BSI Group Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BSI Group Engineer Reviews

Updated 13 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
BSI Group CEO Howard Kerr
Howard Kerr
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    environment good, nice people, enjoy

    Cons

    too far away, no life

    BSI Group2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Death trap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a good one to have on your cv

    Cons

    Heath and safety in laboratories is abysmal, recently an apprentice ended up a casualty of these shortfalls. I would urge anyone to think carefully as they are more concerned about profit margins and capital than they are theirs staff's safety and wellbeing. Pay is poor unless you are mates with a manager and get fast tracked to the top and often the hairdryer treatment is given to staff instead of a decent training programme.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2018-09-04

    BSI Group Response

    September 10, 2018Operations Director - Global Product Certification

    Thank you for your feedback. Nothing is more important to the management and staff at BSI than the health and safety of all employees. We are aware of the situation you’ve raised. Test labs are challenging and dynamic environments by their nature, however we have a robust system for managing health and safety and reporting all incidents (which was followed in this situation). These are then thoroughly investigated and appropriate action is implemented if required. To your second point, I’m disappointed to hear you feel this way about our managers. All BSI leaders are there to ensure that our colleagues feel supported and developed. I encourage any employee to speak to me or any of the leadership team directly if they see behaviours that are not in keeping with our values. We are also committed to providing fair and competitive rewards to all our people and we regularly benchmark our pay against other organizations. Eoin O'Riordan Operations Director - Global Product Certification

    Continue reading
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Software Engineer in London, England

    I worked at BSI Group

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    Growth is not that much

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2018-06-12
  4. Helpful (14)

    "One of the worst places i ever worked ..career killer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing i can think off

    Cons

    worst middle management i have ever seen, outdated equipment, really poor staff retention, too much politics especially by middle management in the expense of test engineers, not much training that you could improve your career and too much micro management without any help so you can't improve either way... after you go through all the suffering not much salary increase.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2018-02-21
  5. Helpful (21)

    "1 star rating just isn't low enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group

    Pros

    Flexi-hours, ok benefits, good location, and that really is just about all i can say is good about the place

    Cons

    Well where do i start?? If you have read any previous reviews about this then you're probably in the loop already. Disgustingly below average salary for the type of job we do. The salary advertised is not what you actually get and still far and away below industry standard, and the constant lie we keep being fed about "we're going to be doing a pay review" just isn't cutting it I'm afraid. "Test engineer" job title is not what i would call it, yes there is a big element of being a test engineer but more accurately we are project managers, working with old useless equipment that just isn't up to the job, vastly unrealistic deadlines and hours on jobs, an extremely bad attitude towards engineers. We get told to raise issues and make aware when things are not right but when we do we just get ignored and then blamed for not doing anything about it. The responsibilities on us having to set projects up, initiate the contact with the client, resolve a whole manner of issues that are nothing to do with testing, the amount of admin work put onto us and the expectation of having to effectively run the business doing a vast amount of tasks that are outside of our role and not even remotely our responsibility is just ridiculous, yet we are still expected to get jobs done within the aforementioned insanely unrealistic timescales of which are handed to us. Yet we still have to fight on and get these things done with no support or incentive to do so. Management is a massive issue, as in there doesn't seem to be any. I mean there are people with the title of manager but as to whether they manage as opposed to just drinking tea and eating biscuits whilst trying to figure out why its going wrong at the same time as showing no interest until a job goes over the minimalistic hours assigned to it. This issues rise all the way through the ranks, lower level management through to ever fleeting presence of their managers. One of the main issues is that the ethos revolves around making as much money as possible, i know this is a business and that is the main driving point behind a business, but they just sell sell sell, tell the client everything they want to hear, mainly lies, take the money and dump the absolute mess of a project on the engineers and forget about it. And if we even dare try to have a civilised discussion about the issue of sales all we get in response , and this is a direct quote from the main man in charge, " oh here we go with the sales bashing again!" Another quote from one of the other managers is "it's just so hard to find the right staff" , you've had the right staff!!!! They just get treated terribly so, being the right staff, they go somewhere where they'll be appreciated for the very intelligent, and experienced people they are. In short I'd like to say that improvement is needed, but that would be the biggest injustice of the truth since the o.j. Simpson trial

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-09-04
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Very Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pension & benefits Good location in Loughborough

    Cons

    Poor training and support. Low wage for the actual responsibilities and time pressures. No one is offered the £28k advertised Negative atmosphere at Loughborough that is infectious. A lot of test engineers have left or are looking to leave. The test engineers are a good bunch. The reason for the negativity is well documented in other reviews. No overtime and rarely paid. No inflationary pay rise. Purely results based. With alot of jobs its hard to achieve targets and so like several Test engineers you will not get a rise. As an additional note, the role title of Test Engineer is probably not 100% accurate at Loughborough. You are essentially a Project manager, planning all your own jobs, liaising with all clients, resolving all problems, sourcing all your own equipment without support. You will be quite isolated and working alone using old and often unavailable equipment. 50% of the job is probably documentation and admin work. The test part is to be carried out to very tight timescales with limited resources. The pressure is on you to hit all targets even when a lot is beyond your control. Some test engineer positions are ok and established but unfortunately you will be filling the positions vacated that are not so good. I left the company as it is not the role i thought it would be nor the one that was sold to me. The lack of support and training and the fact there was no one left to shadow from day one, made the job incredibly frustrating and stressful. I like to succeed and progress but i found i couldn't. That along with the negativity led me to the point i couldn't continue. It really wasn't worth the money nor the affect on my health.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-09-01
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group

    Pros

    Flexable work hours Good set of people to work with

    Cons

    Wants to be a £60 million company but pays less than the market average. Completely unbalanced wage structure - how can a trainer be on less than their trainee. Management offer an open door policy which is then shut in your face. Complete lack of morale due to management behaviour

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-05-27
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Petty, pathetic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice peaceful location on the edge of Loughborough university campus, benefits are ok, flexi time allows a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Loughborough has major problems which are only going to get worse due to poor management. A lack of suitable testing equipment makes testing difficult and coupled with the tight schedules you are given for jobs this can lead to 'breaking' jobs, and being blamed for this even where there are issues outside of your control. A culture of bullying by lower management has been allowed to develop with many engineers forced out of their jobs, HR and more senior management are completely uninterested in dealing with this problem and seem to genuinely believe that the problems are all down to the engineers. A good example is the large number of bad reviews appearing on Glassdoor, and rather than recognise there are problems, the management have convinced themselves they are down to one person. Morale is through the floor and the financial results for Loughborough are reflecting this. Also, the staff turnover is ridiculous with something like 23 engineers leaving in the last 2 years, mainly from one particular managers team. My last few months with BSi were hell. I was hounded out of my job by vindictive management and bullying. This was raised with senior management and HR but if anything this just made the situation worse until I couldn't take it anymore and found further employment. After I handed my notice in, it was my line managers time to shine, and her petty behaviour really came to the fore. After the first week, I was taken off my current projects and had my laptop taken away; this coincided with the poor Glassdoor reviews being noticed by management, and as I said earlier rather than recognise the issues they blamed them all on one person (me). She attempted to get me to leave before my notice period was up, with the loss of the remaining 3 weeks notice pay. When I refused I had 5 days holiday booked for me without my consent, which I cancelled as they would have used up my accrued holiday pay I was owed. During my final two weeks I was given no work of any kind to do, and was threatened with having my pay docked because I had nothing to do! Seriously, if you value your health and wellbeing, give BSi a Miss, particularly Loughborough. That said, the engineers are a cracking bunch and I enjoyed the job up until I became the latest focus of the bullying. If they ever sort out the disgraceful treatment of staff it would be a much better place to work.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-07-04
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working. Job can be interesting. The company is fantastic with great benefits and a good pension.

    Cons

    It is not an enjoyable place to work at the moment, the Loughborough site is not doing well and management are looking for people to blame. This leads to the engineers being placed in the firing line. Middle management do not care about the quality of work or your well-being, only that jobs are signed off on time, and the site manager doesn't know or care what the engineers do. Management style at current is terrible, with almost daily threats to jobs being made over trivial issues completely out of the engineers control. These threats have lead to moral being exceptionally low, meaning that BSI loughborough is a horrible place to work. The pay is also terrible, with no career progression unless you are very friendly with management. Management are not interested in resolving issues with staff, meaning that nearly all problems have to be escalated to HR.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-06-08
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Eye opening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None. Honestly the worst company I have had the misfortune to work for

    Cons

    I believed bsi was the pinnacle of the engineering world, but middle management force engineers to betray their integrity, in order to get the job done so they do not get the blame from above,then when the truth comes out they push the blame down to those below them.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-05-12
Found 10 reviews