BDO USA Tax Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BDO USA Tax Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
21 Ratings
  1. "Challenging. Well rounded work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experienced Tax Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seniors and associates are awesome. Overall the people are great.

    Cons

    Some managers need to go.

    Advice to Management

    Help develop staff more instead of belittle them

    BDO USA2019-08-21
  2. "Great Company, Terrible Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experienced Tax Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BDO has fantastic benefits and is a reputable, well respected company.

    Cons

    This pertains solely to the particular office I worked for - there was NO structure. There was a "sink or swim" mentality - you'd be thrown onto projects with VERY short timelines and you better figure it out fast and deliver or face the wrath of the partner. Very long hours, even outside of busy season. Associates lined up to meet with the partner one after one to review their projects - crazy inefficient. Very few... people in the middle, i.e. seniors or managers to help out so there was a bottleneck in terms of project management. Just a general feeling of being on your own with little guidance or support.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring in more EXPERIENCED seniors and/or managers to evenly distribute workload; implement more practical and efficient review and teaching strategies.

    BDO USA2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic, except 401k and they are extremely cheap. Many opportunities to move in the company.

    Cons

    Really depends on office, there was a switch in managing partners in my location and that flipped everything upside down. Not to mention my mentor was too busy to help me.

    Advice to Management

    Do whatever you want, you will anyway.

    BDO USA2019-06-25
  4. "Good Firm for the Type of Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to large clients. Work is a lot like Big 4 but in a smaller scale. Get to see how the whole project from start to finish.

    Cons

    Hours fluctuate a lot and sometimes you find out last minute that you will have to work some holidays depending on deadlines.

    BDO USA2019-05-22
  5. "Senior Tax Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people & Management wants & will assist you to succeed. Training abounds.

    Cons

    None at this time. Waiting for true tax season; but I have already been advised of the time requested and I agree. !

    BDO USA2018-12-27
  6. "I really enjoy working here but I frequently feel undervalued in the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experienced Tax Senior Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the people I work with.

    Cons

    I feel underpaid for the worth I bring.

    Advice to Management

    Larger bonuses would help boost moral during busy season.

    BDO USA2019-01-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Gain Experience and Stay in the Short Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great internship program, great people, nice perks overall, decent benefits, flexibility (to an extent)

    Cons

    PTO, culture of disposability for anyone lower than Manager, long hours (obviously), kept a shorter-than-necessary leash on associates, poor budget setting and planning

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to what associates are doing and look for process improvements rather than blaming them for mishaps and poor planning that, honestly, should never have been an associate's problem in the first place.

    BDO USA2017-11-09
  8. "first impression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of staff support, friendly executives, great benefits, lots of training

    Cons

    work life balance could definitely be better

    BDO USA2017-10-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Tax Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people/everyone is very friendly, can learn a lot, yearly national trainings out of town.

    Cons

    Very heavy hours (there are weeks you might hit 70, 80, 90, even 100 depending on level and need). Pay is not bad but also not great. Lack of experienced people in upper level positions, not everyone who is a manager is able to help getting work completed/knows what they are doing. New strategy of working 35 billable hours after busy season.

    Advice to Management

    You need to give people downtime, both to recover from busy season and to pass their CPA exams. At least in our office the need for experienced people is usually high, I feel it has lead to some questionable hiring decisions.

    BDO USA2017-07-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Work/life balance great in off seasons. Favoritism is huge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - During the off season its possible to take time off and work from home - You see a wide variety of clients and work which allows for a lot of learning and experience - Relatively young professionals

    Cons

    - Really long hours as expected with public accounting - Perception is reality. People are too focus on what everyone else is doing and not enough focus on their own work - Must be willing to go with the flow of the common beliefs in the office or be outcasted. Any criticism of upper management or how things are done will not get you far - A lot of favoritism and cliques - Way too much ego and patting of the... back with upper management to notice how unhappy their staff is - High high turnover

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your staff and listen to them. They have good ideas that could get the office out of the gutters.

    BDO USA2017-02-06
Found 58 reviews