BDO USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BDO USA Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 817 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
315 Ratings
  1. "Audit senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Audit Senior 

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time

      Pros

      Great culture and great group of people to work with

      Cons

      Hours during busy season can be long

      BDO USA2019-04-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Associate in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Management is great. Clients are solid.

      Cons

      Algorithmic pay structure (on a "level" system), low incentives to exceed expectations

      BDO USA2019-04-01

      BDO USA Response

      April 16, 2019CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

      We appreciate your balanced feedback. Your constructive comment regarding paying for performance is recognized. We do aim to differentiate pay based on performance and are increasingly focused on doing this consistently. Thank you for taking the time and thought to post.

    • "BDO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Partner in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      there are pros to working at BDO

      Cons

      lack of professionalisum in the organizational leadership

      Advice to Management

      try starting over again with more talent

      BDO USA2019-05-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Busy season, bring it on..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tax Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot and had 99 problems, but the pay wasn't one of them.

      Cons

      Intern management plan...I'm thinking that would have been helpful.

      Advice to Management

      Please screen for psychos, cat ladies, and mouth breathers...the office had all three.

      BDO USA2019-04-01
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great Company, exposure to variety of clients and industries, family feel

      Cons

      High turnover, constant staffing issues

      BDO USA2019-03-29

      BDO USA Response

      April 16, 2019CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

      Thank you for taking the time and thought to post feedback. Very happy to hear your overall positive view. Would love to hear your ideas for ensuring employees have a good reason to stay like you have chosen to do. Call anytime.

    • Helpful (3)

      "If I could get them negative give stars I would"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      None - Other than sometimes they let you work from home, but not if your boss is a micromanager and keeps you hostage at your desk, even "looking for you" if you are in the bathroom. Now they let you wear jeans to work which is nice.

      Cons

      Too many to name. Put compensation at the top, employees are so underpaid according to market, and the "bonus" they give, is an absolute joke. I actually wanted to tell them to keep it. PTO is awful, they changed the accrual rules earlier this year and the only people that benefit are senior management. Technology is outdated and uses poor applications, no IT people onsite- have to wait forever to get someone on the phone...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You're not the Big 4, be more realistic in your business decisions. Hire business development people who actually have a clue what they are doing.

      BDO USA2019-05-01
    • "OK firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Associate 

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time

      Pros

      -Learn A LOT -Meet many people in different industries depending on clients

      Cons

      -Hours -Office politics -Poor Office communication

      BDO USA2019-04-11

      BDO USA Response

      April 16, 2019CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

      As the current popular commercials project, just OK is not OK. Would love to hear your ideas for offering you a world class employee experience. Please reach to me.

    • "BDO Raleigh is Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Senior in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people, great culture, very flexible for an accounting firm. Less hours than big 4.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind specifically.

      BDO USA2019-03-25

      BDO USA Response

      April 16, 2019CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

      Giving Disney a run for happiest place on earth! Thanks for posting!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Audit Associate in Memphis, TN

        I have been working at BDO USA full-time

        Pros

        Good work experience for college graduate, friendly administrators, retail/manufacturing experience

        Cons

        Management lacks clear communication, cliques, small town politics, poor work life/balance

        Advice to Management

        Communication

        BDO USA2019-04-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "The BSC isn't ready for a quality job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assurance Specialist in Columbus, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flex time is helpful, but overall PTO is very low.

        Cons

        Pay is very low. Management isn't ready to lead this emerging service center.

        BDO USA2019-04-04
      Found 817 reviews