Best Version Media Employee Reviews about "magazine"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 of over 517 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Kevin O’ Brien
Kevin O’ Brien
396 Ratings
Pros
  • "BVM offers an opportunity to create a successful business without a large initial investment(in 106 reviews)

  • "Be a publisher with unlimited support throughout training, all the way up to Dave Durand the CEO(in 71 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time(in 49 reviews)

  • "Same old trouble with "sales people (publishers)" who are unreasonable(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "magazine"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Good internship experience, but not for career

      Jan 21, 2021 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independence, creative freedom, supportive management, quick communication despite being remote, a general desire from team members to have me succeed

      Cons

      Offered extremely low-paying job after internship that I just couldn't take; seemed kind of pyramid-schemey as my supervisor tried to persuade me to spend money on the company in order to make money; if you're a writer, they will store your articles and send them to other magazines around the country without asking your permission, and you may never know if you were published elsewhere; lack of consideration for weekly hours (was asked to do extra work even though I finished my hours for the week-- and I was an unpaid intern).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      We’re glad to hear this reviewer gained valuable experience while working with one of our Publishers. We’ll look into the situation further to assure that anyone working with our people has the best possible experience.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      BVM takes care of themselves first not their employees

      Sep 29, 2020 - Publisher in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience in launching your own business and connecting with your community

      Cons

      The magazine you launch is not yours and they can and will hold back your pay if you don’t make a sale within 30 days

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      We offer an excellent opportunity for entrepreneurs to start a business in their local area and we value the hundreds of Publishers we work with. We believe anyone can achieve their goals with us through commitment and hard work. We'll continue to improve the Publisher role moving forward to help others find success.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Local editorial team was great.

      Feb 10, 2020 - Content Coordinator in Stamford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Certainly nice to work from home and on your own schedule. Our local team was smart and collaborative.

      Cons

      The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Content Coordinators enjoy a flexible, professional environment that allows them to earn additional income by writing local content for our magazines. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve the opportunity moving forward.

    4. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Flexible Job with Positive Work Environment

      Dec 26, 2019 - Content Coordinator in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a content coordinator, you're offered support, a handbook, and flexibility to do your job. The work culture is positive, and if you have a good publisher (which I do), your job can be fairly smooth and you can get compensated more as the magazine grows.

      Cons

      The only downside I can see is that this position cannot really be a full-time job; it is a great part-time/side gig. If you need to do this job to earn a living, you'd need to be a content coordinator for multiple magazines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thanks for the feedback!

    5. 1.0
      Former Freelancer

      Stay Away

      Jan 24, 2020 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I do not believe there to be any.

      Cons

      Cult like feeling, over priced magazine, horrible leadership. The interviewer did all the talking and was trying to sell me,

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Our positive reviews come from the hundreds of successful entrepreneurs we work with every day. We'll continue to offer a great opportunity for those who are up to the challenge.

    6. 4.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Great Job for Self-starters

      Dec 16, 2019 - Content Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BVM provides as much technical support and training as they can. The job is flexible and rewarding. You get to meet people and tell their stories, which can be fun.

      Cons

      Since the content coordinator position is remote, there's very little on the ground support. If there is a local publisher, it helps, but even then, there are some growing pains until things get off the ground. Also, I'm running into a lot of people who don't want to be interviewed for the magazine, and since that's the main feature of each issue, it can be stressful finding features.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good job for people who don't need money and are looking to pass time

      Oct 31, 2019 - Publisher in Minot, ND
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High income earning potential, work your own hours, good culture.

      Cons

      No paycheck for 3-12 months with 'tiny' spiffs to meet goals along the way. You sell advertising spaces into a magazine and once you hit a certain quota you finally get a commission on a percentage of any advertising you sell above it. The issue is how long it takes you to get to the quota and they don't pay you in the meantime. So it's only feasible to do if you got enough money in the bank to handle such a long time with no pay.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      The BVM Publisher opportunity is not for everybody, but it's very worthwhile for those who can handle the challenges that come with it.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Turnover ..but it's sales

      Oct 29, 2019 - Director in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good leadership ..good chance to make good money...

      Cons

      Listen I've worked at cutco....N2 and best version... Fact is the product renewal is aweful ;once captive long-term contracts are over.Thats nobody's fault..just not a good model for the customer.Top neighborhoods with wealth don't look at magazines for their clients;it's silly actually to think a millionaire and his wife are gonna make decisions from a neighborhood magazine..Really think about it

      13 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      BVM magazines are one of the most powerful advertising tools for local businesses. Our advertising strategies are effective because they take a repetitive, long-term approach that places each one of our clients in front of a relevant audience on a monthly basis. Our magazines have found great success in hundreds of communities across North America.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very smooth scam. Be very careful!

      Sep 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You do all the hard work for very little pay. I would guess about 2-5% of people who do this job make any real money. The rest lose a LOT of money trying to get it off the ground while working for free. No benefits ever with one of the 'fastest growing companies in America.' Terrible ethics when it comes down to it.

      Cons

      It is dressed up like advertisers love this product. They don't. And magazine is not sent to every household in the neighborhood. Very hard sell in real time and the company takes most of the money. 'Baseline' is not a real number. Don't take my word for it, talk to real publishers in the industry first. They'll tell you this is not a real publisher role. Sure does sound good though.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      The BVM opportunity offers Publishers unlimited income potential with one of the most generous commission programs you'll find anywhere. We have hundreds of Publishers who have built incredible businesses for themselves because our magazines are among of the most powerful ways to advertise locally. While the opportunity requires commitment and hard work, we believe it can be for anyone who is up to the challenge.

    10. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      This Company is a SCAM

      Jul 31, 2019 - Content Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was able to write about the community and get published monthly.

      Cons

      1. Editorial standards are not real editorial standards, they are advertorial standards 2. All content is reviewed by Big Brother and can be deleted without reason at any time 3. Submission of editorial content is electronic, so you can be monitored 4. You are not allowed to have more than 1 copy of the print publication, so you can never give copies to potential subjects 5. Main office is unorganized, hard to deal with and egotistical 6. Had to complain about not getting paid correctly on multiple occasions 7. As a real and experienced journalist, it was hard to follow the BVM ideals of what a good story is 8. Working with inexperienced "publishers" with no real grasp of how to publish a magazine 9. Magazine flipped publishers 5 times 10. New rules added every week

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Unlike what is stated in this review, BVM follows editorial standards to maintain our family-friendly model. While our content guidelines are always evolving, any changes are immediately communicated to the field. We do not change written content without first notifying the team and working with them to correct any potential issues.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 Reviews

    Work at Best Version Media? Share Your Experiences

    Best Version Media logo
    or