Bed Bath N' Table Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bed Bath N' Table Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours -consistent shifts -nice team -good products -overall nice customers

    Cons

    -some people they've hired (who haven't lasted long) make me question how well the hiring team vet their applicants, due to the newcomers' total lack of common sense, intelligence or people skills -sometimes illogical/non-sensical requests from head office regarding the management of the store

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-05-24
  2. "DO NOT WORK HERE - SAVE YOUR SOUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you get lucky and work with a great group of girls, then thats it.

    Cons

    Back breaking conditions, literally hours of stock every working day that you are expected to open, organise, then clean up after. If you're after a nice clean retail role, look elsewhere. You leave here being grimy, sweaty and with no appreciation from upper management. The hours are terrible. Only expect to be rostered to do "lunch cover" or "dinner cover". Absolutely NO support from upper management, unhealthy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Something has to change. Ive been working at my location for 7 months and in that time 5 girls (including myself) have bailed.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-06-08
  3. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time

    Pros

    Creative Environment Organized Structured Scope to hone Operations skills

    Cons

    Rigid, Lack of Teamwork, non-flexible

    Advice to Management

    Focus on 1. Team building 2. Sales trainings 3. Customer care, Customer experience, Customer delight 4. Value for Talent

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-05-04
  4. "Doesn't care about staff, only about lining the pockets of the Dempsey family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team in store. Staff are honestly so lovely at Store level.

    Cons

    Back breaking conditions, most of the ergonomic requirements for a modern workplace are not met. Hours are terrible. No support from upper management, no modern computer systems. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is done in paper.

    Advice to Management

    Move into the modern age and look after staff better and you'll actually keep people around fo longer instead of just casuals.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-05-09
  5. "Ok but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great team environment - got to learn how to make a bed

    Cons

    - competitive and unrealistic budgets lead to staff members unscrupulously fighting over sales - management communication is really bad: my boss was basically a bully. You either did everything her way or get out, no room for own individuality in styling and selling

    Advice to Management

    Back off, let your staff members do their job.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-03-14
  6. "Part Time Casual on Full Time Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Menai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Customers were wonderful and made coming to work so very worth it. And my Manager at the Time, Susanna Whybro.

    Cons

    The Toxic Upper Management and the Occasional Sociopathic Co-Worker.

    Advice to Management

    Toxicity affects Profit and Efficiency.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-02-12
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Treat Staff As Numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount is nice at 30% and the people you meet make coming to work worth it.

    Cons

    Being thrown in postions with little training and having to teach yourself. Having daily budgets that are almost impossible to reach. Regional Managers are snarley and rude.

    Advice to Management

    Provide correct training to give employees the best opportunity at success.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-10-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I wish I could go back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours, great pay, amazing co-workers, ongoing training and support, no set uniform, opportunities for promotion.

    Cons

    Talking on the phone and requesting stock from other stores was often unpleasant.

    Advice to Management

    This was the best job I have ever had, I’m so upset to see so many negative reviews!

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-07-20
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Treat you like a number without a brain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time

    Pros

    Store staff were encouraging and fun

    Cons

    Lack of vision for staff no support they belittle you and treat u like a number to just churn out sales

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff on the ground , value the talents and experience of the people you employ.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-06-21
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Casual sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Worked with some lovely people. -That I left.

    Cons

    - Unhealthy kpi system which lead to staff fighting for sales to the point where staff would race to the counter for customers holding $$ items. Staff who linger around the POS system while achieving not much else will generally be able to meet their targets by literally letting the sales come to them. The budgets aren’t considerate of staff being assigned other jobs ie doing stock versus being on the floor. If you’re...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them like humans. There is something quite wrong with managements current strategy. KPIs are important and it is reasonable for a company to relieve under perfmorning staff for the better of their business, but when it is happening to a large portion of your staff, then that would be a sign of poor management. A review into management and HR seems necessary.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-04-22
Found 27 reviews