BSI Group Client Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Client Manager

BSI Group Client Manager Reviews

Updated 24 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

1.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
BSI Group CEO Howard Kerr
Howard Kerr
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Client Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally, Client Managers comprise a close network of colleagues who understand the challenges of the role and provide support to each other. Also, the role allows for some Client Managers to work 4 days or even 3 days per week, with the associated reduction in salary.

    Cons

    Despite being central to the delivery of its assurance services, BSI does not make the role of Client Manages easy. Rather, BSI places many hoops and hurdles in the way, which makes the job more difficult than it needs to be. In my experience, BSI’s strapline of “making excellence a habit” is not borne out by BSI’s own working practices. BSI expects full-time Client Managers to conduct client-visits on 5 days... one week and 4-days the next week, with an allowance of one day per fortnight for admin duties. That one day is meant to provide enough time for planning all the assessment visits for the coming fortnight, including researching clients, checking the outcomes from previous assessments, reviewing upcoming visit plans, and checking locations and travelling times. Also, that allowance of one day per fortnight is meant to be enough to cover other tasks such as completing expenses claims, answering e-mails, and dealing with any car-related matters. I have found BSI’s working practices and IT systems to be unwieldy and unnecessarily complex. In particular, Client Managers are required to use the eReport system which is time-consuming and fiddly to use, especially on the small screen of a laptop. The strain of using eReport is exacerbated by the time pressures placed on Client Managers to complete reports on the day of each visit, whether at the client’s premises or at home in the evening. Meanwhile, Client Managers’ diaries and the allocation of jobs is managed through the clumsy Point Global system. In theory, BSI has a policy that Client Managers are consulted before being assigned to jobs which exceed some pre-set travelling limit. However, I have never been consulted, despite regularly being assigned to client-visits with one-way journeys of 2 hours or more. Rather, I have often felt like a pawn who is at the disposal of the regional manager and central planning team. Client Managers are required to maintain timesheets to record time spent on client-facing work and travelling. In practice, Client Managers often do not record the full time needed to prepare for assessments and populate the eReport system, as doing so would result in clients being charged extra and Client Managers being questioned. Also, I have experienced Client Managers being challenged for recording high levels of travelling time. Based on guidance from regional managers, leaving home early to build in contingency for heavy traffic and, thereby, arriving early at clients’ premises is a personal choice. Time spent sitting in the car waiting to enter a client’s premises is treated as the Client Manager’s personal time. Alternatively, the Client Manager is expected to use this time to plan for upcoming assessments or complete admin tasks (using a laptop in a car is not easy or comfortable). BSI requires new Client Managers to complete a considerable amount of training, including a range of on-line modules and tests. However, a significant amount of the training materials is out of date and fails to cover important practical points which a Client Manager needs to know. Meanwhile, I have found locating basic information very difficult using BSI’s intranet and associated systems. Also, new Client Managers are all put through the same standard training regime, irrespective of previous experience or qualifications. Client Managers report into a regional manager. Perhaps my experience is particularly unfortunate, but I have never been able to gain appropriate guidance or support from the regional manager. Based on working at various companies, management at BSI is probably the worst that I have ever encountered, in terms of operational ability and people-management skills. As well as “making excellence a habit”, BSI claims “customer first” as an underlying tenet of the business. However, as already indicted, delivering quality services to clients is made difficult by BSI’s processes and practices. Also, I have seen clients being treated with an offhand disregard, with changes being made to assessment dates which had been agreed with clients months in advance, in order to meet the regional manager's own agenda. I have also come across some very unhelp central staff who seem to lack a basic understanding or care about the customer’s perspective. Rather than putting customers first, BSI is one of the least customer-focused companies which I have come across. Regrettably, BSI does not appear interested in receiving honest feedback about failings within BSI’s frameworks and systems. From my own and others’ experience, any attempt by Client Managers to raise issues has resulted in individuals being labelled as negative or difficult. While working as a Client Manager, obtaining another job is not easy. The practice of filling Client Managers’ diaries with assessment-visits and allowing only one day a fortnight for admin duties means that attending job interviews is virtually impossible to arrange. As a result, Client Managers can become trapped. BSI expects Client Managers to express pride in working for the company. Indeed, some Client Managers think highly of the job and the benefits delivered to clients. Personally, my feelings are more akin to embarrassment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    From my experience, BSI is not a “learning organisation”, with no meaningful desire to receive or act upon critical feedback. Rather than being for the benefit of BSI’s management, my comments are offered for anyone who may be considering the role of Client Manager.

    BSI Group2018-12-24
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Perhaps the worst "Royal Charter" business, acting in the Commonwealth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Client Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time

    Pros

    Free flue vaccination Coffee machine Public transport proximity

    Cons

    Front line management incompetent, mid and top management have no ideas on how to grow and keep staff. Turn hover as big as the incompetency of the managers.

    Advice to Management

    Replacing the existing "self nominate" managers in place. Recruiting staff with proper people and business skill.

    BSI Group2017-05-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A professional and caring Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager in Malmesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I retired from BSI at the end of October 2016 after 20 years service. Overall, my impressions are of a very caring and professional organisation with excellent management. Levels of customer satisfaction provided by BSI to their Clients are really high - this partly comes about through having a really motivated workforce who enjoy working for BSI. Job satisfaction for me was a key part of making BSI such an... enjoyable Company to work for. The majority of the Clients that I visited were Automotive and Engineering related Companies - Because of my interest in 'all things mechanical', I really enjoyed the work. The Company have attractive employment benefits covering a range of options. BSI do recognise the importance of long service and staff morale with senior management very keen to help ensure that their workforce are happy and content - a very caring Company, thoroughly recommended.

    Show More

    Cons

    Travelling to Clients can be a bit stressful, particularly if they are many miles away with the weather wet and cold and the roads congested!

    BSI Group2016-12-14

    BSI Group Response

    December 15, 2016Head of Customer Delivery

    Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your feedback; our team is highly motivated and provides a great service to our clients and its good to hear how much you enjoyed being part of that. The variety of the work we do means that no 2 days are the same, travel does add ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Client Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group

    Pros

    The Clients interesting and varied projects to audit. If you are an experienced client manager/lead auditor don't join this company

    Cons

    Management have no idea most our ex food auditors who are unable to assess or implement risk management. Attitude is very much to work Client Managers to burn out and forget that it is the CM that is the fee earner. Are not capable or able to provide support to CM's, back end office admin staff are empowered over CM. Australia branch has very high turnover of CM's as all good CM's normally only last a maximum of 1....5yrs

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to the Board - look at the management team

    BSI Group2017-01-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Client Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, staff/ peers, support, the role, the clients, the food, the car, my line manager

    Cons

    my savings are now tied up in expenses as they don't give a credit card and my credit isn't good enough to get one

    BSI Group2016-05-25

    BSI Group Response

    May 26, 2016Head of Customer Delivery

    It's good to hear from someone new to BSI and I'm delighted that you've felt supported by the team. Our clients trust us for our expertise and I know that our Client Managers are 100% committed to helping our clients improve. Whilst I am glad you like your car, I am especially ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BSI Group

    Pros

    Real feeling of being valued and 'belonging'

    Cons

    A very steep learning curve, with a huge amount of information to absorb

    Advice to Management

    The initial learning could be a little easier

    BSI Group2016-05-09

    BSI Group Response

    June 13, 2016Head of Customer Delivery

    I am so glad you feel valued and have a sense of belonging. The initial training programme is challenging and we always ensure our candidates are aware of this at interview stage, we discuss the realities of the role and the training plan as part of the screening process. It is ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Learn to put staff and customers first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tend to find that you team and colleagues are supportive and visiting clients on a daily basis keeps you away from the office politics

    Cons

    No Work Life Balance for Client Managers The 'profit at all cost' mantra is so unethical and damaging to the company's reputation. PDR process is the biggest joke going; 99% of the time it is only conducted so that management feel good about themselves; largely demotivates staff as there is nothing in it for them. Can only progress if your face fits Training and development is limited and there is a glass... ceiling that once this is reached you will not get any more training

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put staff welfare and customer satisfaction first and the bottom line profits will follow naturally; - Improve work life balance for Client Managers; - stop ripping of customers by getting them to pay for work that should be done in BSI time.

    BSI Group2016-04-02

    BSI Group Response

    April 8, 2016Head of Customer Delivery

    Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you have these concerns and I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss them with you in more detail. I highly value the work that all our Client Managers do and I take their work life balance very seriously. Our performance ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Do as we say.. not as we do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assessor/Client Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time

    Pros

    - exposure to different people, businesses and systems - training availability and possibility of specialisation - strong knowledge base available in teams

    Cons

    - improvement activities focus on office based staff when large percentage are home based (and consequently somewhat excluded from initiatives / improvements) - focus on selling products, gaining clients when already operating at capacity (if not beyond) and are a "not for profit" organisation.. this is not reflected in the message for senior management - not enough admin time allowed for assessors, productivity... requirements are too high leaving a feeling of "burning out" or just being a cog in a much larger machine! - internal communication is often poor and convoluted due to the large size of the organisation and the fact that much of the work is in isolation of other colleagues. - work life balance is appalling (due in no small part to admin time issue highlighted above and number of days assessment time expected to be delivered per month)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focussing on quality of service delivery rather than number of days (revenue) would be significantly beneficial to both assessors and the organisations perceived "premier" status.

    BSI Group2016-02-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Client Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BSI Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of travel if you like to go see different types of businesses. They don't manage you much once they turn you loose to manage your piece of the business.

    Cons

    Long hours for low pay. Training is a bore and a pain. They need to design a 21st century planning curriculum.

    BSI Group2015-10-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Support your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Manager in Frankfurt am Main

    I have been working at BSI Group

    Pros

    good colleagues, central work location

    Cons

    strong hierarchy, not too flexible,

    Advice to Management

    support your employees !

    BSI Group2015-09-02
Found 13 reviews