Bankers Life Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bankers Life Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bankers Life President Scott Goldberg
Scott Goldberg
485 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training available in person and online(in 89 reviews)

  • "They have a fantastic training program that gets new agents up to speed very quickly(in 68 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (149)

    "Changed my family's life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Paducah, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No one determines how much I'm worth or how much my time it worth. I earn what I put into the career. By far the most rewarding career I've ever been in and it keep getting better every year. The bonuses during the 1st year of the career are great while one get momentum, and the fact that bonuses are ongoing all year long, makes it even a better incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    Not sure if this is a "con". The fact that we are in commission only instead of salary or hourly pay makes it possible for us to get paid our full commissions! I've seen hourly wages in other companies, and it's a shame someone made $100 a day in hourly wages when they could have made hundreds more with the same effort and production if they were in commissions. If anyone is looking for a job where you can just milk the clock and get paid, this is not it. But if you're looking for a vocation or career that pays you what you're worth? This is it.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-01-19
  2. "Nothing worth having comes easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you follow the process and don't try to recreate the wheel, you will be successful with a little hard work. Bankers does an amazing job with their training and growth opportunities within the company...whether you want to be an career agent, go into management, or become a financial advisor - the route is your choice. Wouldn't it be nice to know you could earn upwards of 50k a year just for waking up in the morning? Co-workers are great and we are always there to help another agent. We are always learning and growing. Put in the time and things get easier.

    Cons

    Starting your own business doesn't happen overnight, that said, neither does being a successful agent at Bankers. You need to set goals and have a purpose - the work is tough in the beginning, anyone successful in the financial industry will tell you that, but the rewards are well worth it.

    Bankers Life2020-03-20
  3. "Excellent Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to join and get a taste for the industry. They guide you every step of the way. Excellent training, coworkers, and management.

    Cons

    Tough in the beginning but time management and dedication will take you places in this company!

    Bankers Life2020-03-12
  4. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom, Training, Pay, Management, Benefits

    Cons

    It is hard to start in any commission based business.

    Bankers Life2020-03-08
  5. Helpful (5)

    "It’s not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is a fantastic company for the people who put in the time and effort. This isn’t a place for someone who isn’t 100% in, there is no middle ground. It’s 100%, or 0%. I started my first year and for 3 quarters made very little money, and mostly because it’s like getting a degree at the same time you’re working full/overtime. Now, after 16 months I’m a top producer in my branch, and I’m clearing 60k this quarter.

    Cons

    It’s not for someone who’s looking for a 9-5 job. If you have that mindset coming in, you’ve already failed.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2020-02-21
  6. "Why I Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supervisor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the Atmosphere, Pay, Flexibility, Fringe Benefits, People

    Cons

    If you do not like getting paid for what you actually do then you may not like it

    Bankers Life2020-03-05
  7. "insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Loveland, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, picking your own client base, saving people money, renewals.

    Cons

    Book of business takes time, driving.

    Bankers Life2020-03-04
  8. "Not a Lone Ranger Career Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Office Administrator in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You have help from the very beginning throughout the entire process. There is absolutely no reason for you to think you have to figure it all out by yourself. Training starts from the word "go" and is a constant. Management keeps the agents up to date on the changes within the company and products. Come in prepared to raise your hand with questions and not for a handout.

    Cons

    Applicants don't always understand the time needed to start a new career. This isn't a position to clock in and out. You set your own hours and you will work harder than those who use the clock to track their hours.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2020-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Multiple Income Stream Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Advisor Representative in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No cap on what you can earn. At one point I had 9 different sources of income.

    Cons

    I work a lot. But I want to earn more than most so it’s a trade off to me.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2020-02-18
  10. "Successful career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, financially rewarding , great comrodery , fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Hard work and a lot of hours the first few years but completely worth it!

    Bankers Life2020-02-20
Found 1284 reviews