BASF "german" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BASF Employee Reviews about "german"

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
BASF Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Chief Technology Officer Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
62 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Falta assiduidade no desenvolvimento da equipe em um plano de carreira, m(in 87 reviews)

  • "o tem uma politica estruturada de plano de carreira(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "german"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The company is interested to do well, not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Invoice Entry Channels in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Central location in Berlin. It took me one interview to get the job.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? The company is very profit oriented despite all the sustainability propaganda that lures you in to work with them. In Berlin, where jobs are rather supportive to those in Ludwigshafen, they care little about the well-being of their employees - crowded offices, poor on-boarding experience, even poorer salaries, no flexibility when it comes to the language (they hire more and more foreigners, promise the work in English, but continue to hold all the meetings in German), the top manager during the introduction session basically admitted he got there by a lucky coincidence. The systems and processes are outdated and very complex. Overall, I had the most terrible experience in the job market I have ever had.

    BASF2020-01-20
  2. "Very stable company with good job opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Chemical large multinationl company which has a deep presence in the worldwide chemical market. Good employer with specific focus on young talented people and in general career opportunities. Very focused on EHS.

    Cons

    Managed in a very burocratica way and german centric

    BASF2019-12-14
  3. "team leader finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BASF full-time

    Pros

    young team, lots of events and fun. good trainings.

    Cons

    low pay. very hierarchical and german male dominated management. internal back clapping on issues such as diversity and disuse of plastic cups but no open discussion about basf's work in oil and gas, support for car manufacturers, anti climate change and pro trump lobbying.

    Continue reading
    BASF2019-11-05
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Large company and good people

    Cons

    Trying to look international but very German

    BASF2019-10-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Schade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Nice and international colleagues -Flexible time -Summer & Christmas parties -Location -It looks good in your CV

    Cons

    -Extremely low salary compared to the average -Uncertainty about the future -Incompetent leaders -Most of the leaders do not care about developing their people -Leaders are not open at all to new ideas or approaches. They prefer to do everything in the same way or in the most bureaucratic possible way. -More and more they are hiring more non-German speaker people but they have not adjusted yet that all meetings and massive emails are in English instead of German. This always gives the feeling of being in the wrong place - It also makes no sense to have to attend long meetings in German when you do not understand the language. -Lack of involvement of the Team Leads/Specialists in the daily business. They are not really a support for the team when there is an issue with a customer, they try as much as possible to be safe and avoid any confrontation with them and prefer not interfere at all or always agree with them. -It is not possible to get a salary raise unless you are promoted to a new role that has a better salary assigment.

    Continue reading
    BASF2019-10-26
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Always learning - Opportunities for growth - Good pay - Good work / life balance / flexibility - Supportive of parents at work with great benefits

    Cons

    - Difficult to change roles between divisions - Still shifting towards a global company from a German one (making great strides) - Not a good understanding of the marketing function / not a clear career path for marketing professionals (working on this as well) - BASF has a "brand" that it helps to fit into to advance in the company, folks who are very different (even if effective) are typically not on the fast track

    BASF2019-10-10

    BASF Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Branding & Diversity Specialist

    Thank you for shedding light on our advancement opportunities. Your review is valuable as we strive to continue being an employer of choice.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay and benefits, too much bureaucracy at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus system and benefits

    Cons

    Indecisive management, lots of strategy talk but tactical actions from management, must be willing to move to advance, German HQ controls global decisions, must be willing to sacrifice work life balance to move into leadership roles.

    Continue reading
    BASF2019-10-01

    BASF Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Branding & Diversity Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your ten+ years of dedication at BASF. Your advice is valuable to us and we will share your insights with our leaders.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (10)

    "150+ yr old company JUST realizing customer should be center of the business....Really?!?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Florham Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation, Vacation. Most colleagues are nice

    Cons

    Major Layoffs happening, lots of good people being lost to make stockholders happy. More work and less resources for those remaining! Not truly a “global” company still VERY German centric.

    Continue reading
    BASF2019-08-20
  9. "BASF is okay if you are old and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF

    Pros

    A global company, easy work, relaxed environment

    Cons

    Hierarchical, very German, target orientated, not very personable.

    Continue reading
    BASF2019-04-16
  10. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cairo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the worldwide leaders in Chemicals industry

    Cons

    Limited career progression, and a pure German culture

    BASF2018-12-24
Found 68 reviews
</>Embed