Bharat Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bharat Petroleum Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bharat Petroleum Chairman and Managing Director D. Rajkumar (no image)
D. Rajkumar
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee benefits - including medical policy, training and good salary(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance and great colleagues(in 39 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Graduate Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Apprentice Trainee in Cochin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Basically one of the biggest refinary in india, as a mechanical engineer i could learn a lot about the topics.

    Cons

    PSU, intakes are all through Gate Exams and Placements in limited colleges

    Advice to Management

    Consider People who had undergone Apprenticeship.

    Bharat Petroleum2020-01-14
  2. "PROCESS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    given equal oppurtunity to perform and shine

    Cons

    a bit slow process in gaining momentum

    Advice to Management

    nil

    Bharat Petroleum2020-01-12
  3. "Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Good facility at town ship

    Cons

    Package less in comparison to peers

    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-24
  4. "Good employer, limited hours, good package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Officer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee benefits - including medical policy, training and good salary

    Cons

    Work becomes stale after a point, easy to get complacent after a while.

    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-24
  5. "Good Company with lot of uncertaininty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Recognition of Work * Best medical facility- 100% reimbursement and unlimited claim possibility

    Cons

    * Most of the middle level management aren't upto the mark * Difficult to have work life balance * Uncertainty in transfer and promotion * Poor decision making * Lot of processes to follow

    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-19
  6. "BPCL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bhopal
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and perks Good work

    Cons

    no cons as such.

    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-18
  7. "Work at BPCL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales and Business Development Manager 

    I have been working at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good supportive people Perks are good

    Cons

    Field job is non acknowledging Technical business knowledge is low

    Advice to Management

    Lot of field roles can be outsourced

    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-31
  8. "Company to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The size of the company is huge hence provides ample opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Mid level management (plant/depo level) is incompetent and becomes a pain for junior guys

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on attrition. In my opinion BPCL looses a lot of talent every year due to incompetent (location level) leadership. My exit interview happened almost a year late. I strongly believe the workload can be managed easily in the presence of capable leadership(not hungry for immediate promotions). My initial years were full of learning. Also had some exceptionally supportive bosses, who played an important role in carving the best out of me. Best wishes for the company.

    Show More
    Bharat Petroleum2019-12-16
  9. "BPCL is a Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bharat Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    - Good salary -excellent perks Good working atmosphere great colony to live in the heart of Mumbai

    Cons

    Decision making is a bit slow

    Bharat Petroleum2019-11-30
  10. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Ghaziabad
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bharat Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of perks and authority

    Cons

    Lack of ownership among seniors

    Bharat Petroleum2019-11-27
Found 417 reviews