BDO USA Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BDO USA Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "ONLY RECOMMEND NEW ASSOCIATES - Everyone else don't come to BDO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Client base and hands-on learning from some of the most knowledgeable people is GREAT. You really will learn some phenomenal public accounting information from great seasoned staff.

    Cons

    You are treated like a servant by some staff. Your intelligence will always be questioned because they don't believe you are as talented as you are. They will not communicate with you, and you will not be trained properly. The on-boarding process is a nightmare. When you mention your concerns to your supervisor, the entire staff knows about them. They lack professionalism and act in a retaliatory manner to you if you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your support staff and encourage the associates to include the whole staff.

    BDO USA2019-06-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent pay

    Cons

    Administrative staff is looked upon as lesser compared to other staff

    BDO USA2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BDO USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee Welfare, environment, provided snacks, provided meals, open space, drama free, flexible hours, ability to work overtime, ability to work from home, company laptop provided, three monitor work space, green space & so much more!

    Cons

    Some things need to be more streamline so that everybody is on the same page as far as how work is completed. (what systems are used for specific tasks i.e file explorer, company specific site, printed documents)

    Advice to Management

    Be as approachable as you can.

    BDO USA2019-03-03
  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility. This is truly the BEST company I have worked for. I worked in the DC location & LOVED it! Great people, employee freedom & no micro-managing. This company got it right!

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons. I loved my team & the environment. There’s respect among employees, fun & laughter & teachable moments not criticism or gossiping.

    BDO USA2018-12-12
  5. Helpful (8)

    ""People First" unless you are an admin which mean's you aren't a person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get one paid week off between Christmas and New Year's but I'm not sure even that outweighs all the negatives I dealt with.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility, blatant favoritism, poor management, racism, partners who think they are above basic manners.

    Advice to Management

    When putting someone in charge of the admins make sure it's someone who isn't caught saying she was displeased at having to work with so many POC and is better vetted. Having someone who micromanages, is passive aggressive and seems more interested in dividing people for her own "queen bee" agenda made this unbearable. In addition, treating admins like we are servants to the Partners as opposed to humans is unacceptable....

    Show More
    BDO USA2018-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Admin Assistants have nowhere to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, some flexibility, work-life balance

    Cons

    No advancement for Admin Assistants. All with this title are looked at the same, regardless of capabilities or accomplishments. Poor salary increases, no bonuses - even though we constantly support those that earn bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your Admin teams better; show you value their hard work and support.

    BDO USA2018-03-01
  7. "Pays well, little mobility on the admin team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Pays well -People are great on an individual basis -Great benefits

    Cons

    -Little to no upward mobility on the admin team -Viewpoints are not valued unless you're in a billable position

    Advice to Management

    Start investing in the people that support your client-facing professionals. Define career tracks and ways for them to advance professionally. Define additional levels of administrative assistants rather than having everyone share the same title regardless of experience.

    BDO USA2017-09-06
  8. "Robot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits Week of Christmas office closed

    Cons

    Too corporate, feel more like a number than an individual.

    BDO USA2017-04-20
  9. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, did a lot of charity work for the community.

    Cons

    Travelled by TTC, took over 1 hour to get to work.

    Advice to Management

    None

    BDO USA2016-08-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people and the environment. There is a lot of diversity in the tasks you perform from tax processing to EA. The firm is focused on its mission.

    Cons

    Long hours during both tax seasons up to 15-16 hour says including Saturdays. It can sometimes appear that the value that the administrative staff brings is overlooked and under valued. Career path for administrative staff is not mapped out.

    Advice to Management

    Flex time needs to be extended to the administrative staff the same way it is extended to the rest of the employees.

    BDO USA2016-01-29
Found 18 reviews