Bain & Company Principal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bain & Company Principal Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
18 Ratings
  1. "Extraordinary firm with wonderfully authentic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Culture - our people processes are the best I've seen across industries 2. Genuine, specific, all-round feedback at all levels 3. Mentorship and apprenticeship that is geared towards your success 4. Respect for clients and attitude of working with them to solve problems 5. World class global trainings

    Cons

    1. Culture of meritocracy exists but in a risk-averse, conservative sense 2. Younger associates need to be thrown into the deep end a lot more 3. More innovation required, and big moves

    Advice to Management

    We have the right to act like the market leader - let's set the tone for management consulting more often than we do.

    Bain & Company2018-10-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Heart in the right place, execution not always"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great apprenticeship, people focus. Work is results oriented and largely true north which means they mean what they say.

    Cons

    Too type A to realise they aren't always humane. HR is lazy, incompetent and irreverent with the wrong motivation and too much strength.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to truly love your people and have genuine empathy. People are prone to mistakes, acknowledge mistakes and move on and don't create lingering impressions.

    Bain & Company2019-02-22
  3. "Great company for rapid career acceleration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Rapid career acceleration: Bain offers a chance to manage someone 2 years after college, to run a team 2 years out of MBA, and to advise CEOs, CFOs, Heads of Sales immediately. After 8 years at Bain, I am being offered very senior roles in the corporate world (e.g., VP), more senior than my MBA and undergraduate classmates are offered -Great mentors: Partners make time for you - to advise you on your career at... Bain and beyond; it is a very open environment to discuss long-term career goals -Team sport: I work with amazing teams of incredibly smart and kind people from all over the world -Global opportunities: I have been a part of 6 offices (Boston, Delhi, San Francisco, Amsterdam, London, Dallas) since I joined 9 years ago. You can "build your own Bain" and gain exposure to international business

    Show More

    Cons

    -Travel: As part of consulting, you sometimes need to travel every week -Longer hours: Given client services, hours can be high

    Bain & Company2019-09-27
  4. "Incredible results, learning, colleagues, culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on fascinating topics with incredible organizations. Learning a tremendous, always, through all tenure levels. Working with incredible people who inspire you and care about you. Being part of one of the the strongest corporate cultures out there

    Cons

    Professional services can be demanding

    Bain & Company2019-09-26
  5. "Fantastic culture, great people, unparalleled learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You'll love the people you work with. They'll invest in you personally and you'll learn a tremendous amount at a rapid pace

    Cons

    All that learning and development doesn't fit within a typical work week. You'll work hard and be all consumed by the high-impact work you're doing. If you're not good at drawing (and sticking to) boundaries, it may take more of you than you're happy about giving.

    Bain & Company2019-09-24
  6. "Phenomenal career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bain has continued to provide me with a variety of interesting client problems to work on, with some of the absolute best co-workers. Bain focuses on working with 'action-oriented' clients, making our work not just interesting but impactful.

    Cons

    As a parent with a spouse in a travel-oriented job, consulting is a challenge at time. Bain has been flexible in helping me balance these competing demands.

    Advice to Management

    Never lose sight of importance of the strength of our people - building the best teams of Bainies is what always us to serve our clients in a differentiated way!

    Bain & Company2019-09-23
  7. "Best company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Its cliche, but the people here are the best coworkers in the world. I've been here for 10+ years, and every day I continue to be amazed at the support, collaboration, intellect, and fun that I see between coworkers. Over the course of a career, there are also so many ways to add flexible working models that allow me to find work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    There are certainly days and weeks that are long and challenging, but looking back most of those were the days where I learned the most.

    Bain & Company2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Supportive and dynamic culture; great people -One global team -Tremendous learning at all stage of the job -High impact and interesting work -Diversity of experience

    Cons

    -Work / life balance and sustainability are inherently difficult in a high-pressure client services environment

    Bain & Company2019-02-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compelling career path - and great company culture

    Cons

    would love more systematic social work

    Bain & Company2018-12-05
  10. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Motivated and caring team members; working on the best projects in the world's leading companies; continuous learning and growth opportunities

    Cons

    Long days, difficult to combine with hobbies

    Bain & Company2018-10-15
Found 67 reviews