BASF Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Engineer

BASF Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
BASF CEO Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
0 Ratings
  1. "BASF Co-Op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 

    I worked at BASF for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to gain technical experience in chemical industry. Will be provided with challenging opportunities in project management and other areas.

    Cons

    Con is really for higher level engineers.. relationship between engineering and corporate department does not seem great.

    BASF2017-10-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just a boring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Palmyra, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF for more than a year

    Pros

    BASF definitely takes care of you with a housing stipend and company events for interns and new hires.

    Cons

    Just a boring place to work, every day involved staring at a clock waiting from 9 to 5. Not much area for problem solving, most of the work involves filling out spreadsheets etc.

    BASF2017-10-18
  3. "Excellent Company, Excellent People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for personal growth and leadership development. Great environment to challenge yourself and make long lasting impacts on people and processes.

    Cons

    At times there are too many variations in management drivers.

    BASF2017-08-22
  4. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineering in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent management and company structure. My manager is very straightforward and understands that I am an intern who is here to learn as well as to help him with current projects. He is giving me space and time to discover new things, because we all know that real life practices are extremely different from we are taught in school. He also welcomes new ideas. Absolutely love this company.

    Cons

    The only con for me personally is the low pay. And I understand that for short terms assignments i.e. internships, it is convenient to have staffing companies for the process. But it's ok. My gained experience will trump the low pay :-)

    Advice to Management

    Maybe get rid of the staffing companies

    BASF2017-06-28
  5. "It's up to the employee to get the best out of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in Freeport, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Plenty of opportunities for growth. Network is the name of the game if you want to succeed. Not all sites are created equal.

    Cons

    Company is too big. So, you have to be your best advocate to move up unless you're a "chosen one".

    BASF2017-06-17
  6. "Qulity manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Development - Development, Creativity - Innovation

    Cons

    Do not attempt to register public health pesticides in Egypt

    Advice to Management

    Pestcontrol

    BASF2017-04-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Treat people well, big company issues of beuarocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Engineer in Geismar, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treat employees well, pay well, great bonuses, good benefits,

    Cons

    Have engineers do a lot of PSM stuff that Process safety should do. Too many layers and jobs too divided up, career opportunities much better for non white males due to diversity goals

    BASF2017-04-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "My experience at BASF has been one of limitless opportunities for a rewarding career and personal development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Engineer in Gonzales, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid parental leave for both parents after birth of child, excellent health insurance and retirement plans, career goals are established for each employee

    Cons

    Limited research and development support for major projects and expansions. Many Decisions are based on qualitative judgements versus quantitative data

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more research and development in USA to support plants

    BASF2017-03-02
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Unethical Conduct by Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, middle of the road compensation, full suite of corporate benefits, acceptable facilities, clear focus on safety, strong work/life balance, nobody gets fired (for better or worse)

    Cons

    I watched my manager engage in unethical and illegal conduct. Was reported to legal, but no visible action was taken. The lawyers tried to cover up what happened and instructed everyone that their confidentiality agreements precluded them from discussing what happened further. It was upsetting to see the lack of responsibility and transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Don't tolerate unethical behavior at any level within the organization. When it's time to fire someone, do it. Good people will leave if you don't.

    BASF2017-01-16
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer Intern in Huntsville, AL

      I worked at BASF for less than a year

      Pros

      Internship was a great experience for me and my peers.

      Cons

      No cons here from me.

      BASF2016-12-01
    Found 80 reviews