Bank of America Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America President & CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
9,768 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sr. Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. No firing culture, stable career. Good proportion of employees are 5+ and even 10+ experience bracket, which brings domain expertise to new joiners.

    Cons

    Frequent policy changes and upper management movements, might impact overall project and team sentiments. Lacks robust career path, your growth is subject to your direct management reviews, however not necessary political driven, just deviation in human biased may affect your career. Promotions are very rare, might demotivate a good employee working for stretch of 5+ years.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2019-01-21
  2. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, benefits are good

    Cons

    politics, difficult upper management in india

    Bank of America2020-04-01
  3. "Good company for Experienced Professional"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tech Associate in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and you can work from home also. Free transport and lot of domain knowledge.

    Cons

    Less challenging work.Less growth.No bonuses or incentives.Lot of politics involved in upper management. It's not good for a fresher if you are looking career growth.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2017-11-20
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for learning. Positive things like job security, balance between professional and personal life.

    Cons

    From few years some stupid manager's and upper management people are making negative image of bank.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2017-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Baseless and directionless company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America

    Pros

    Good yearly hikes. Good food at cafeteria and free sodexo coupons worth Rs.900/-

    Cons

    1. Immensely unstable company and projects. Projects are of very short duration. 2. Lack of clarity. Even a best performer is got rid off when the project ends. No visibility of future projects. The employee is left in dark with no other options. Now he has to give interviews in other projects to get some work for some more months (because the projects are of short duration only). 3. Upper management is direction less. Always talks of higher expenses, but at the same time prefers vendors rather than regular employees for any work allotment. But fail to understand that this is the main reason the expenses go up. 4. All vendors command higher respect compared to employees. This is the most strange thing I noticed in this company. For example TCS, Infosys employees are considered better than BA Continuum employees and so stupid is the management that they describe BA Continuum as the non-subsidiary of Bank of America in all logos and ads. 5. Any person working in Bank of America, US is big boss, but the same person working in BA Continuum, India automatically becomes an idiot with no respect compared to that in US. Applicable for all senior leaders who once worked in US and got transferred to India. Out of frustration they move back to US after some years. I have seen at least 2-3 senior leaders like this. 6. BA Continuum India AVPs are no more than tech leads of TCS or Infosys. Emails sent by AVPs or VPs of US reflect their attitude towards India AVPs. Any other companies in the globe has a different and respectful attitude towards their employees compared to their vendors. But here it is completely different. Now if same India AVP move to US, they command higher respect as already mentioned in Point No 4. 7. Due to upper management's immaturity and losses, employees get news of closing down offices like in Philippines, Mexico and Costa Rica.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2017-06-02
  6. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker/Digital Ambassador in Burien, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great hours, and support to move up.

    Cons

    Upper management cares a lot about numbers

    Bank of America2020-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits - Not So Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is generally a lot of opportunity to change careers and move to other areas of the bank. Employee financial and health benefits are great. Base salary is pretty high for developers. We're allowed 2 paid hours a week to volunteer. There are a lot of employee networks and events throughout the year. Some teams give you the option to work from home once a week if needed.

    Cons

    In my experience upper management tends to push ideas/projects/work onto teams in my space with insane timelines, and then refuse to give additional funding or resources needed to be able to meet those timelines. It appears they care more about meeting those timelines than doing the work right the first time. Software development teams have a ton of trouble being successful because all of the bureaucracy and politics that exist. Simple access requests or work requests can take 2+ weeks. There are usually multiple teams doing duplicate work and fighting to be the 'winner.' Most teams don't want to play nice with other teams/lines of business. Demographic is 85% white male, 35+ years old.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2020-03-12
  8. "Culture varies. No solidarity among company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you're lucky enough to have a good manager (which I was), you will have tremendous growth and educational opportunities. You get to establish great rapport with customers and build a book of business that you can take with you because customers are very loyal to excellent and ethical service.

    Cons

    The culture needs to be defined and implemented throughout the company. Politics and favoritism play a HUGE role here. If you're manager is not a good manager you can get stuck in the same position because they may not want to give up your skillset even though you're ready for your promotion. Also, there is a very large spectrum of different types of managers. Some are there all the time, some are barely there, some skip lunch, some take 2-3 hour lunches. You're the manager, not the CEO. Adhere to the standards and lead by example. I was lucky enough to work with incredible managers, however, I helped out in enough branches to be able to witness some of the disasters and realize why Bank of America gets such a terrible reputation. Lastly, upper management/executives need to do a better job of regulating what we're trained on vs what we're expected to do at the branch level. You want us to sell ethically until your bonuses are on the line. Then all of a sudden every customer needs a credit card. Ridiculous.

    Bank of America2020-03-24
  9. "Contractors do the same work as full time employees so stop keeping us out of the loop and treating us like garbage."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contractor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Having a job to go to.

    Cons

    Lack of communication from upper management and full time employees about job responsibilities and role in the company. No sense of direction from the BoA managers. No training. Bad Leadership in the low to mid level. Being left out of important meetings. As a contractor here at BoA I have never felt disappointed and disrespected by the FTE. Although I also put partial blame to the staffing agency, I have never worked in a IT department where contractors are disregarded and looked down upon. I am not speaking about Bank of America as a whole, but the IT department I am assigned to has not defined to role I have within the company. I been here for almost 6 months and I have not met my manager. It's hard to request time off as well as when you need to notify that you will be late due to an appointment. My manager never replies to my emails. Working with the FTE in the GBAM IT department is hell. I am unable to get work completed because of them not responding to emails, meeting requests, and calls. It is frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Bank of America2020-03-12
  10. "Loan Processor"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Home Services Specialist 

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time

    Pros

    It has great benefits and great pay

    Cons

    -Micro-Managed -No chance for upper management

    Bank of America2020-01-30
Found 491 reviews