Cons

    I think it likes all the chemical companies that has no hard work and unfair request. You can work here very happy

    Advice to Management

    Increase the salary of Asia resion

    BASF2018-02-02
  4. "Production Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Engineer Intern in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BASF for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good people, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Boss was very nit picky

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    BASF2018-01-19
  5. "Great company a lot of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic and the people a great. You can be creative

    Cons

    Work life balance is tough. A lot of hours spent at work above 40

    Advice to Management

    None

    BASF2017-12-02
  6. "Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent on job training - you can gain more knowledge and experience from taking on more responsibilities

    Cons

    Not a structured development programme for interns and graduate

    Advice to Management

    Place more emphasis in intern and graduate development

    BASF2017-11-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Serious issues with harassment & bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BASF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do pay well. Benefits are the same as other companies.

    Cons

    Bad management and it just kept getting worse. Conflicting rules for employees/departments. For example, some could work from home but others couldn't. They play a lot of games and co-workers are not friendly and back stabbing in general. Be careful of your best friend there because they'll have your job in no time. Couldn't trust anyone. Contractors had more rights then full-time employees. There is harassment,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should try to manage people. That's what you're supposed to do with people. Help them to grow and develop in their field. Not just the handful you like.

    BASF2017-11-14
  8. "Overall Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PDP Engineering in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BASF for more than a year

    Pros

    The people in corporate offices are amazing! Really influential and beneficial in your personal and professional development.

    Cons

    Outside of corporate, the same sentiments aren't found in local locations. The corporate environment and actual site environment differ tremendously depending on location.

    BASF2017-10-04
  9. "EXCELLENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BASF for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely helpful! My supervisor was very present in my internship; however, not a micromanager. He allowed me to pick from a list of projects that would enable me to reach my personal and career goals. BASF encourages teamwork and safety. I would definitely consider a full time career with this company.

    Cons

    I don't have any down sides to share about this company.

    Advice to Management

    na

    BASF2017-09-21
  10. "Project Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Project Engineer Intern in Palmyra, MO
    Recommends

    I worked at BASF

    Pros

    Friendly, welcoming, always had something to do

    Cons

    There were no cons, overall my experience was very good

    BASF2017-09-19
Found 80 reviews