BNSF Railway Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BNSF Railway Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 778 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Carl R. Ice
223 Ratings
Pros
  • "Reasonable Good Pay for entry level(in 116 reviews)

  • "Great pay, good group of coworkers(in 91 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance, employees outside of corporate work harder but are treated like second-class citizens(in 72 reviews)

  • "Unpredictable work schedule (on call 24/7)(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "fresher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time

    Pros

    To work for an organization where I can my acquired learning towards achieving the organization’s goal and learning new skills in the process adding value to me.

    Cons

    If not learning new skills in the process adding value to me.

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunity to show skills.

    BNSF Railway2017-09-26
  2. "Lots of Money, Lots of Phone Calls."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conductor in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BNSF Railway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is where it is.

    Cons

    Living by your phone is not a plus.

    BNSF Railway2019-08-04
  3. "Transportation operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive compensation, benefits, and retirement packages

    Cons

    Can be challenging getting into other departments

    BNSF Railway2019-08-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "It is an ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is an ok place

    Cons

    very political for sure. dont work here

    BNSF Railway2019-07-27
  5. "Maintenance of Way track department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MOW Machine Operator in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Retirement and health care plan. Decent pay depending on that state you live in.

    Cons

    Possibly of a lot of traveling. Union dues are a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach.

    BNSF Railway2019-08-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "I love the railroad but the current state of the industry is so negative & soul sucking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway

    Pros

    I have so much pride working for a railroad that moves our country and the goods that drive our entire economy from fossil fuels, industrial products, food, electronics, clothing, the list goes on. There is a wide variety of jobs within the organization to constantly grow and learn new things.

    Cons

    The entire rail industry has been effected by precision scheduled railroading and the morale is feeling it. We had a record year in 2018 but based on how our leadership speaks we had the worst year ever & getting worse. It feels like we are working at Radio Shack based on the dooms day we hear from our top leaders. Sad when we used to have so much pride.

    Advice to Management

    Need more positivity. The morale is awful & every individual contributor feels like they are never good enough based on how the leadership talks of the entire organization.

    BNSF Railway2019-07-18
  7. "Machinist bnsf at okc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machinist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and good benefits

    Cons

    None everything seems good now

    Advice to Management

    Ask what we want

    BNSF Railway2019-07-22
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conductor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company if you like money.

    Cons

    Bad company if you dont like bring furloughed or fired for a simple mistake.

    BNSF Railway2019-07-18
  9. "Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time

    Pros

    Its a good company to work

    Cons

    Work culture is very good

    BNSF Railway2019-07-03
  10. "Good Pay/No Family Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and great benefits...

    Cons

    In a hotel more than you're at home... You'll never have a schedule unless your seniority permits you to hold a regular job... Unfortunately, if you do something here, you're guilty until proven innocent...Most of the time you're just guilty and have to sign something even if you're innocent to avoid harsher punishment...

    Advice to Management

    Start promoting from the craft instead of hiring college guys...

    BNSF Railway2019-08-08
Found 778 reviews