BDO USA Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BDO USA Intern Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
16 Ratings
  1. "Intern Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern 

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The staff is very friendly, and they give you lots of work that goes beyond data entry.

      Cons

      There needs to be more structure to the intern program, and have a staff member in charge who introduces them, and mentors them throughout the process.

      BDO USA2019-06-27
    • "Learned a ton"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tax Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot and the people there were literally always happy to help Very friendly and kind. The are growing very fast and building a great reputation in the accounting industry

      Cons

      No stipend was very unfortunate. Also no PTO. I think that if BDO wants to start to be compared with the big 4 they also need to start to offer those kinds of perks that come with the big firms. Towards the end of my internship I had no work to do, but that is understandable as they do not want to get me started on new projects during my last week, but should still have something planned

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing, great experience

      BDO USA2019-04-25
    • "BDO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Minneapolis, MN

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      They pay the interns well.

      Cons

      Did not have an effective training program.

      Advice to Management

      Train

      BDO USA2019-04-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Busy season, bring it on..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tax Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot and had 99 problems, but the pay wasn't one of them.

      Cons

      Intern management plan...I'm thinking that would have been helpful.

      Advice to Management

      Please screen for psychos, cat ladies, and mouth breathers...the office had all three.

      BDO USA2019-04-01
    • "Thankful to have done my internship here!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern Audit in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      Positive attitudes and make it possible to have a life outside of work.

      Cons

      There are no downsides. This company is on the rise.

      BDO USA2019-03-08

      BDO USA Response

      April 16, 2019CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

      Nice way to end my day knowing you had a great experience with us. Hope we will see you for the start of a long and successful career!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Disappointment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Miami, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      Exposure to different industries.

      Cons

      Toxic environment. People are too busy competing among themselves to lend you a hand. No support system implemented for the interns. No proper training, you have to learn by yourself even the software. No review or feedback from management.

      Advice to Management

      Create a better intern program, maybe a buddy system.

      BDO USA2018-11-23
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern 
      Recommends

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      Great company, and I really enjoyed working here

      Cons

      None I can think of

      BDO USA2018-10-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Favoritism, cliques, micromanaging, lack of work....etc"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Audit Intern in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      1. Reimbursements for expenses 2. Variety of clients 3. Traveling (if you like to) 4. HR was nice towards the interns 5. Pay (industry average)

      Cons

      1. Cliques in the office 2. Favoritism - directors who do the scheduling and towards certain interns (if they like you then you can get away with anything and you get the best clients) 3. Unhappy people and they show it 4. Some employees including interns treated unfairly based on if they like you 5. Not enough work 6. Training needs improvement including the classroom and online training 7. Some seniors, managers,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Improvement your work environment and push out unhappy and unproductive employees.

      BDO USA2018-08-02
    • "Good Learning Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Audit Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      The firm's culture felt very easygoing. -Pay -Training -Overtime -The Los Angeles Office

      Cons

      -Not everyone is assigned to work on multiple clients, thus limiting your scope. -More intern interactions and networking socials

      Advice to Management

      Don't over hire interns

      BDO USA2017-12-17
    • "R&D Tax Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

      Pros

      Small but very connected team Never felt like an intern, more like an associate Did actual work that mattered most of the time (went on 1 coffee run) Everyone is willing to take time out of their day to help and teach

      Cons

      Very informal training program - more on the job training

      BDO USA2017-11-28
    Found 38 reviews